PC Speaker recommendation

8-lane

Its ok bro i understand wher u comnig from
Ok that's gd... maybe I'll change to other speakers... do u think I should just avoid these so-called "gaming" speakers? My main use for the speakers is just to listen to music... has to have decent amt of bass...

AhhHoNG

Ok that's gd... maybe I'll change to other speakers... do u think I should just avoid these so-called "gaming" speakers? My main use for the speakers is just to listen to music...
Yes if you have the budget, do not go for what gaming speakers all these gimmicks. A good speaker will open up your ears to many details, not surround sound :s13:

8-lane

Yes if you have the budget, do not go for what gaming speakers all these gimmicks. A good speaker will open up your ears to many details, not surround sound :s13:
Haha yeah... I suppose chiu dun game?

hardwaregone

@hardwaregone
Yo... how's the setting up of ur speakers getting along?
I suspect my bose got a problem with overheating at the subwoofer side.

Recently repositioned it and reduced the bass, see if it works. Can't Google and find any specifics on how to fix it.

I hope that can last for a while. The ProMedia heritage in white is out of stock and the suppliers say they have no idea when they will have stock again. So gotta wait.

In the meantime going to lazada buy a custom made plank to extend some wings to put the satellites when they arrive. :(

8-lane

I suspect my bose got a problem with overheating at the subwoofer side.

Recently repositioned it and reduced the bass, see if it works. Can't Google and find any specifics on how to fix it.

I hope that can last for a while. The ProMedia heritage in white is out of stock and the suppliers say they have no idea when they will have stock again. So gotta wait.

In the meantime going to lazada buy a custom made plank to extend some wings to put the satellites when they arrive. :(
Ok... how abt ur Bose satellites? Are they still working?

hardwaregone

Ok... how abt ur Bose satellites? Are they still working?
It will work until suddenly there's this sound similar to the sound when you crush those mineral bottle.
Or there's a poof then the satellites no longer work.
This normally occurs when I'm playing games, happening when those fellows do some ultimate move and the bass gets heavy,

When i switch off the power supply to the speaker and restart, they will work again but only for a short moment.

At first i thought that it's a problem with the satellites or the controller , but i later think it could be the subwoofer or a component inside is failing. :(

8-lane

It will work until suddenly there's this sound similar to the sound when you crush those mineral bottle.
This normally occurs when I'm playing games, happening when those fellows do some ultimate move and the bass gets heavy,

When i switch off the power supply to the speaker and restart, they will work again but only for a short moment.

At first i thought that it's a problem with the satellites or the controller , but i later think it could be the subwoofer or a component inside is failing. :(
Wah jialat... how to game properly liddat...

petetherock

got anyone here using the Soundkraft Engima? local company... realised quite a lot of local high end IEM and fancy cable companies

the ASR charts obsessed dai lou actually thinks is pleasant
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...ds/soundkraft-enigma-bt-speaker-review.35641/
may have given this a shot if i have not overcommitted on earbuds this year lol.. its always on lelong on lazada for their minor cosmetic flaw b-stocks
https://peteswrite.blogspot.com/2022/08/soundkraft-enigma-speaker-review.html

zzzzzzz

is there anything which i can connect to my speaker so as to stream wifi from whatever is playing on my computers?
:frown:

MoyoCase

try on different power socket or if u using extension ports maybe the ports are failing. if u still experience the same thing, it could be a problem with yr speakers failing.

focus1974

Tried already. I think it's some capacitor issue. Can't store and gimme the power when it's needed. :(

same here :0

my companion 20 ... gave up on me this month... it's been a good decade of listening to it. RIP.

but luckily, i have edifier r1850db and the creative stage on the same desktop.. i switched between them.. but edifier is too close for comfort ... hearing will go if i used that for extended listening. Bookshelf speakers really need to be put at bookshelfs in the living room and u go sit at sofa to listen..

creative stage is good. .. the bass from the external passive subwoofer .. and the normal stuff from the soundbar. that's my daily use now.

But just bought a bose mini 2 from shopee 9.9 sale ..and intnd to use that as a desktop speaker as well..

MoyoCase

there will never be a perfect buy. but the right purchase to suit ur needs. since u need something cheap and portable, then as long as u are happy with wad u have, nothing else matters. You not chasing after the best measured best sounding speakers ma
Best sounding expensive speakers need best audio high res inputs like lossless music and media files and .. if u just watching stuff like YouTube and broadcast tv which are lossy quality then it's a waste of money

MoyoCase

same here :0

my companion 20 ... gave up on me this month... it's been a good decade of listening to it. RIP.

but luckily, i have edifier r1850db and the creative stage on the same desktop.. i switched between them.. but edifier is too close for comfort ... hearing will go if i used that for extended listening. Bookshelf speakers really need to be put at bookshelfs in the living room and u go sit at sofa to listen..

creative stage is good. .. the bass from the external passive subwoofer .. and the normal stuff from the soundbar. that's my daily use now.

But just bought a bose mini 2 from shopee 9.9 sale ..and intnd to use that as a desktop speaker as well..
Just get the $299 Yamaha soundbar SR b20a or c20 for everything can . It has HDMI Bluetooth optical and use it has built in subwoofers liao and a port to add external subwoofer also . Just connect yr gaming computer to a tv and sit far .

U will find it works best with everything including gaming movies music

MoyoCase

is there anything which i can connect to my speaker so as to stream wifi from whatever is playing on my computers?
:frown:

I don't understand what u mean
If u talking about streaming sound over wifi From Android tv or phone can use those apps like playfi.

Forestraintree

Thanks Pegaki. Took your advice and gotten smsl ad18 and elac debut 6.2 after reading up a lot on my own as well.

Waited till 11.11 to hoot them.. now enjoying the music from this set up. Super value for money. the music is solid!!!

Damage:
Smsl ad18 sgd170
Elac debut sgd309

All cmi , simi bose swan creative altec audioengine aktimate klipsch logitech edifier harmankardon , all cmi

Get a decent desktop amp eg smsl ad18 ($150+) or sa400 ($380+) plus decent speaker eg elac debut 6.2 ($500+) or monitor audio silver rx1 ($700+) , beat the crap out of the above brands
Thank me later

Earlier on someone mention b&w685 with topping amp , now thats good stuff too

hardwaregone

I bought the Promedia heritage 2.1, regret it big time man.

It's damn problematic. Should have gotten the cheaper and more reliable Promedia or just get the even cheaper Edifier.

1. Cutting off at low volume. It will hiss on and off when there's no audio. But when say you encounter a conversation in a video, it just goes on and off during the silent moments of conversation. Very annoying.

I've tried increasing speaker volume to max and controlling via PC controls. The hissing sound is worse and the irritating sound is audible all the time. I've tried lowering the speaker sound to near mid-power and control with PC, that's when the on/off keeps coming. I've tried aux, I've tried Bluetooth, and nothing changed :(

2. Going into standby mode randomly. At night, I'll turn to low volume for obvious reasons. At low volume, it assumes I'm sleeping and went asleep too. I've to search for the remote and turn it back on all the time. Even when I'm watching a video and there's sound coming out of the video, it just turns off. I'm so sick of it I've already sick of using this speaker and I let it be off all the time. :(

3. So imagine you must keep looking for the remote and pointing at the woofer. Worse is the indication light is hidden inside the panel and it's hard to know if it's on/off unless your room is dark. Never mind that. There's only a specific angle that works. Like everyone, we put the woofer on the floor nearby. I've to look for the remote all the time and angulate to the precise direction to shoot the on/off button. Once every few minutes at night. Damn pek cek. :(

4. Talking about the remote, it's the most flimsy garbage I've seen. The battery lid is coming loose and it appears that the latch is just some cheap plastic that is not holding together. Despite the irritating behaviour of these speakers, I've never dropped the remote nor slammed it. After owning this for less than a few months, i think I'm going to get some rubber band to strap the battery cover to stay together. :(

The problems can be found on reddit, I'm not the only one facing it.
I'm so sick of it, and as mentioned, I'm using the speakers without it on. Watching the subtitles of my videos than searching for the silly remote all the time. I will not want a desktop speaker in the future that has a stupid remote for control. :(

I'm using 12th Gen i7 from Dell/Alienware

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.