PC Build Recommendation ~$3k

chenghui

Hi all,

I am helping my friend to plan for a PC build, which would be used to play latest AAA (or FPS like Destiny 2) at 1440p at high refresh rates. The budget is about $3k for everything (including monitor, wireless KB & mouse and speakers). The aim is also to be able to play latest games at relatively high settings for the next 3+ years; no issues on lowering graphics quality.

I have the following build planned out, Any suggestions to further optimize the build to keep it below $3k? Would prefer to get everything from the same shop if possible (for CPU tower), and to get parts with long warranty and high reliability.

Alternatively, if the the shortlisted parts for the CPU tower is out of stock, might consider Aftershock BOLT in the following configuration, since the price difference is about $45; is the Aftershock BOLT configuration ok?

Price below are from PC Themes
Processor + Mobo: Ryzen 5600X + Asrock B550m Pro 4 - $615
CPU cooler: Stock
RAM: G.Skill Sniper X 3600MHz CL19 - $119
SSD: XPG SX8200 M.2 NVMe/RGB (1TB) - $209
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 3.5" (1TB) - $61
Graphics Card: Palit RTX 3060 Ti Gaming Pro 8GB OC - $669
PSU: Seasonic Focus GX-650W Full Gold - $159
Casing: Corsair Crystal 280X RGB TG mATX - $249
Sub-total: $2240

Aftershock BOLT
Ryzen 5 5600X + Gigabyte B550M-DS3H
CPU cooler: Stock
KLEVV Bolt XR 3600 MHz (8x2)
Samsung NVMe SSD (R:3500|W:3000)
Western Digital Blue 7200RPM 3.5" (1TB)
Zotac RTX 3060Ti Twin Edge OC 8GB
FSP/EVGA 650W 80+ Bronze Certified PSU
Aftershock BOLT (Similar to NZXT)
Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit
Aftershock S1 ARGB Fans X 5
3 Years Parts Warranty (Onsite Pickup and Return)
Sub-total: $2285

Price below from Lazada
Wireless KB - Corsair K63 Wireless TKL - $165
Wireless Mouse - Corsair Harpoon RGB Wireless - $75
Monitor - MSI Optix MAG274QRF - $619
Speakers - any recommendations for 2.0 speaker system?
Sub-total: $859

Total (DIY + Others) = $3099

Thanks in advance!

Phen8210

Not trying to be rude, but there are some really bad choices of the parts. If you have 3K budget, spend on parts more reliable please.

Also, there is no point getting 3600MHz if its CL19, its going to perform worse than 3200 CL16. Not to mention that the B550M Pro 4 board has a ton of serious issues including its XMP. Just look up newegg/amazon low rated reviews on these.

I would probably do something like

CPU: 5600x / 5800x

HSF: NH-U12A / Dark Rock 4 fits mATX very well. Otherwise look into some AIOs.

RAM: Get something that is 3200 CL 16 to avoid compatibility issues. If you wanna go higher get 3600 CL16, otherwise its pointless. Also for higher ram speeds you might wanna get AMD certified rams.. like trident neo z, some crucial ballistix also work very well with AMD, but they are really rare in SG.

MOBO: Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / MSI B550M Mortar / Asus B550M TUF Gaming Plus

PSU: Seasonic Focus 750W / Super Flower Leadex III 750W

SSD: 1TB WD SN750 / SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS, SX8200 PRO no longer worth it as its been modified and slower now.

HDD: Any except Seagate.

GPU: Whatever 3080 / 3060ti that fits your case and budget, try to get 3 cooling fans ones as RTX 30 series runs hot.

CASE: Something that can fit these components

The rig quoted to you by PC Themes really left my head scratching. There were 4 big red flags inside. The last thing you want with 3k budget is buying a ton of issues.

tigerwoods

Aftershock waiting time is 3 weeks, after 3 weeks no guarantee has stock.

aypez1

Please don't pay $159 for Windows and $249 for a case.

You can get both for under $100.

Questionable component choices in the PCThemes build, which is disappointing as I've heard good things about them.

The Aftershock build has more sensible components. You're still overpaying by $300-400 but maybe that's worth it to have them assemble it and 3 years onsite warranty.

I would top up $50 or so to replace the AMD stock cooler. It's not terrible but it is noisy and the cooling performance is meh. I replaced mine with a Scythe Fuma 2 which runs silent and is about 10 degrees cooler.

guile

Mobo + Processor: Asus TUF Gaming B550M with 5600X - $696
Casing: Asus TUF 301 - $49 (PWP)
PSU: Corsair RM750W Gold / Seasonic GX-750W Gold - $173 / $175
Ram: Corsair Vengenace LPX 3600 CL18 8GB X 2 - $129
GPU: Palit RTX 3070 Gaming Pro OC - $818
SSD: WD Black N750 500GB/1TB - $153 / $175.17 (Amazon.sg)
HDDISK: WD Blue 1TB - $58
Cooler: CM Hyper 212 Red / ID Cooling SE-224-XT - $39

Total: $2115 (5ooGB SSD) / $2137.17 (1TB SSD)

Can be cheaper if you wait for 12/12 to purchase the PSU/RAM/SSD. Price above from PCThemes. Windows 10 key just get online.

skrekro

Here's my take;

CPU+MOBO :5600x + B550m Steel Legend 664$
SSD: Buy from Amazon.sg Crucial P5 nvme ssd for 160$
PSU: SEASONIC FOCUS GM-750W SEMI GOLD 7YRS 159$
Ram: 3600mhz CL16 RGB Crucial Ballistix 8gbx2 for 120$ @amazon.sg
GPU: RTX 3070 palit gamingpro 818$
CPU cooler not necessary but if you need get a cheap one like 212.
Casing: Ask him to choose. If not P400A/P500A, Meshify, Lancool ii mesh, TD500 ~150$

Windows, don't buy. Use unlicensed or go online and find. Around 20-30$ can get OEM keys.

Total: 2071 @ pcthemes and amazon.sg

After you buy monitor ~500$, keyboard and mouse (got razer bundle get cynosa, kraken lite and razer viper for 170$ at popular) got leftover upgrade the card to RTX 3080

majora

Can be cheaper if you wait for 12/12 to purchase the PSU/RAM/SSD. Price above from PCThemes. Windows 10 key just get online.

Can i check for the Asus TUF 301 casing, is it purchase with purchase with Mobo+processor only?

skrekro

Other than current availability, why would green cards be better than red cards?

If you want to stream/record game footage, Nvidia has their own encoder on the GPU which will not impact performance. Raytracing for higher graphics fidelity and DLSS can make hard to run games run better especially with raytracing turned on. Games run better on 4K

Red team is better performing at lower resolutions like 1080p and 1440p. 16gb vram means you can probably run stuff at higher texture settings for a longer time.

Lil_d3viLz

If you are into chassis, then it is worth paying more for a chassis u like since u be facing it daily.

Same goes for those who spend thousands on RGB.

What is with that seagate 1TB, most would go for 4~8TB. Get 2TB NVMe SSD if u need 2 TB else stick with 1TB until u want more storage. It is just opening of casing, slotting the ssd in only.

Windows 10 is silly. It is free.

3060ti is good if stock is available.

guile

Can i check for the Asus TUF 301 casing, is it purchase with purchase with Mobo+processor only?

This was what I understand when I WA and PM PC Themes, but have to be Asus Motherboard and AMD CPU according to Asus Promo. You can double confirm with PC Themes before going down.

If you prefer other casings than can go for cheaper similar performing other brand motherboards like the Asrock.

andylee1986

guile's build is rock solid. i will pump a bit more for another nvme and maybe top up to 3080 (if can find lah).

Here's my take;

CPU+MOBO :5600x + B550m Steel Legend 664$
SSD: Buy from Amazon.sg Crucial P5 nvme ssd for 160$
PSU: SEASONIC FOCUS GM-750W SEMI GOLD 7YRS 159$
Ram: 3600mhz CL16 RGB Crucial Ballistix 8gbx2 for 120$ @amazon.sg
GPU: RTX 3070 palit gamingpro 818$
CPU cooler not necessary but if you need get a cheap one like 212.
Casing: Ask him to choose. If not P400A/P500A, Meshify, Lancool ii mesh, TD500 ~150$

Windows, don't buy. Use unlicensed or go online and find. Around 20-30$ can get OEM keys.

Total: 2071 @ pcthemes and amazon.sg

After you buy monitor ~500$, keyboard and mouse (got razer bundle get cynosa, kraken lite and razer viper for 170$ at popular) got leftover upgrade the card to RTX 3080

skrekro's suggestion is another rock solid build. dun buy retail windows key just get online. the only thing i will change is not to use the stock cooler get the se-224-xt. same thing if can get, get a 3080. i rather pain now for a better value/performance ratio.

SSD: 1TB WD SN750 / SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS, SX8200 PRO no longer worth it as its been modified and slower now.

I took the risk and bought a SX8200 Pro. still old stock in sls with the old controller. fast.

Phen8210

You got lucky, there are people received new and slower sets already. Not really my problem anyway.. :D

chenghui

Not trying to be rude, but there are some really bad choices of the parts. If you have 3K budget, spend on parts more reliable please.

Also, there is no point getting 3600MHz if its CL19, its going to perform worse than 3200 CL16. Not to mention that the B550M Pro 4 board has a ton of serious issues including its XMP. Just look up newegg/amazon low rated reviews on these.

I would probably do something like

CPU: 5600x / 5800x

HSF: NH-U12A / Dark Rock 4 fits mATX very well. Otherwise look into some AIOs.

RAM: Get something that is 3200 CL 16 to avoid compatibility issues. If you wanna go higher get 3600 CL16, otherwise its pointless. Also for higher ram speeds you might wanna get AMD certified rams.. like trident neo z, some crucial ballistix also work very well with AMD, but they are really rare in SG.

MOBO: Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / MSI B550M Mortar / Asus B550M TUF Gaming Plus

PSU: Seasonic Focus 750W / Super Flower Leadex III 750W

HDD: Any except Seagate.

GPU: Whatever 3080 / 3060ti that fits your case and budget, try to get 3 cooling fans ones as RTX 30 series runs hot.

CASE: Something that can fit these components

The rig quoted to you by PC Themes really left my head scratching. There were 4 big red flags inside. The last thing you want with 3k budget is buying a ton of issues.

Thanks for the inputs, learnt a lot to improve the part selection. But I would need to clarify, PC Themes did not quote the following rig, I chose the parts myself and took the prices from their pricelist.

As for the casing, I went for it as it is rather compact and it comes with a controller and ARGB fans, as my friend would like some RGB lights in the rig. Cleaning of dust from mesh/vents looks easy too.

chenghui

The casing is freaking exp.

Please don't pay $159 for Windows and $249 for a case.

You can get both for under $100.

Questionable component choices in the PCThemes build, which is disappointing as I've heard good things about them.

The Aftershock build has more sensible components. You're still overpaying by $300-400 but maybe that's worth it to have them assemble it and 3 years onsite warranty.

I would top up $50 or so to replace the AMD stock cooler. It's not terrible but it is noisy and the cooling performance is meh. I replaced mine with a Scythe Fuma 2 which runs silent and is about 10 degrees cooler.

How about Cooler Master NR400 for a more budget option?

Thanks for the inputs. I chose the case cause it comes with a controller and ARGB fans, which would give some RGB lights to the case, as my friend would like some RGB lights in the rig. The case is also rather compact, as compared to a full tower and cleaning (of dust filters/vents) looks to be easier.

I need to clarify that PC Themes did not recommend the parts; I chose the parts myself and took the price from the pricelist. I will consider replacing the stock cooler too.

Clearnfc

I rather you remove the OS and change to cheaper casing.

USe the money and try to get 3070 instead.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.