Parktown Residence

youskevitch

I must be the outlier then.. When I lived in Yishun for a period of time, i couldn't wait to get out of that N/NE area as soon as humanely possible. Having lived in the city fringe for the past 22 years, I don't even want to consider moving out to the suburbs at all.
Elite spotted

Nemesis_lane123

I must be the outlier then.. When I lived in Yishun for a period of time, i couldn't wait to get out of that N/NE area as soon as humanely possible. Having lived in the city fringe for the past 22 years, I don't even want to consider moving out to the suburbs at all.
In the same camp as U. Living nxt to Kallang mrt now. Was initially thinking of moving to Tampines North EC but jus the tot of like going to the outskirts is a bit Sian!

Right now can cycle to work. Even though the EC will be profitable, the inconvenience will also have to be calculated.

Velton

Maybe I'm also the odd one out here. I need to drive all over for work. So now, I actually prefer the suburbs. Also for the amenities and cheaper stuff.

DevilPlate

I was looking at Park place residence but price wise a bit too high for me (~2.5k psf for leasehold)
I then shortlisted Esta Ruby (behind City Plaza) since it's cheaper and FH but I drove by the place on a Sunday and decided it's not for me LOL
Go for D15 (exclude Telok Kurau and Joo Chiat)

DevilPlate

PTR only the 3BR compact (with kitchen windows type) can buy provided dev price <2300psf for road facing and ~2350psf for pool facing.

The rest quantum too huge liao…..maybe can try scout subsale PR8

jeffong

Elite spotted
No lah.. when i bought my current place 24 yrs ago, the psf was only $603. All one needed back then was GUTS as the market was reeling from the effects of the dotcom bust. My salary back then was only in the low $5xxx range. It was truly a leap of faith and thankfully back then, deferred payment was the norm.

However this decision allowed me to leap out from freaky Yishun to the city fringe and I never regretted it. My only sorrow now was back then I was not wise enough to realise how HDB can be monetized for it's rental yield and I offloaded it at a slight loss.

DevilPlate

No lah.. when i bought my current place 24 yrs ago, the psf was only $603. All one needed back then was GUTS as the market was reeling from the effects of the dotcom bust. My salary back then was only in the low $5xxx range. It was truly a leap of faith and thankfully back then, deferred payment was the norm.

However this decision allowed me to leap out from freaky Yishun to the city fringe and I never regretted it. My only sorrow now was back then I was not wise enough to realise how HDB can be monetized for it's rental yield and I offloaded it at a slight loss.
In 2020, 5k+ salary is equal to 10k+ today liao
Fresh IT NUS grad only 2-2.2k thereabouts

jeffong

In 2020, 5k+ salary is equal to 10k+ today liao
Fresh IT NUS grad only 2-2.2k thereabouts
That salary is before CPF deduction hor and need to feed 6 mouths as well as a HDB mortgage loan. Moreover your inflation calculator a bit off lah.. at most it would be equivalent to low 9k in today's dollars. ;)

DevilPlate

That salary is before CPF deduction hor and need to feed 6 mouths as well as a HDB mortgage loan. Moreover your inflation calculator a bit off lah.. at most it would be equivalent to low 9k in today's dollars. ;)
If we refer to income:condo price ratio in 2000 vs today, 5k = 15-20k today :ROFLMAO:

Also i use 3% compounded, 5k become 10k in 24years

jeffong

If we refer to income:condo price ratio in 2020 vs today, 5k = 15-20k today :ROFLMAO:

Also i use 3% compounded, 5k become 10k in 24years
According to stats, average inflation in Singapore over last 24 yrs is around 2.59% compounded. Back in early 2000's, starting salaries for IT grads were already going for between 25xx to 35xx liao.

marshmallow96

According to stats, average inflation in Singapore over last 24 yrs is around 2.59% compounded. Back in early 2000's, starting salaries for IT grads were already going for between 25xx to 35xx liao.
i grad in that period... after SARS was very cham, no jobs at all, my friends 1.8k job also take (for our profession, it was around 2.3-3k range the year before)

DevilPlate

Confirm not so much in early 2000s lah….because i was involved in hiring…..
Even until 2005-2008, starting pay for local unis only like 2.5-3k nia (pls don’t quote those first class hons starting pay)

DevilPlate

i grad in that period... after SARS was very cham, no jobs at all, my friends 1.8k job also take (for our profession, it was around 2.3-3k range the year before)
IT pay sibei jialat post dotcom bust……local uni 2nd class upp only getting max max 2.5k nia
So unlike today…..IT sibei satki 5k also can

MrGDebonair

Yea I like sleepy towns like Queenstown, Telok Blangah.. still don’t know how the Redhill interchange 2 storey NTUC survives but shopping there is a breeze versus say Vivo finest.. but you get a choice being near to these amenities.
They will soon be sleepy no longer and have to take their share of the population, lots of new high rise housing will be completed in Redhill/Queenstown in the next few years.

DevilPlate

They will soon be sleepy no longer and have to take their share of the population, lots of new high rise housing will be completed in Redhill/Queenstown in the next few years.
Already very densely populated
eh…where got simi sleepy town….it seems sleepy because they dont have mega malls.

MrGDebonair

Already very densely populated
eh…where got simi sleepy town….it seems sleepy because they dont have mega malls.
It's densely populated everywhere in Singapore but relatively speaking still far better than many townships. I went to Tampines mall and Waterway Point recently, really cannot take it. True about the large malls, although with the proximity to town seems rather superfluous tbh.

DevilPlate

It's densely populated everywhere in Singapore but relatively speaking still far better than many townships. I went to Tampines mall and Waterway Point recently, really cannot take it. True about the large malls, although with the proximity to town seems rather superfluous tbh.
Thats why i mentioned mega malls…..it will make u think that area is very densely populated.
I visit NorthPoint….even worse during their peak period sia…..super crowded even though their retail space is much bigger.

In terms of plot ratio…..queenstown/redhill much higher like almost double compared to Tampines.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.