Passive income options

MoDiE

Any passive income options to share?

I know the best is property and then collect rental.. but not sure if i am able to afford a house now.. (i am below 35).

But then again, one of my colleague also bought a private property and his passive income for rental is :eek::eek::eek: basically i think he used cpf and also bank loan to buy, but the rental monthly can cover the bank loan and still got earn.. any advise if this is really worth it?

so, any other passive income options you guys use can share share? :D

oh ya, i also thinking of driving taxi on the weekends.. :s13:

kebinu

Driving taxi in weekend is not considered as passive income.

Getting a property for rental sounds good. If our income and saving is not high enough, we have to leverage a lot. Lack liquidity, high leverage etc. I would also prefer to get a HDB first.

I prefer stock personally. 3 kinds of play: capital appreciation (not now), dividend play (not now), spectulation (i'm doing it now).

Invest in a business as a sleeping partner. You need to have a lot of trust here. Invest and hope for business to do ok/well and get monthly income.

Endowment plan, saving plan, FD. Low return but "safer".

If you have spare time, learn new skill or use your passion to earn income.

I'm waiting for the market to crash, but i doubt it will be so soon. Just save up, wait for the crash to go on a shopping spree on your stock, property, cars, etc etc.

Dividends Warrior

I know the best is property and then collect rental.. but not sure if i am able to afford a house now.. (i am below 35).

But then again, one of my colleague also bought a private property and his passive income for rental is :eek::eek::eek: basically i think he used cpf and also bank loan to buy, but the rental monthly can cover the bank loan and still got earn.. any advise if this is really worth it?

Here you go. :D

MoDiE

I'm waiting for the market to crash, but i doubt it will be so soon. Just save up, wait for the crash to go on a shopping spree on your stock, property, cars, etc etc.

:D:D i like this statement!:s12:

compro_1975

waiting got market to crash....... but dun tink anytime soon, things are climbing

Kenny23

passive income means regular inflow of $$ is there constantly when u r not doing anything...finding a second job is not considered passive income..

property is only considered passive income when its inflow greater than all outflow..say your rental is 5k n your tax/installment/insurance/maintence add up to 4k then your passive income is 1k..

dividend paying stock holdings are also a form of passive income..these 2 the top 2 ways to have passive income & the most effective way to plan for retirement..

endowment/savings plan r not considered passive income..theres nothing passive about it..its just a method of investment for the more conservative person..

MoDiE

thanks everyone for the clarifications and pointers.

mikafire

Driving taxi in weekend is not considered as passive income.

Getting a property for rental sounds good. If our income and saving is not high enough, we have to leverage a lot. Lack liquidity, high leverage etc. I would also prefer to get a HDB first.

I prefer stock personally. 3 kinds of play: capital appreciation (not now), dividend play (not now), spectulation (i'm doing it now).

Invest in a business as a sleeping partner. You need to have a lot of trust here. Invest and hope for business to do ok/well and get monthly income.

Endowment plan, saving plan, FD. Low return but "safer".

If you have spare time, learn new skill or use your passion to earn income.

Well summaries of main stream passive investment tools in sg

iCuteCube

btw.. how to make $ from cars??

Put those stickers on your car, (Those small one) if not paste entire car like taxi like that, i doubt you want that.

Car Pool cant really make $, but can pay for petrol.... :s13:

MoDiE

Put those stickers on your car, (Those small one) if not paste entire car like taxi like that, i doubt you want that.

Car Pool cant really make $, but can pay for petrol.... :s13:
i am referring to bro kebinu's last statement about shopping spree for cars..

kebinu

Not making money from buying a car but it should be the time when a car is the most affordable.

Some-one

Have you factored in the maintenance fee of the private property that your friend own?

Majestic12

Personally I find passive investing to be a sham - it sounds nice in theory but is in fact a lazy man's option. It sounds more successful than it actually is because we are biased to only notice the winners.

I prefer being active - Either invest / trade and baby sit that position, or close everything and take a breather from the markets.

iAmBored

I wanna get started in this to. Currently still in NS but I've saved up a decent capital to put into mutual funds.

Kenny23

Personally I find passive investing to be a sham - it sounds nice in theory but is in fact a lazy man's option. It sounds more successful than it actually is because we are biased to only notice the winners.

I prefer being active - Either invest / trade and baby sit that position, or close everything and take a breather from the markets.

well passive income investing only forms part of a portfolio...like a stabiliser..

Just like active traders...they will talk much about their losses meh? Theres always a saying that goes around traders/investors..talk is cheap..

GurmitSinghEvent

I know have a passive income that Gurmit Singh is doing and he will be sharing his personal experiences on how to achieve passive income of 5 figures or more per month, if you like to know more, pls pm me for the date and time.

kebinu

world venture.

bye bye because it's not sustainable.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.