PC Can't Power Up

Providence

My dad's PC could not power up last night. There is no light and the two ventilation fans are not turning. I suspected that the PSU may be faulty so I replaced it with a spare one. Unfortunately, the PC still could not power up. Even the ventilation fans are not moving.

The old PSU was 400W (CoolerMaster) and the spare one is 510W (Acbel). So are the PSUs faulty at the same time? :eek:

royfrosty

Do a search on paper clip test PSU in YouTube. Go try it out on both PSU. See can get it jump start. If it does for both then your mobo up lorry already.

havetobuy

My dad's PC could not power up last night. There is no light and the two ventilation fans are not turning. :

removed display card/rams
remove cpu fans
remove cpu
clean cpu
reinstalled fan
and yes
me method is alway
sprayed wd40 all over the board
used a copper brush(if dun hav toothbrush)
after 5 min sprayin
brush every wet part
than plug in gfx/ram
switch on
if its either bootup or an xplosion
get an xtinguish nearby
viola

aikishi86

removed display card/rams
remove cpu fans
remove cpu
clean cpu
reinstalled fan
and yes
me method is alway
sprayed wd40 all over the board
used a copper brush(if dun hav toothbrush)
after 5 min sprayin
brush every wet part
than plug in gfx/ram
switch on
if its either bootup or an xplosion
get an xtinguish nearby
viola

:eek::eek::eek:

But wd40 is liquid? Motherboard is electrical component? Won't it get shorted or something?

liquid + HUNDREDS or electrical connections = your motherboard fries doesnt it? :eek:

Think you are trying to troll TS, last 3 sentences confirmed it :(

havetobuy

Think you are trying to troll TS, last 3 sentences confirmed it :(
i am a computer doctor
not a nazi rocket scientist
if u dont listened to WISE words(which liked i says go by XPERIENCES)
tough luck...
i been doin it INFRONT of clients
who liked u hesistate..
and liked i said..
go buy a new board lor....
till today i had not seen smoked nor fire alarm...
did i or did i not says
rubbed till it DRY?

jtjt00

This is one of the cutest joke here.
I don't see how WD40 can help a rig with short-circuited part.

jtjt00

TS, if you don't know how to jump start a PSU, remove the following:
1. All HDD/SSD
2. DVD writer
3. Graphics card (if there is onboard)
4. Use 1 pc of ram

shadow84

WD40 is cleaning solution for oil spills and all. Used in armour before... U put that on your com = kamikaze le....

@havetobuy, plz improve your english la... so many grammar errors, how to run ur DIY business like that....

aikishi86

i am a computer doctor
tough luck...
who liked u hesistate..
and liked i said..
did i or did i not says
rubbed till it DRY?

even if you do it infront of client, again using wd40 to spray onto motherboard is a big no. rubbed until dry? How can you confirm that on surface it's dry but are you able to clean out all the component/connectors and making sure that none of it still have residue left after spraying?

Makes me wonder what who are your clients?

Btw, just in case you dont know - WD40 is a lubrication oil use to lubricating and loosening joints and hinges, extricating stuck screws and bolts are common usages, and it also loosens stubborn zippers. And it may also be used to preventing rust and corrosion. So to clean out motherboard? I have it's not in my intention to expose your method but do you need to say good to have extinguisher next to you and look for explosion? Haiz

To TS, go youtube search paperclip method to test your PSUs. Fool proof accurate method to test whether it's your motherboard or PSU faulty. IMO, it's the motherboard. Had the same issue before, PSU blown and took the motherboard away as well.

hlots123

This is one of the cutest joke here.
I don't see how WD40 can help a rig with short-circuited part.
i believe its to help clean away grime & dirt (which may contain anything). maybe it also helps reduce potential damage due to static discharge, which may happen when cleaning esp with brush/cloth.

lemonn

i am a computer doctor
tough luck...
who liked u hesistate..
and liked i said..
did i or did i not says
rubbed till it DRY?
As others have pointed out, please do not mislead TS into doing something that is potentially harmful to his computer.

Also, as this is a discussion forum, I'm sure everyone will appreciate if you can type in proper sentences and not chunks of text :)

lemonn

WD40 is a lubricant, not a cleaning agent. Althought it may not do harm to your motherboard, it is not advisable to be used on sensitive electronics such as your motherboard.

shadow84

WD40 is a lubricant, not a cleaning agent. Althought it may not do harm to your motherboard, it is not advisable to be used on sensitive electronics such as your motherboard.

lol... how the hell my driver/gunner use it to clean our vehicle sia.... if it is meant as a lubricant...

jtjt00

WD40 is basically used to start equipment wet by water.

Providence

I have followed the instructions on YouTube on how to jump-start the PSUs. The two PSUs are working fine.

I will change the motherboard battery tomorrow and see how. :)

Thanks, guys!

commach

:eek::eek::eek:

But wd40 is liquid? Motherboard is electrical component? Won't it get shorted or something?

liquid + HUNDREDS or electrical connections = your motherboard fries doesnt it? :eek:

FYI, WD40 is non-conductive. It won't short circuit the motherboard.

Not all liquid are conductive, PCB manufacturer are using distill water to rinse/wash the PCB after soldering process with all components populated.

Sometime I washed the motherboard and graphic card using distill water to remove the tough residue accumulated over the years. Don't be mislead by "water are not suppose to come into contact with electrical/electronic circuit". Some "water" are needed to wash the populated circuit board before releasing the product to the market. :)

I am not a troll.

hlots123

is it d.i. water or normal distilled water? cuz i thot distilled just mean no other things dissolved inside, but still can conduct normally.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.