People who buy base Mac / Macbook … how the hell do you guys survive on 256gb storage?

CCCustom

If you buy the Pro Apps bundle (Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro and their companion apps add on), freshly set up already left <40gb space remaining.

I get that most folks would probably buy an external drive as well … but srsly … how y’all survive on 256gb as your main drive?

parchiao

I think generally not possible in this time and age.

I use iCloud that helps with my photos and videos.

I switch to streaming with Apple Music.

If you install those apps and if really take up so much space, then you will need to use external SSD.

Maybe just double check if your hard disk indeed is fully utilized or there is junk files waiting to be deleted that is occupying the hard disk too.

win_man

huh use ext ssd and each time u boot up your ext ssd need to connect? Apple just need to cater secondary M2 slot and problem solve LOL

rosschang

bie one with a bigger drive lur... booobian...

who ask u bie apple?...

English Teacher

If you use more native apps, please buy a bigger storage capacity Mac.
All files can be stored in iCloud and other cloud services.

lemondrink

If you buy the Pro Apps bundle (Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro and their companion apps add on), freshly set up already left <40gb space remaining.

I get that most folks would probably buy an external drive as well … but srsly … how y’all survive on 256gb as your main drive?
Anyone who buys & uses these apps, won't be getting the 256GB version. Plus, will have external Thunderbolt SSDs, NAS, other devices connected via a docking station.

Most of the base Mac buyers are students/schools/older folks who want to browse internet, etc - and they are fine with a base tier cos that is the cheapest with good stability and battery life. This is also probably their second device that they can carry to class, while they have a more capable system at home.

mickey88

Dun hv too many piak video to save so is enough

Emperor_Hippo

cloud storage man.

cosmothecat

Thunderbolt fast speed external SSD

The performance is close to internal SSD

Because Apple charges so much for extra storage, buying 1TB or 2TB external SSD is much cheaper option

EJB

Don't keep everything on the MBP lor. My model back then is not the base, but I got 256GB also. Late 2016 TB MBP.

How I survive is to have a NAS (2x2TB no RAID). Everything copy there, now upgrade to 2x8TB RAID1 liao. Don't feel a differece.

nMVE in a case is just as fast as local storage. Still going strong today, replaced the battery once already $250+. No longer doing weddings, so don't use it heavily for PS or LR batch processing anymore. Video editing also slow down.

Prob replace with a Mac Mini next or MBA.

davidtkl76

Not everyone uses the software you mentioned.

I use 256GB and cloud. No issues.

Cowbellc

i always buy lowest storage, if got 128 i buy it
everything is on cloud now

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.