Primary School Question

bujingyun82

Does using hanyu Pinyin make Chinese easier? If I'm a Chinese language teacher, implementing hanyu Pinyin means I can throw in any word as I wish, as long the kids can pronounce. Just think about how allowing calculator 'seems' to make Math easier..

i think it weakens the overall command of the language. My kid only recognises hanyu pinyin, doesn’t really recognise much of the Chinese characters.

Clazav

i think it weakens the overall command of the language. My kid only recognises hanyu pinyin, doesn’t really recognise much of the Chinese characters.
Ok then it is not that hanyu Pinyin made Chinese easier. But rather Chinese ability among students has become so poor that hanyu Pinyin is a strategy to salvage it.

katenash

I

Of course I understand the story line as : Her alumni school is popular but can get a place under 2A1; school she teach is super popular with high chance of ballot (or even no chance to ballot) on 2A2.

But what I don’t understand is your logic (not in current school balloting circumstances) and that’s why I suspect you talking about one same school.

Anyway, I suspect we might have gone to the same primary school because many of my schoolmates were full of themselves, even at that young age !
I also thought he/she misunderstood that it’s the same school from the way he/she responded. Anyway, I find explaining to people who deliberately misdirect the original intent of the reply to another very unproductive. Either they have a problem comprehending people’s explanation or they try too hard to distort people’s explanation into an argument to cover up their ignorance.

One mistake can say ‘many mistakes’. And it’s not like I didn’t admit I made a mistake. This kind of people really insecure. Want to cover their own ignorance so quickly accuse others of being ignorant and wrong. The only reason I made that mistake was because the last time I was involved in that stage was 8 or 9 years ago. And I am not interested in googling just to make sure my ‘story’ fits into my ‘argument’ - if it’s even an argument to begin with. I don’t even bother to point out all the flaws in his/her arguments lor.

I also thought he/she misunderstood that it’s the same school from the way he/she responded. Anyway, I find explaining to people who deliberately misdirect the original intent of the reply to another very unproductive. Either they have a problem comprehending people’s explanation or they try too hard to distort people’s explanation into an argument to cover up their ignorance.

One mistake can say ‘many mistakes’. And it’s not like I didn’t admit I made a mistake. This kind of people really insecure. Want to cover their own ignorance so quickly accuse others of being ignorant and wrong. The only reason I made that mistake was because the last time I was involved in that stage was 8 or 9 years ago. And I am not interested in googling just to make sure my ‘story’ fits into my ‘argument’ - if it’s even an argument to begin with. I don’t even bother to point out all the flaws in his/her arguments lor.
I (and ****er88) am the only one who knew that it is different schools. It’s the person you just replied to, that did not know it was two different schools and I even explained to him that it is two different schools. But nice try trying to save your face. Esp. After bringing up irrelevant stories to elucidate whatever pointless point it was that you had.

katenash

aiya, so confusing, ask the minister to rename those not popular to nanyang east primary, nanyang north primary and so on.

do the same for ACS north south east west primary. Make all primary popular again with popular school name!
Lol! Your suggestion was raised by someone else in another forum probably 9 or 10 years ago! The poster also used nanyang north south east west. Don’t tell me you are the same poster.

Another poster countered it with the fact that it’s popular due to its ‘rarity’. If you have NSEW, then it wouldn’t be popular already.

katenash

I (and ****er88) am the only one who knew that it is different schools. It’s the person you just replied to, that did not know it was two different schools and I even explained to him that it is two different schools. But nice try trying to save your face. Esp. After bringing up irrelevant stories to elucidate whatever pointless point it was that you had.
Hello, this is a forum. Everyone is faceless. And I don’t need you to save my face. If messages on a forum can make you lose face, it says a lot about your level of self-esteem. I don’t even care if you want to say that what I say is a pack of lies. This is the only forum I ever read that people accuse others of lying. It’s hilarious. Got so pathetic until need to come to a forum to lie? Usually liars are quick to accuse others of lying to cover up their own lies.

katenash

So what do you think changed then and now? Why are you so dramatic about the difficulties? Is it because you did not excel in the system during your time? If anything, didn’t MOE make exams easier now than the students born in the 80s and 90s? They even made Chinese easier, can use hanyu pinyin, and now primary school no exams in the Mid year from 2023!! If anything standards are being relaxed because parents feel indignant that their kids study so hard, but still have to compete with Pinoy and Tiong grads. So to justify their continued foreigner import, they have to make the curriculum lower standard. Last time where got no mid year exams this sort of thing?!!
If you have ever been a parent yourself, you would have made enough parent-friends who complain that the primary school standard has become dramatically different. You can always go try out the psle questions posted by the indignant parents every year to see if those questions are really befitting of an average 12-year-old. Even adults complain that they have difficulty solving and acing psle exams in all subjects, that’s why the tuition industry is indispensable. Parents complain that tuition is expensive, yet they can’t do without it.

Have you ever wondered why mid year exams are removed? It’s precisely it’s become too stressful that this comes about. Do you know many parents are not delighted that mid year exams are removed? Do you know what happens in school and at home when mid year exams are removed? I bet you don’t understand the implications behind the removal of mid year exams.

You have a lot of theories about the education system. Unfortunately, they do not translate to practical knowledge.

Hello, this is a forum. Everyone is faceless. And I don’t need you to save my face. If messages on a forum can make you lose face, it says a lot about your level of self-esteem. I don’t even care if you want to say that what I say is a pack of lies. This is the only forum I ever read that people accuse others of lying. It’s hilarious. Got so pathetic until need to come to a forum to lie? Usually liars are quick to accuse others of lying to cover up their own lies.
Think everyone has seen enough of your drama mama theatrics of how you and your kids generations HAVE IT SO HARD compared to us and how without going to a top sec school, someone is doomed yet we are supposed to think the world of “Chong Fu”. blah blah. You don’t even have any empirical proof of it. If anything MOE has been relaxing all its standards compared to our time, Chinese is far from the only one area that’s relaxed, the whole exam system and teaching pedagogy is relaxed with them trying hard to adopt and copy ang moh culture and cater to the strawberry gen, where do you think skipping the O level in the IP program is from. Whatever lah.

䏣炆玧示老太

If you have ever been a parent yourself, you would have made enough parent-friends who complain that the primary school standard has become dramatically different. You can always go try out the psle questions posted by the indignant parents every year to see if those questions are really befitting of an average 12-year-old. Even adults complain that they have difficulty solving and acing psle exams in all subjects, that’s why the tuition industry is indispensable. Parents complain that tuition is expensive, yet they can’t do without it.

Have you ever wondered why mid year exams are removed? It’s precisely it’s become too stressful that this comes about. Do you know many parents are not delighted that mid year exams are removed? Do you know what happens in school and at home when mid year exams are removed? I bet you don’t understand the implications behind the removal of mid year exams.

You have a lot of theories about the education system. Unfortunately, they do not translate to practical knowledge.
Who said mid year exam removed?

katenash

Think everyone has seen enough of your drama mama theatrics of how you and your kids generations HAVE IT SO HARD compared to us blah blah. You don’t even have any empirical proof of it. If anything MOE has been relaxing all its standards compared to our time, Chinese is far from the only one area that’s relaxed, the whole exam system and teaching pedagogy is relaxed with them trying hard to adopt and copy ang moh culture and cater to the strawberry gen, where do you think skipping the O level in the IP program is from. Whatever lah.
Why must you always drag ‘everyone’ into the picture? From what I read, ‘everyone’ thinks your claims are not credible and ‘everyone’ thinks you don’t know what you are talking about. From your responses so far, I can safely conclude that you have NPD. Very narcissistic. A lot of gaslighting. Very boastful and arrogant when there’s nothing to be proud of except empty knowledge. Always like to dig out stats to ‘support’ own arguments. Scared that their ignorance is exposed. I wished I could ask you to go seek therapy but people with NPD will never admit they are in the wrong or have problems. I feel sorry for you because people with NPD will never be at peace with themselves or people around them. Oh, another trait is they like to argue for the sake of arguing and they must always win, no matter what the topic is. It’s a good thing you don’t have kids as evident from your lack of knowledge of the education system.

katenash

what are these?
Well, people say I am completely out of touch with the education system. I am sure those who say so will be able to tell you.

They are just replacements of your CA1 SA1 CA2 SA2 lah. Like what you said, change soup don’t change medicine. But teachers have more work to do and parents are stressed with more assessments every other week compared to the can-relax-for-weeks-before-the-test-or-exam system. Many parents wished the 4-assessment system could be back. So when it comes to the education system, it’s really be-careful-what-you-wish-for.

NiShiZhu

Now look who’s talking. You were the one who said going to a chao ah beng sec sch will get you to JC and then uni anyway. I am telling you while that works 20 years ago, it doesn’t work now.

I didn’t say going to uni via other pathways is not possible. You were the one who talked about the JC pathway only. And you were saying it’s totally possible to go to a lousy sec sch and then a jc. I am telling you it’s very difficult now while it was common 20 years ago.
Don’t understand what drama u trying to create here. Some students go Chao ah Beng sec school and they started to mature, wake up their idea and decided to work hard and went thru JC route, and what’s wrong with that? There are also several similar cases in today’s context. What crap do u mean it doesn’t work now?
Sounds like a sweeping statement obviously.

NiShiZhu

what are these?
Now is WA1-WA4, aka weighted assessment per term. Education landscape had changed quite alot in sec school. Sec 1 and 3 no more mid year exam. Only SA2. While sec 2 is streaming year, some schools are also trying to do away with mid year exam soon.

Most schools now embarked on full SBB. Aka mixed stream, where they mixed exp, NA and NT students in same class. Some NA/NT students were offered out of stream subjects if they did well. So a NA students could take up to 3O level subjects which put them at a advantage of going poly directly without going thru sec 5.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.