Parliament going to ban smoking at own home

Bohuatoh

This is what we call, barking at the wrong tree.

In fact the first thing to ban is to TOTALLY DISALLOW smoking in all the hawker centres and Kopi Tiam. Till now, there are still many such places which allow smoking within the same premises just one or two tables away.

This is even worse than those coming from the neighbour. In the Hawker Centre or Kopi Tiam, there will not be just one smoker smoking at any one time but at least a few and the smoke is therefore much denser than those found in the neighbour. Also it is a non stop smoking unlike from the neighbour who may just finish one stick and come back later with another one. But in Hawker Centres and Kopi Tiam, probably non stop with many smokers at any one time.

Even though the time spends in having a meal at these places may be limited, but besides breathing in the second hand smoke it also spoit the appetite. Many a time I ended up having to "tabao" instead as with the safe distancing and limited seat available, it is now even harder to find a place further away from the smoking area.

So I would think this is more urgent than the proposal to ban smoking at home.

If my memory serves me right, it was originally meant to segregate the smoking and non smoking area in these premises for a year or two and then slowly removing the smoking area and with a total ban altogether.

:s12::s12::s12:

SKenny

Noticed that this applys to HDB and condo only. Does not apply to landed.

Liddat means what?

wackykid

They can use fan blow the smoke out lol

Posted from PCWX using LYA-L29

that's why ban import of cigarettes best and easiest solution lah...

but we all know WHY they would never do that and would rather raise the taxes instead... :s13::s13:

regards,
wacky

whysoserioushuh

Should just ban smoking la.

I am a smoker myself, i dont smoke at home cause i know how irritating it is to have cigarette smell in the house. smoke at corridor cannot, smoke at staircase also cannot. Where you want the smokers to smoke actually?

Vegitto

This is what we call, barking at the wrong tree.

In fact the first thing to ban is to TOTALLY DISALLOW smoking in all the hawker centres and Kopi Tiam. Till now, there are still many such places which allow smoking within the same premises just one or two tables away.

This is even worse than those coming from the neighbour. In the Hawker Centre or Kopi Tiam, there will not be just one smoker smoking at any one time but at least a few and the smoke is therefore much denser than those found in the neighbour. Also it is a non stop smoking unlike from the neighbour who may just finish one stick and come back later with another one. But in Hawker Centres and Kopi Tiam, probably non stop with many smokers at any one time.

Even though the time spends in having a meal at these places may be limited, but besides breathing in the second hand smoke it also spoit the appetite. Many a time I ended up having to "tabao" instead as with the safe distancing and limited seat available, it is now even harder to find a place further away from the smoking area.

So I would think this is more urgent than the proposal to ban smoking at home.

If my memory serves me right, it was originally meant to segregate the smoking and non smoking area in these premises for a year or two and then slowly removing the smoking area and with a total ban altogether.

:s12::s12::s12:

Home also just as important.

Coffee shops/hawkers I can at least avoid by sitting far far away, or dabao home to eat.

Home one is cannot run away at all.
My opposite neighbour is smoker, direct downstairs also a knncb smoker who smokes at kitchen window
Everyday will have 2-3 times cigg smoke smell get into my house and linger for several mins.

reallyworry

dont understand non smokers, why dont u all petition for a ban in criggs import?

easier right? no need to ban here, ban there...

wackykid

Should just ban smoking la.

I am a smoker myself, i dont smoke at home cause i know how irritating it is to have cigarette smell in the house. smoke at corridor cannot, smoke at staircase also cannot. Where you want the smokers to smoke actually?

ban cigarettes still best... u can't control what people do and have effective enforcement on people... but u can easily enforce what goes through the customs... if no more cigarettes i see how ppl smoke... DIY cigarettes...?? :s13::s13:

even chewing gum import/sales also can ban... why not cigarettes...??

regards,
wacky

charleslee1989

that's why ban import of cigarettes best and easiest solution lah...

but we all know WHY they would never do that and would rather raise the taxes instead... :s13::s13:

regards,
wacky

Hahaha...ciggy taxes revenue is jin good lor plus if you ban ciggies, those big tabacco companies will immediately withdraw their monetary donations for any political party that calls for a ban on smoking at homes...

qweqqbst

ban cigarettes still best... u can't control what people do and have effective enforcement on people... but u can easily enforce what goes through the customs... if no more cigarettes i see how ppl smoke... DIY cigarettes...?? :s13::s13:

even chewing gum import/sales also can ban... why not cigarettes...??

regards,
wacky

There will always be a demand no matter what. Banning cigg will simply turn it into a black market where the gov cannot collect tax and duty. So they rather ban places u can smoke so that kumgong sinkies will still pay the duties and smoke in a gov provided box.

HeiHeiHei

not sure why govt want to chup into this kind of matter. as family members living in the same household, cannot discuss among themselves meh?

Aaron_soh80

I notice many pple start to exercise and more health conscious i wana ask smoker y u all not afraid of cancer or other disease?

wackykid

There will always be a demand no matter what. Banning cigg will simply turn it into a black market where the gov cannot collect tax and duty. So they rather ban places u can smoke so that kumgong sinkies will still pay the duties and smoke in a gov provided box.

this excuse again...

u make importing cigarettes illegal... treat it like importing drugs... death penalty for importing XX kg of cigarettes... see how big ur black market can be.... :s13:

and even if u got black market... den only the rich ppl can afford lor cos it'll going to be very $$$...

regards,
wacky

gerrychua

One legislation means more to follow. I certainly don't want all the agencies to be flying their drones in my estate the whole day.

Stealth_PL

just get each and every block of HDB or Condo... to vote... whether they want their block to be smoke free or not...

to promote healthier lifestyle... smoke free blocks are entitled to more rebates or GST vouchers in the future... health insurance premium got discount etc... smoking blocks will need to pay higher property tax...

after this... smokers in non smoking block can choose to move house to a smoking block and vice versa... in a one time move house + renovation subsidy...

it might costs money initially... but in long term i think pple will get healthier... and thus pple get less sick... less hospital claim... less medical fees... less downtime... all these are intangible gains which will outweigh the initial costs...

Next time bto they should have smokers block and smoke free block.. then all the bloody smokers can stay tgt pollute each other hse with their second hand smoke

Bohuatoh

Home also just as important.

Coffee shops/hawkers I can at least avoid by sitting far far away, or dabao home to eat.

Home one is cannot run away at all.
My opposite neighbour is smoker, direct downstairs also a knncb smoker who smokes at kitchen window
Everyday will have 2-3 times cigg smoke smell get into my house and linger for several mins.

Yes, I can understand as my neighbour is also a smoker and this also happens to me with the second hand smoke coming to my house every now and then. These are all the MF CCB who only think for themselves to enjoy at the expense of others.

I may agree with you that banning smoking at home may be as important and as urgent as those hawker Centres and Kopi Tiams.

In regard to eating at the Hawker Centre or Kopi Tiam, some time one really has no other better choice when one is in the rush and has limited time for lunch break, in a crowded premises, especially now with limited seats available due to the Covid 19 measures.

The best is to propose a TOTAL BAN in those eating places as mentioned as well as home at one go.

:s13::s13::s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.