Please comment on rig build

kenny_2828

From PC Themes:

MSI Z87-G45 Gaming + i5 4670: $520
G.Skill RIPJAWS-X 1600MHZ 4GBx2: $105
Palit 760 GTX x2 SLI: $698
Sharkoon T28: $89

Reusing 650W PSU (Hope it is enough), SSD, HDD, H60, OS. Not intending to OC anything, dont use photoshop.

Is there anything that I should cut down on or replace?

TIA!

royfrosty

From PC Themes:

MSI Z87-G45 Gaming + i5 4670: $520
G.Skill RIPJAWS-X 2133MHZ 4GBx2: $126
Palit 760 GTX x2 SLI: $698
Sharkoon T28: $89

Reusing 650W PSU (Hope it is enough), SSD, HDD, H60, OS. Not intending to OC anything, dont use photoshop.

Is there anything that I should cut down on or replace?

TIA!

If you are not intending to OC, no point getting the 4670, either a 4430 or the 4570.

And i believe that your price list do not came from tradepac. With that price you could get a 4670K to overclock.

Next thing is do you need till 2133mhz ram? If not a 1600mhz will do just fine.

650W may not be enough for a SLI config. 2 cards running on SLI TDP max is 340W. Inclusive your CPU at 80+ W total 420W. When you PSU is on stress load it also might not be able to give you just nice at the brim.

kenny_2828

If you are not intending to OC, no point getting the 4670, either a 4430 or the 4570.

And i believe that your price list do not came from tradepac. With that price you could get a 4670K to overclock.

Next thing is do you need till 2133mhz ram? If not a 1600mhz will do just fine.

650W may not be enough for a SLI config. 2 cards running on SLI TDP max is 340W. Inclusive your CPU at 80+ W total 420W. When you PSU is on stress load it also might not be able to give you just nice at the brim.

Thanks Roy for the help! I thought of getting the fastest non-oc clock speed possible because it will boost my fps in games like Rome 2 significantly. Also the price difference is not that much?

Got the price list from PC Themes because Im a frequent customer there past 2 rigs built by them :)

The ram price difference only 21 dollars >.< The PSU really cannot run this config?

royfrosty

Thanks Roy for the help! I thought of getting the fastest non-oc clock speed possible because it will boost my fps in games like Rome 2 significantly. Also the price difference is not that much?

Got the price list from PC Themes because Im a frequent customer there past 2 rigs built by them :)

The ram price difference only 21 dollars >.< The PSU really cannot run this config?

PSU can run. But you have very little allowance left to hit max. What is worse is that if the PSU is old, performance also degrade together. The next thing you know your PSU crying liao "buzzing sound"

If you are just planning to game. That very few FPS wont do much from CPU. Be it you take any range of the i5. Most of the performance is still coming in from your GPU instead.

And to go 2133mhz or not. You wont feel any significant difference from running a 1600mhz to 2133mhz, unless you are using an AMD APU rig.

kenny_2828

Changed to 1600 Mhz as recommended... My PSU I bought it about 1-2 years ago, so far no problem no buzzing sound... Is it possible to test it out first and if its not enough, then buy a higher wattage psu? Because I dont really want to let it go to waste :D

For the processor, when I did not overclock my 2.8 current cpu, I get very bad framerates in Rome 2 where the processor is the bottleneck, not so much the gpu, after clocked to 3.8, the framerate increase by 20-30, yep its that much. :(

hence if the max clock speed (non-oc) for the 4670 is only 20 dollars, it is negligible I guess?

Thanks for the help again!

royfrosty

Changed to 1600 Mhz as recommended... My PSU I bought it about 1-2 years ago, so far no problem no buzzing sound... Is it possible to test it out first and if its not enough, then buy a higher wattage psu? Because I dont really want to let it go to waste :D

For the processor, when I did not overclock my 2.8 current cpu, I get very bad framerates in Rome 2 where the processor is the bottleneck, not so much the gpu, after clocked to 3.8, the framerate increase by 20-30, yep its that much. :(

hence if the max clock speed (non-oc) for the 4670 is only 20 dollars, it is negligible I guess?

Thanks for the help again!

You can test it first before buying a PSU of cause.

That is also because your CPU already how old? And of cause lah you OC till 1ghz more leh.

You buy a 4430 to 4570 to 4670 is just 0.2ghz away from each :vijayadmin:

kenny_2828

You can test it first before buying a PSU of cause.

That is also because your CPU already how old? And of cause lah you OC till 1ghz more leh.

You buy a 4430 to 4570 to 4670 is just 0.2ghz away from each :vijayadmin:
Makes sense my CPU is ancient haha... Thanks so much for the recommendation bro, I really appreciate it...

Now, just thinking where to build it, at PC Themes where its in my comfort zone, or Tradepac for cheap (Im not confident to build a pc from scratch, rather get someone to do it with good cable management)...

Was thinking Fortran, pmed him but awaiting reply...

What do you recommend? Im not a total pc noob but if someone can fix it up for me, that will be ideal...

royfrosty

Makes sense my CPU is ancient haha... Thanks so much for the recommendation bro, I really appreciate it...

Now, just thinking where to build it, at PC Themes where its in my comfort zone, or Tradepac for cheap (Im not confident to build a pc from scratch, rather get someone to do it with good cable management)...

Was thinking Fortran, pmed him but awaiting reply...

What do you recommend? Im not a total pc noob but if someone can fix it up for me, that will be ideal...

What i recommend.

Since you already have some basic knowledge of pc, and you have bought it from PC themes before, then try do some homework first and head down to tradepac. Once at tradepac buy whatever you need and assemble yourself.

Get the satisfaction feeling, and also it isnt that difficult to build one.

For the start i recommend you to go to youtube and serach for how to build a PC. There are so many out there to choose. Learn more and eventually build your own. Nothing come close to the satisfaction feels when you first turn on your PC.

kenny_2828

What i recommend.

Since you already have some basic knowledge of pc, and you have bought it from PC themes before, then try do some homework first and head down to tradepac. Once at tradepac buy whatever you need and assemble yourself.

Get the satisfaction feeling, and also it isnt that difficult to build one.

For the start i recommend you to go to youtube and serach for how to build a PC. There are so many out there to choose. Learn more and eventually build your own. Nothing come close to the satisfaction feels when you first turn on your PC.
Totally agree on this one! I know how to connect everything, just that the casing wires (LED etc) Im not sure where to connect them because there are so many pins >.<

xtreme84

I'm just curious, is there any benefit to using the Z87 board with a non-K CPU? Cos otherwise, maybe it's better to get a H87 one?

shadow84

I'm just curious, is there any benefit to using the Z87 board with a non-K CPU? Cos otherwise, maybe it's better to get a H87 one?

No benefits... only reason that i use is i wan to SLI and only z87 can do SLI...

xtreme84

Oh, I see. Been out of touch with the current boards. Thanks for the info!

foo9883

Antec 650W to power 2x GTX 760, overclocked CPU and a H60.
It will be just nice with very very little wattage overhead, or will not run at all. CPU is running at how many volts?

kenny_2828

Dear all, thanks for helping out... Yes the salesman said 650w is not enough but I was not convinced since online forums so many people said it is enough... I only run H60, 1 ssd 1 hdd no fancy lighting... So far sli gaming no problems :)

Bought at tradepac as you bros adviced... Man they are really much cheaper and they even give a discount... Since it was my first time building, I took a few hours to finish it and tie everything swee for cable management... But you guys are right, when it is finish and so pretty, the feeling when you turn it on is damn shiok!

ASROCK z87 extreme4
i5 4670k (intend to do oc in future)
Reused old H60, Ram, SSD, HDD, PSU
2x760GTX
Sharkoon T28

Once again thank you all for the help, have a nice weekend!

kenny_2828

2013-09-08024947.jpg

2013-09-08024912.jpg

My cable management skills are lousy :( but I dont think it really obstructs anything and I close the case cannot see liao :)

But I ordered a blue Sharkoon T28, why the front fan so stylo 2 color one? Haha

royfrosty

2013-09-08024947.jpg

http://s120.photobucket.com/user/kenny_2828/media/2013-09-08024947.jpg.html][IMG]

My cable management skills are lousy :( but I dont think it really obstructs anything and I close the case cannot see liao :)

But I ordered a blue Sharkoon T28, why the front fan so stylo 2 color one? Haha[/QUOTE]

Cant see image. What thing the front got 2 color?

royfrosty

WTH~~~~ Go back change the chassis bro. It aint suppose to be that color.

kenny_2828

IKR hahaha... But its ok bah... Somehow the 2 color looks beng ish and nice... Also the headache of taking out everything to change is not worth it...

Took out the back fan (Blue) to put 2x Corsair fan from the H60, maybe i'll change it later... But green is cool!

royfrosty

LOL~ take the back blue led one put front loh. The h60 at the back. If you have a long screw that comes with the H60 you can actually put the radiator in between the 2 120mm fan.

kenny_2828

LOL~ take the back blue led one put front loh. The h60 at the back. If you have a long screw that comes with the H60 you can actually put the radiator in between the 2 120mm fan.
Yep I have 2 fans at the back for radiator it came with 2xCorsair fans and long screws... Since no top exhaust on the case, I configured both to blow the hot air out in the same direction...

I wanted green actually but its popular so out of stock... :( Oh well some bling bling wont hurt :p It kinda looks nice actually with 1 green 1 blue...

Thanks Roy for your help, it really helped me a lot to make my decision... You have a good weekend!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.