Phase 2A lousy

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

sk0065

If ACS is so highly sought after, they should franchise it. ACS AMK, ACS Bishan, ACS Sengkang, ACS Woodlands, ACS Jurong West, ACS Jurong East.

Confirm everyone is from ACS
Got what

next time got acs tengah. Hhahhaha
Mix sch some more.

sk0065

Heard from my colleague, kid in primary 6, the MS principal address the parents.. Told them cut off AL14 but if your child AL14 don't bother to apply..

1. Your child might not be able to keep up.
2. They won't select...

I just went to moe sch finder
Search MS

really - their cut off for posting group 3 affiliated is 16

Principal not wrong also

Darth_Yang

I would... Like I said.... Primary sch is the only sch that the parents can take part. Other than that... Hard.
Sec school also can.. today out in the news... Pay $50k, bam! Go in via DSA ...

There are other ways too.. just need to look hard

Kac2009

Heard from my colleague, kid in primary 6, the MS principal address the parents.. Told them cut off AL14 but if your child AL14 don't bother to apply..

1. Your child might not be able to keep up.
2. They won't select...

Help me understand what your "colleague" is saying here: is the Principal addressing students from the Primary Section?

If yes, then Ah Boy has no grounds for saying so because if an Affliate manages to hit the AMR set by the school, the school has no say on who they can reject as long as the Affliate puts the school as 1st choice.

Last time I checked their AMR is 16.

If no (Principal addressing outsiders) then it makes no sense because their cut off always hovers around 12/13.

But then it still sounds condescending considering they are not exactly known for their academic standards.

Even the P of NYGH doesn't speak like this.

shine0204

If ACS is so highly sought after, they should franchise it. ACS AMK, ACS Bishan, ACS Sengkang, ACS Woodlands, ACS Jurong West, ACS Jurong East.
Confirm everyone is from ACS
agree. Add RI-Jurong, Ri-Yishun, RI-Tampines, repeat for top few schs=open more branches. More chances for all to enter elite schs.

hachi

Help me understand what your "colleague" is saying here: is the Principal addressing students from the Primary Section?

If yes, then Ah Boy has no grounds for saying so because if an Affliate manages to hit the AMR set by the school, the school has no say on who they can reject as long as the Affliate puts the school as 1st choice.

If no (Principal addressing outsiders) then it makes no sense because their cut off always hovers around 12/13.

But then it still sounds condescending considering they are not exactly known for their academic standards.

Principal was addressing the Parents from primary school. Parents was told not to record.

I was like wtf, the principal dare to say this... Hmm.. To maintain the same profile of students.

I hope my younger one can go boys sch... I know the power of milk bottles that landed me in ITE.

the observer

Like I said. Is a kopi session with colleague. Parents was told not to record. I was like wtf, the principal dare to say this... Hmm.. To maintain the same profile of students.

MS?

Good feeder school.
Their best students in primary typically don’t stay on, but move out to the IP schools.

hachi

Sec school also can.. today out in the news... Pay $50k, bam! Go in via DSA ...

There are other ways too.. just need to look hard
Like I said... I saw they trained before. If your child cannot catch up.. The kid will suffer.

The kids of certain schools are really different... They got critical thinking skill embedded in them since very young.

When I asked my kid when he was in sec 1, the G3 SSB for AL4-20 posting, any thoughts?

He just replied.... Single AL achievers won't be interested. They would be in the IP/IB.

Maybe to some parents... My kid at AL20 is the same as the kid at AL4?

hachi

MS?

Good feeder school.
Their best students in primary typically don’t stay on, but move out to the IP schools.
My anendotal taigong. Best pri sch 33% or so single AL achievers.. 2nd tier 20% or so.

When my elder kid Chinese teacher
resigned and open a tuition center. Half the class go and visit her at center.

I told my kid... She just take photo with your classmates put outside the center... Sure boleh...

SkyNinja

Principal was addressing the Parents from primary school. Parents was told not to record.

I was like wtf, the principal dare to say this... Hmm.. To maintain the same profile of students.

I hope my younger one can go boys sch... I know the power of milk bottles that landed me in ITE.
Your last sentence can elaborate? Go boys school means lesser interaction with the opposition gender. Good or bad

hachi

Your last sentence can elaborate? Go boys school means lesser interaction with the opposition gender. Good or bad
Quite subjective.. Got to ask yourself as parents.. To me I would rather they go boys sch.

drkcynic

2B ballot is super common nowadays.

The new standard is 2B plus 1km within school and you still need to play the percentages.

Wu-Han Clan

Every (most) parent wants to give the best to their kids. So, this cycle will continue on and on for years to come.
yup.... bt parents must oso be realistic and take a look at themselfs... if they ownself go govt sch... nw adult liao want to send their kid to atas sch.... they can dream bt cannot be entitled like they deserve a place....

if want to send their kid to atas sch... must oso look in the mirror... can parents keep up with the jones??? atas sch is nt juz so called "better teachers"... all the kids will hv the latest toys... trends... birthday parties... their parents all big shot... can socialise without feeling awkward???? their kid will go their fren house.... gt all the latest gadgets... nw they oso want...

the real test is affording the atas tuition tt all the atas kids hv..... if cannot afford then high chance will fall behind... after psle all his frens go to the atas affilate sec sch except him... 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣

C4l3b

Haha u referring to the principal by name? I heard him speak a few times. Don’t like his style. He does sound kinda condescending when he speaks. Kind of trying too hard imo.

Laneige

Today I got the result. My boy didn’t get in to Sengkang Green Pri sch under phase 2A. I’m super upset and depressed and angry. The thought of it still made me agitated 😡. It does not mean that what you sow, you will reap especially in sinkie.
i think NS shld come in such situation
otherwise how does the country appreciate the contribution of the sg males when new citizen might not need to serve ns nor reservist.

1PR 1 sc kid shld be behind also

tbh parents/siblings already benefit from alumni simi and why shld the related kids have higher chances than others that cant even smell it
where is the fairness

SkyNinja

2B ballot is super common nowadays.

The new standard is 2B plus 1km within school and you still need to play the percentages.
To be eligible for 2B, parents will have clocked 40+ hours of PV work leh. If ballot fail, really cry and bang the chest.

AndroidComa

To be eligible for 2B, parents will have clocked 40+ hours of PV work leh. If ballot fail, really cry and bang the chest.
SHHK 80 hours
but give out more than 300 letters for an overall around 150 openings in their schools...

Mountainnodew

NCPS has the most number of PV. How come school didn’t reject PV applicants? If base on last yr statistics, school roughly will know how many vacancies will be left at Phase 2B.

Actually alot of statistic can be predicted even at phase 1. School will check with current parents how many siblings will be registering for that year. Then from there can tell how many placements for phase 2A then they can restrict the number of MOE Kindergarten students from registering.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.