Pls recommend ground coffee powder.

shodan99

Btw, this product ingredients is 50% coffee powder, 50% (maize, sugar and margarine). No wonder it is only 10$ per kg... cheapest coffee bean is around 25-30$/kg. what you can expect from coffee powder with main ingredient only 50%?
See from here: https://www.coffeehock.com.sg/products/2898-coffee-mixture?variant=52088356503712

Yes, kopitiam use this with sock. But you need to see the amount of coffee they used per cup. It is way more than just 1 small sachet. Some more the kopi maker will extract it few times.
how can this product rated A? in the ingredient list is already 50% maize, sugar, margarine. It really blows my mind!

shodan99

If the coffee beans appear very oily, then to me the most likely roasted with margarine (NOT BUTTER)!

Old liao, better avoid these kind of margarine-roasted coffee, else easy get heart-attack and stroke... Old people better avoid!

From what I see and searched before, only Robert Timms brand has pure 100% coffee bags, the rest of the brands are all margarine roasted!

End up if I need to go overseas to places where I may not get machine-made coffee (not 3-in-1 type), I just grind the 100% pure coffee beans at home and put in those food-safe tea/coffee filter bags to bring overseas.
usually for me, if the roasted bean clump together and black in colour, then likely its roasted with margarine, sugar. Cos the end product its like making candy. the roaster will need to break it up into smaller pieces for sale.

When I buy my beans, i always avoid. Just buy what they call bai kafei. (white coffee). Can see that the beans are separate, whole, dry and matte in appearance. This is an indication that no additional ingredients were added during the roasting process

DragonFire

how can this product rated A? in the ingredient list is already 50% maize, sugar, margarine. It really blows my mind!
Historically coffee was not always in good supply and fillers like corn cobs, and subsitutes like chicory root were used.

Chicory in particular was a primary ingredient of “coffee” in WW2 and is infamously known as a major component of “Navy” coffee.

Nowadays they make a comeback because of sensitive budgets.

DF wagers that with the impending fertilizer crisis we may be on the cusp of returning to the days of luxury product scarcity.

DragonFire

usually for me, if the roasted bean clump together and black in colour, then likely its roasted with margarine, sugar. Cos the end product its like making candy. the roaster will need to break it up into smaller pieces for sale.

When I buy my beans, i always avoid. Just buy what they call bai kafei. (white coffee). Can see that the beans are separate, whole, dry and matte in appearance. This is an indication that no additional ingredients were added during the roasting process
I do enjoy vietnamese roast tho. Definitely addled. I have an old Hario grinder I use for those beans since they be sticky and oily. Absolutely needs a teardown after use

iammole

Recently found Poon Huat also sell coffee beans. Got Light roast and Dark roast.

I find their Dark roast smells so much nicer.

1kg = $23.10 (beans, not grounded)

cpuer

bro, my Illy is finishing soon, how is Suzuki Colombian Supremo ah? about $8 per 200gm

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.