Pc not able to power up

Jeanrc

My pc not able to power up when I press the casing power button. I am using Asus maximus viii hero motherboard. There is a start button on the motherboard and when I press it, it doesn't power up too. That start button on the motherboard is the onboard power up button right? If yes, I suppose most probably my power supply spoil? My house power or socket/cable seem to be bad as sometime when I on wall socket switch for my pc, I can hear pop sound coming either from pc or wall socke
That's why I guess my pc power supply die since last time the power supply die too.
Any idea am I correct?

Rashkae

1. Make sure the power switch on your PSU is on
2. Check the fuses in the plug
3. If all ok, PSU might be dead

Jeanrc

1. Make sure the power switch on your PSU is on
2. Check the fuses in the plug
3. If all ok, PSU might be dead

Ya the switch on psu is on, I never off it and yesterday still can power up pc.
There is a little power to the motherboard as the start button and reset button got light and asus logo, but gpu and others no light and not spinning. Not sure does it use to have light and spin when power is OK. So still need to check fuse on plug?

Jeanrc

Another thing I want to ask is does everyone house power sometime make pop sound when you on your wall switch for your pc power plug? Mine sometime have that sound and I suspect that cause damage to the power supply for my pc after 1 to 2 year. Thinking to rewire one for my pc socket power. Asking cause I know some electric wire is lousy quality can spoil/burn when use on high power stuff like heater. Not sure does pc does that or not.

stylechap

Means your internal switch not good liao
Most likely the pop made your psu die
I also kena before then now ownself add-on socket surge protector(not sure if it helps though)

And you made 2 psu die because of $10 socket is :s22:

Rashkae

Another thing I want to ask is does everyone house power sometime make pop sound when you on your wall switch for your pc power plug? Mine sometime have that sound and I suspect that cause damage to the power supply for my pc after 1 to 2 year. Thinking to rewire one for my pc socket power. Asking cause I know some electric wire is lousy quality can spoil/burn when use on high power stuff like heater. Not sure does pc does that or not.

I never switch off the wall socket.

flame2000

How old is your mobo? I encountered once the CMOS battery completely dead and cannot power up at all. I thgt it was the power supply so I go buy a 2nd hand one to try. Also cannot power up. After replacing the CMOS battery, everything ok. Shld have try the cheap option first.

flame2000

This one I encountered few time even with new wall point. It's the wall point internal contact.

Jeanrc

How old is your mobo? I encountered once the CMOS battery completely dead and cannot power up at all. I thgt it was the power supply so I go buy a 2nd hand one to try. Also cannot power up. After replacing the CMOS battery, everything ok. Shld have try the cheap option first.
i think is 3 to 5 year old. gtx 1080 year
but my motherboard start button and reset got light leh, can be cmos battery?
wa lau, i still thinking to go down sls like now to buy a power supply.

Jeanrc

OMFG!!! i don't think you be correct since when i google, some stupid web said cmos battery will not cause pc not to power up.
So after off work, i didn't go sls to buy power supply. i went back home area to buy dinner and energizer cmos cr2023 from ntuc.
after ate dinner, i took out the gpu that is blocking the cmos battery area. use a screw to help take out the cmos battery and insert the new one in. plug back in the power supply and dp cable and on it. BOOM and like magic and it power up :s12::s13::s12:

Many thanks to everyone who give suggestion and try to help especially flame2000

flame2000

OMFG!!! i don't think you be correct since when i google, some stupid web said cmos battery will not cause pc not to power up.
So after off work, i didn't go sls to buy power supply. i went back home area to buy dinner and energizer cmos cr2023 from ntuc.
after ate dinner, i took out the gpu that is blocking the cmos battery area. use a screw to help take out the cmos battery and insert the new one in. plug back in the power supply and dp cable and on it. BOOM and like magic and it power up :s12::s13::s12:

Many thanks to everyone who give suggestion and try to help especially flame2000

Glad it works for you. :)

cscs3

CMOS battery will not cause power issue. If battery low or almost dead, it should give up check sum error message. What happen may be motherboard CMOS data somehow get corrupted of has a wrong over clock setting (especially those has over clock the PC). Removing battery reset everything to default and hence PC start up again.

Don't believe? Remove your CMOS battery and try to power up your PC again. It will throw you some message but never a power up issue.

Jeanrc

CMOS battery will not cause power issue. If battery low or almost dead, it should give up check sum error message. What happen may be motherboard CMOS data somehow get corrupted of has a wrong over clock setting (especially those has over clock the PC). Removing battery reset everything to default and hence PC start up again.

Don't believe? Remove your CMOS battery and try to power up your PC again. It will throw you some message but never a power up issue.

Don't know leh, no error shown or sound, never overclock .
Am just gald problem is solve and hope no more problem lol.
no pc to use very tiring, cannot surf web well or see video well etc.
mobile phone too small screen and tiring to use.

H.sHon

Hello Guys,

I have the same issue with TS.
Yesterday, I left my PC on sleep but when I tried to resume it back on, it couldn't power back on after I press the power button.
So suspecting my PSU has issues, I did a paperclip jump start test today.
It works as I see the PSU and case fan spinning but after awhile maybe around 3mins or so, the power was abruptly cut off.
I am using a Seasonic PSU which is more than 10 years old but just wanna confirm a bit before purchase the PSU as I have no spare to test.
Btw this morning, it is able to run fully and I managed to do some video and sound testing, but it shuts off abruptly around 30mins - 1hour and unable to power back since.

-MSI B550 Tomahawk
-AMD Ryzen 3600
-1660 Super
-Gskill 32GB

Any reply is appreciated

Koenig168

Hello Guys,

Yesterday, my left my PC on sleep but when I tried to resume it back on, it couldn't power back on after I press the power button.
It works as I see the PSU and case fan spinning but after awhile maybe around 3mins or so, the power was abruptly cut off.
I am using a Seasonic PSU which is more than 10 years old but just wanna confirm a bit before purchase the PSU as I have no spare to test.
Btw this morning, it is able to run fully and I managed to do some video and sound testing, but it shuts off abruptly around 30mins - 1hour and unable to power back since.

-MSI B550 Tomahawk
-AMD Ryzen 3600
-1660 Super
-Gskill 32GB

Any reply is appreciated

The PSU should not power off by itself during paper clip test. Time to change PSU.

86technie

Hello Guys,

Yesterday, my left my PC on sleep but when I tried to resume it back on, it couldn't power back on after I press the power button.

-MSI B550 Tomahawk
-AMD Ryzen 3600
-1660 Super
-Gskill 32GB

Any reply is appreciated
If PSU is more than 10 years than it's time to change.
Take note faulty/blown PSU can affect other components as well.
After you change PSU, do check if your RAM have issue or not.

Mana

I had a similiar issue back a few months ago. Couldn't power up PSU, thus i went to get a new PSU and still couldn't power up. After some investigation, it seemed that the old PSU was fried and in the process, the mobo and the gpu was fried as well.

Good thing the mobo was under warranty and that was replaced. For the GPU, i'll probably have to wait given the current situation of the GPU market.

Dead items
- Cooler Master V700 Gold
- MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X

Current setup
- Corsair RM750
- MSI B550 Tomahawk
- AMD Ryzen 5600
- Asus GTX 1030

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.