Please recommend me a cc.

more3cm

1. ANZ Optimum + Amex true cash back.
However, im not sure if i qualify for ANZ optimum as it requires annual salary of at least 80k p.a.

Heard ANZ not too sticky over salary req...

2. Maybank Platinum visa.
EDIT: no wait, maybank platinum is actually terrible for me... initially tot it is 3.33%.... then i realise it is up to 3.33%

Must strategise lor... try to zun zun hit $300 each month, once reach switch to your option 1

arigatoast

http://www.singsaver.com.sg/credit-card/dining

Maybank platinum visa seems like the safest

Don't think there is any min spending for anz optimum cashback. But it's just that anz will round down the optimum point to the nearest whole number at end of month

For optimum card, the risk is that u still have balance points but the bank insists u to pay the annual fee , and unable to waive.
Also , need at least 50 points to redeem

recently anz getting very strict on annual fees and late charges

haoKRR

I cant hit 500$pm so i took amex. 3% cashback for first 6 months, 1.5% afterwards.

Any more suggestions for me?

Trazora

huh?
what i meant was i hardly spent 500(or even 600) on card.

But i think im gona sign the dividend card, looks good..
the 120$cashback promo

The dividend card need min $888 spending for the 8% on dining, groceries and fuel capped 25 dividend$ per category per month

Trazora

thats what my colleague told me too..haix
common ones are uob,sc and the standard are dbs/posb.

So should i stick to the mainstream bank?

Actually the bank dun matter much. Visa/mastercard more widely accepted than amex cards. Maybe you can list down roughly what u spend on and how much using credit cards to help u to choose the most suitable card. Basic categories include transport, food, bills (telco, taxes, town council, SP services, insurance etc), groceries, shopping etc.

Yachtmaster

2. Maybank Platinum visa.
Better option provided i can hit 300/mth for each month of the quarter. May I know if i can include ez-reload, sp svcs, telco bills as part of the $300?

EDIT: no wait, maybank platinum is actually terrible for me... initially tot it is 3.33%.... then i realise it is up to 3.33%

If spend 400 a mth still got 2.5%. How is this so terrible?

frustrateddude

TnC of Maybank vp:
Card transactions which are not eligible for rebates include: transactions charged in a foreign currency, FlexiCash, Cash advance, Balance Transfer, 0% Instalment Payment Plans, EZ-Link, Transit Link, interest charges, late payment charges, finance charges, annual fees, reversals and other miscellaneous charges charged by a Cardmember to his/her Card.
 EZ-Link and Transit Link card transactions as well as other transactions which are not eligible for rebates will not be used to calculate the minimum spend for cash rebates. However, in the event, the cash rebates are awarded, Maybank reserves the right to reverse and/or restructure the cash rebate awarded to a Cardmember by debiting the Cardmember’s account accordingly.

so ez-reload should not be counted

haoKRR

Actually the bank dun matter much. Visa/mastercard more widely accepted than amex cards. Maybe you can list down roughly what u spend on and how much using credit cards to help u to choose the most suitable card. Basic categories include transport, food, bills (telco, taxes, town council, SP services, insurance etc), groceries, shopping etc.

True, just realized that they didnt have VISA/Master.
noobie here. Thanks there

For me,
-Transport(both petrol & public)
-Dining(most is once per week
-2 bills (every month use iBanking to transfer)
-Insurance-deduct by giro
-Hardly shop

Groceries? only my wife does that-giant and NTUC.
Maybe can intro one CC for my wife who do groceries and shopping?

TIA

StealthShadow

For me,
-Hardly shop

TIA

Roughly how much you and ur wife spend per month on groceries and shopping? Petrol?

If you have about 40-50k in savings, the ocbc/uob/boc savings accounts are good to gain interest. if you have one credit card, you will meet the 3 bill payment criteria. And if you and your wife hit the monthly spending criteria will get even more interest + cashback on the cards.

haoKRR

Roughly how much you and ur wife spend per month on groceries and shopping? Petrol?

If you have about 40-50k in savings, the ocbc/uob/boc savings accounts are good to gain interest. if you have one credit card, you will meet the 3 bill payment criteria. And if you and your wife hit the monthly spending criteria will get even more interest + cashback on the cards.

Not much, 100-300.
Huh, why suddenly shift to interest?

Trazora

For me,
-Hardly shop

TIA

All of the items you listed can be charged to credit card (earn reward/rebate) instead of other means eg ibanking or giro (dun earn reward/rebate). If everything included there should not be any issue for you and your wife to accumulate at least $500 spending per month? If so, you can consider to apply for boc family card and supplementary card for your wife
http://mp.weixin.qq.com/s?__biz=MzA5MjEwMTA4Mw==&mid=401459137&idx=1&sn=6a984dd8298ed6c090bcf976f90b5bc4#rd
to good rebate of 7% for dining, 5% for groceries, 5% for nets flashpay atu, 5% for selected merchants etc.

Furthermore, you can consider applying for boc smartsaver account to get up to 3.55% interest. Card spending of at least $500 gives bonus interest of 1.55%, together with salary crediting bonus interest 1%, bill payment (can easily pay a few dollars to 3 bills via ibanking) bonus interest 0.6%, base interest of up to 0.4%.

haoKRR

All of the items you listed can be charged to credit card (earn reward/rebate) instead of other means eg ibanking or giro (dun earn reward/rebate). If everything included there should not be any issue for you and your wife to accumulate at least $500 spending per month? If so, you can consider to apply for boc family card and supplementary card for your wife
http://mp.weixin.qq.com/s?__biz=MzA...&idx=1&sn=6a984dd8298ed6c090bcf976f90b5bc4#rd
to good rebate of 7% for dining, 5% for groceries, 5% for nets flashpay atu, 5% for selected merchants etc.

Furthermore, you can consider applying for boc smartsaver account to get up to 3.55% interest. Card spending of at least $500 gives bonus interest of 1.55%, together with salary crediting bonus interest 1%, bill payment (can easily pay a few dollars to 3 bills via ibanking) bonus interest 0.6%, base interest of up to 0.4%.

kinda think of it, quite true leh.. Yeah, asking my HR if they do crediting.
Anyway, thanks for the detailed explaination

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.