Can I try?

Milo-Dino's starter pack pick
GP Hotels 17lots @0.255 ($4335)
Maxi-cash 10lots @0.465 ($4650)
Broadway 17lots @0.235 ($3995)

Total $12980 This one can??

GP Hotels + Maxi-cash.... all Koh Family... hope for more bonus shares to come lol..

Broadway... half of NAV... anticipating either a privatisation offer or a boost once Armstrong delists.

If cannot.... then:
Wheelock 7lots @ $1.83 ($12810)

Wheelock... waiting for privatisation

huat ahhh

teckgamer

There are a lot of different portfolios combination.
If possible could you guys list out the reason for choosing the stock?
Therefore, it would not be a random speculation on which stock would provide the best growth.

Milo-Dino

There are a lot of different portfolios combination.
If possible could you guys list out the reason for choosing the stock?
Therefore, it would not be a random speculation on which stock would provide the best growth.
added
hahaha

hope n pray analysis lol

Seannie

Hmm does that mean my picks also kena rejected? My reasons for my picks based entirely on insider news but dunno accurate or not. Must be sensible picks based totally on fundamentals mah? In that case I wanna change to Stats Chippac, Kris Energy etc. Need to do research before can submit next week, if I can make it within the stipulated timeline. So, this contest in this thread still valid?

antonpoh

Hmm does that mean my picks also kena rejected? My reasons for my picks based entirely on insider news but dunno accurate or not. Must be sensible picks based totally on fundamentals mah? In that case I wanna change to Stats Chippac, Kris Energy etc. Need to do research before can submit next week, if I can make it within the stipulated timeline. So, this contest in this thread still valid?

Not rejected. As long you can explain why. We shall see how it perform next year. Maybe it could work. :s8:

EmPtYsOuLz

If the interest of the startup investor is for long term capital gain (rather than dividend), would it be more worthwhile to focus on a small portfolio consisting of mid cap counters with an occasional blue chip and avoiding REITs entirely?

Some-one

If the interest of the startup investor is for long term capital gain (rather than dividend), would it be more worthwhile to focus on a small portfolio consisting of mid cap counters with an occasional blue chip and avoiding REITs entirely?
My opinion is that for a startup investor, it is best to just focus on blue chips. If you want capital gain, it is best to just buy it during recession. At the current moment, capital gain would be minimal.

Milo-Dino

My opinion is that for a startup investor, it is best to just focus on blue chips. If you want capital gain, it is best to just buy it during recession. At the current moment, capital gain would be minimal.
u buy blue chip now... recession will die jialat jialat also la...

The best is pick undervalued assets which chance of privatization... If recession hits, there's at least a chance the majority shareholder will privatize if the stock becomes cheap

Some-one

The best is pick undervalued assets which chance of privatization... If recession hits, there's at least a chance the majority shareholder will privatize if the stock becomes cheap
Not only blue chip. During recession, all would be hit but after the recession resides, blue chip would recover faster than others which is what the person want - capital gain. In any case, no one would know when is the recession. For me, I think the market is toppish and it is not wise to buy anything now.

nauhchop

Market crash every stock down together.
But market recover not every stock up together.

However on a lighter note, one can go for those like $0.005 cents share. Market drop if company still exists, there is no lower it can go liao.:s13:

antonpoh

Yup, that's like what i was thinking too. That's why i pick these, avoiding REITS for now.

Anton Starter Fund of 13k

5 lots Cordlife - $1.115 ($5575)
5 lots China Fishery - $0.375 ($1875)
40 lots Freight Links - $0.134 ($5360) - up 5.9% already in just 2 days.

So total amount use: $12,810

For 2011 and 2012 Freight Link's total revenue have double yoy.
Think they're giving dividend soon.. could be around half a cent ba.

chopra

more of how to find undervalued assets.

Milo-Dino

Not only blue chip. During recession, all would be hit but after the recession resides, blue chip would recover faster than others which is what the person want - capital gain. In any case, no one would know when is the recession. For me, I think the market is toppish and it is not wise to buy anything now.
i know what you mean... but u must remember the time frame here is 1year...

the market aint going crash and recover sufficiently within that 1 year..

Seannie

Market crash every stock down together.
But market recover not every stock up together.

However on a lighter note, one can go for those like $0.005 cents share. Market drop if company still exists, there is no lower it can go liao.:s13:

U sure or not? Later recession market crash the $0.005 company won't be able to find new investors to RTO then the shareholders die jialat jialat. Kena delisted then if lucky I get back my share in the firm of share certificate, frame it up hang it on the wall :(

Seannie

Now is quite an uncertain time...maybe 13K to buy a rolax will be better

Wah splurge 13k on rolax? That's financially unsound wor. No resale or investment value. Put in bank don touch it I still can get $13 interest a year? Keep saving more $ then splurge on cheap stocks when the next crisis come in 2016? Now is 2013 gg 2014 just need to wait another 2-3 yrs time to haut arr!

ahboy82

i would put all in FD and wait.....

patience is a skill to be learned.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.