Part-time diplomas in polytechnics - reduced to 2.5 years, alternatives to O-levels accepted

BrookMUFC

Migrating is not that simple. Now, aussie has introduced a new policy of approving PR applications only by invitation. Not everyone can apply to be a PR even though one has met the requirements. Having said that, you can still express your interest to becoming a PR. That's all.

"Just give up citizenship and migrate" easier said than done mate. I wonder if one could give up singapore citizenship, get an aussie citizenship and return to SG as FT. That will be awesome :p

xpeariie

HI ALL

just to have a quick check. Is anyone of you guys here being accepted to this course. Diploma in Business Practice (accounting) part time at NYP? :s11:

the wonderer

anyone taking the new part time diploma 2.5 yrs?? done my 1st sem in SP in engineering aerospace. I just wonder what is the progression path after completing the pt diploma plus taking bridging modules.. Will we be able to progress to SIT or unisim or better still overseas. Local unis no chance.. I learn that it would be better to go full time studies according to my facis.. Progression to unis are not a problem whichever path i chose... I really hate this new framework. would be better off with the 5 yrs framework which is equivalent to full time diploma...

Kyoji83

Welcome to/remain in Singapore where our education system become from bad to worst & we as student are getting shortchange to the max. So thumb down to the Government & Parliament!

anyone taking the new part time diploma 2.5 yrs?? done my 1st sem in SP in engineering aerospace. I just wonder what is the progression path after completing the pt diploma plus taking bridging modules.. Will we be able to progress to SIT or unisim or better still overseas. Local unis no chance.. I learn that it would be better to go full time studies according to my facis.. Progression to unis are not a problem whichever path i chose... I really hate this new framework. would be better off with the 5 yrs framework which is equivalent to full time diploma...

weiiix

Done my first sem in aerospace at np, still thinking whether to continue or not.
Cos even I gt the dip, I dun get promoted or pay rise.
I'm jus get paid base on my yrs of workin experience.

Aerospace is such a small market here, wonder which line can I go without much decrease in pay.

Dun wan to be stuck in aerospace, hopefully can find opportunities elsewhere den regret in future.

the wonderer

I agree with your sentiment. aviation is small compared to what has been said. if your in manufacturing, day in and out will be the same. kinda mundane actually.. Try to get into quality assurance department, at least it is worthwhile. My intention is no more interested in technical line. Rather am interested in applying to CAAS or CAG doing management stuff, ability to communicate with people, learn much more thing. My hopes are to learn the skills of managing an airport..

the wonderer

@weiiix- the only way to get increase in income is to after completion of diploma, if you still intent to, quit your current job and apply elsewhere and equip yourself with M10 CAAS papers. Thats what i notice aviation staff doing.. In order for a better pay.. If you intent to change industries, your call. If you can handle oil and gas surrounding plus health hazards, its lucrative. In the end most important is you get home happy.. No point having a good pay, but inside you're hating it.. Do what is right.

weiiix

Yup tats true.
I'm in the engine overhaul workshop.
Abit sian of my job liao, 5yrs+ doin roughly the same stuff.

the wonderer

For me i'm having this wild idea of going on full time basis. I intent to progress to unis no matter where. Pt diploma cert worries me. Most unis requirements are full time diplomas except unisim. Overseas unis i am unsure therefore trying to go for safest route. At least weiiix have a diploma in hand, doesn't matter what you study. You can still apply to other jobs. Maybe go into government sector or banking with engineering diploma. Trust me, all those diploma grads in the end, they are not working what they learn back in school days.. Don't give up just because your current company doesn't increase your pay. think long term. Suffer now , future will be brighter.

Zhaode1981

hi all, need u guys for advice. my problem is i am holding ntc2 in automotive cert. i want to upgrade myself for my diploma on mechanical engineering. problem on my ntc2 it does not have math n science.my gpa only 2.9 but need 3.5 confirm this part must need entry test. i am working in aviation too. does the entry test is hard? cause my math and science is real sucks. should i start frm stretch? going to ite and take higher nitec and progress to diploma? or just go and apply diploma? really headache. pls give me advice on it i really need help.

harky

Poly got entry test? Think u can try to take the entry test. if cannot pass than no choice, you had to take Higher nitec liao or pte dip

Kyoji83

You can try to take the entry test & if you fail or not selected for the course even if you pass your entry test, take a Higher Nitec.

hi all, need u guys for advice. my problem is i am holding ntc2 in automotive cert. i want to upgrade myself for my diploma on mechanical engineering. problem on my ntc2 it does not have math n science.my gpa only 2.9 but need 3.5 confirm this part must need entry test. i am working in aviation too. does the entry test is hard? cause my math and science is real sucks. should i start frm stretch? going to ite and take higher nitec and progress to diploma? or just go and apply diploma? really headache. pls give me advice on it i really need help.

Kyoji83

Just to inform you that with a Pte Dip, you cannot enter a Poly Dip course.

My experiences is employer is not very keen to employ Pte Dip in Engineering graduate.

I recommend you to study up to a degree if you choice private school path.

thanks like u say pte dip also good solution. thanks

Zhaode1981

Yup anyway I decided to go for degree too not only diploma. Thanks bro for the good advice.

Kyoji83

By the way just to share some information to you.

Bachelor of Engineering by Distance Learning mode(Private Education) is not recognize by Professional Engineers Board Singapore to become a Professional Engineer in Singapore.

So if you want to be a Professional Engineer in Singapore, you MUST get a NTU BEng or NUS BEng/BTech in Singapore meaning getting your Poly Dip first.

Yup anyway I decided to go for degree too not only diploma. Thanks bro for the good advice.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.