Primary School Question

actually I'm not sure about 2A1 and 2A2 difference but if that teacher could plan that way it must be statistically advantageous for her to hedge against losing 2A1 ballot
for my son he never even did parent volunteer he just went ahead to 2C ballot and got my eldest grandson in,after all it's simply all by luck isn't it?
its 2A2 apparently that this “teacher” had to ballot, not 2A1. Anyway why are we still discussing this pointless fictional case study?

Ah gong so what school did your eldest grandson get into?

Who said mid year exam removed?
It’s in the news. From 2023, I said. That drama histrionics creator who didn’t excel in the system him/herself clearly knew the same piece of news, as he/she responded to my post bringing it up. Yet the annoying reply to you about it. We should all ignore that drama queen trolling about the tragic difficulties of scaling the SG education system. Got $$ go local (fake) international school but still stuck in SG, go abroad lor

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-and-secondary-school-students-from-next-year

1) it's not my friend but @katenash who had posted it. 2) I'm trying to point out why a teacher might've selected her alma mater over the school she's teaching. 3) Obviously as @Oftheseas said, you don't seem to understand that if phase 2a1 is filled, there is no ballot for phase 2a2. 4) I live in a property 1km from St Nicks, so spare me the explanation on my ability to understand stats. 5) again your ignorance that teachers have priority in pri 1 registration for their kids show your lack of understanding on why this was implemented 6) please speak to your mp and if indeed your words are worth anything, share a screenshot of your mp's reply. In fact while you are it ask your mp why do RC grassroot leaders get priority for BTO application.
I thought I was replying to that Kate Nash person, not you, so my entire post was tailored to her, including the “splitting hairs”, “inability to understand stats”, etc.

䏣炆玧示老太

its 2A2 apparently that this “teacher” had to ballot, not 2A1. Anyway why are we still discussing this pointless fictional case study?

Ah gong so what school did your eldest grandson get into?
My eldest grandson got into hongwen school by phase2C ballot. His younger brother sister just followed in phase1

䏣炆玧示老太

Now is WA1-WA4, aka weighted assessment per term. Education landscape had changed quite alot in sec school. Sec 1 and 3 no more mid year exam. Only SA2. While sec 2 is streaming year, some schools are also trying to do away with mid year exam soon.

Most schools now embarked on full SBB. Aka mixed stream, where they mixed exp, NA and NT students in same class. Some NA/NT students were offered out of stream subjects if they did well. So a NA students could take up to 3O level subjects which put them at a advantage of going poly directly without going thru sec 5.
If the target is to get into sec sch SBB then bridge on to Poly then after that Uni……..then of course don’t even need to bother about whichever primary school 1km radius lar right? :s8: :s8: 一不做二不休嘛!

NiShiZhu

If the target is to get into sec sch SBB then bridge on to Poly then after that Uni……..then of course don’t even need to bother about whichever primary school 1km radius lar right? :s8: :s8: 一不做二不休嘛!

if we r talking about the mass in general, that’s basically the intention of moe to at least push most students to achieve tertiary education (poly) at least. But of coz most kiasu parents will think their kids can perform like Lambo and thus, start making early preparation for their kids to enter the best primary school. But the qns is, how many kids can perform like Lambo? Both my niece are enrolled in popular pri schools but in the end they also end up in normal sec schools.

The whole idea of full SBB is to let students learn at their own pace (esp subjects they r good at) and creating multiple pathways to cater to the different strengths and interests of sec students. Eg some NA students may be weak in language subjects but strong in math, so they can take O level math and increase their chance to poly as the grade conversion from O to NA will give them the advantage. That’s y some NA students when reach sec 4 can use their N level results to apply for poly foundation programme, whether they can go Uni really depends on how they perform in poly. Whereas for Exp students, more and more also began to take the poly route (not becoz they can’t qualify for JC) but because poly admission to uni vacancy has increased. Unlike in the past, poly to uni only accept top 5% COM holder in poly.
So if u r an average performer and want to play safe, u go poly still get a diploma. If u go JC and u flunked, u only get A level cert which is as good as O level cert. thus, Not many express students want to take that risk, Last time was different, the usual route to uni is JC. So if I want to target uni, I have to work very hard in sec school to get into JC before I stand a chance to get into uni. Now is different, poly admission to uni is getting more common.

That said, I see this system benefitted mostly the NA, and partly the Exp students, not so much for NT students coz their route is still ITE. But heard ite also trying to slowly do away with Nitec courses and offer 3 year higher Nitec instead.

bolster

if we r talking about the mass in general, that’s basically the intention of moe to at least push most students to achieve tertiary education (poly) at least. But of coz most kiasu parents will think their kids can perform like Lambo and thus, start making early preparation for their kids to enter the best primary school. But the qns is, how many kids can perform like Lambo? Both my niece are enrolled in popular pri schools but in the end they also end up in normal sec schools.

The whole idea of full SBB is to let students learn at their own pace (esp subjects they r good at) and creating multiple pathways to cater to the different strengths and interests of sec students. Eg some NA students may be weak in language subjects but strong in math, so they can take O level math and increase their chance to poly as the grade conversion from O to NA will give them the advantage. That’s y some NA students when reach sec 4 can use their N level results to apply for poly foundation programme, whether they can go Uni really depends on how they perform in poly. Whereas for Exp students, more and more also began to take the poly route (not becoz they can’t qualify for JC) but because poly admission to uni vacancy has increased. Unlike in the past, poly to uni only accept top 5% COM holder in poly.
So if u r an average performer and want to play safe, u go poly still get a diploma. If u go JC and u flunked, u only get A level cert which is as good as O level cert. thus, Not many express students want to take that risk, Last time was different, the usual route to uni is JC. So if I want to target uni, I have to work very hard in sec school to get into JC before I stand a chance to get into uni. Now is different, poly admission to uni is getting more common.

That said, I see this system benefitted mostly the NA, and partly the Exp students, not so much for NT students coz their route is still ITE. But heard ite also trying to slowly do away with Nitec courses and offer 3 year higher Nitec instead.

tiagong more than 50% of the SME bosses are from ITE or PSLE only hor.

car workshop, cafe, SPA, and many more hor.

marshmallow96

Her story is about how her teacher friend was able to apply at her own alma mater at 2A1 and apply at the school she works at 2A2 and chose to apply and accept the 2A1 offer. Not sure how her case is special from parents who are deciding at 2A1, 2B and 2C.
To enroll a child in a school that your friend is teaching in, is phase 2A2, not 2B as per your story so your story does not check out. 2B is Parent volunteer/Church association.

The likelihood of being out-balloted in 2AB in the pre-merger days is close to zero. Teacher would know who are the other teachers who are also applying for 2AB since in any primary school the number of teachers that happen to have children that are enrolling in the same year is limited to a small number.

You said in your previous post that likelihood of being balloted out in 2AB (sic) premerger is closed to zero. I was just providing information that plenty of schools went into balloting for 2A2. Anyway many schools also balloting in 2B all these whiles

marshmallow96

Does using hanyu Pinyin make Chinese easier? If I'm a Chinese language teacher, implementing hanyu Pinyin means I can throw in any word as I wish, as long the kids can pronounce. Just think about how allowing calculator 'seems' to make Math easier..
From many parents and teachers I know, hypy actually made it even more difficult to learn Chinese cos it kinda disconnect the words and the pronunciation, the language doesn't make sense anymore. Many kids hate hypy, know a number who actually do better in Chinese after hypy in upper primary, or when parents noticed the problem early so able to teach the kids without the hypy

marshmallow96

Ok then it is not that hanyu Pinyin made Chinese easier. But rather Chinese ability among students has become so poor that hanyu Pinyin is a strategy to salvage it.
it's probably less stressful for everyone to just make mother tongue as a non-graded subject, so the curriculum can make the language fun and actually make the kids interested. I don't see why many people have to spend a disproportionate amount of energy to force to make Chinese/mother tongue "works". Can't we just accept that our Chinese sucks and do real work to help people like the language :o

But but but... Remember last time when the ex education minister made a comment on removing Chinese from PSLE, the backlash he got? The parents on one hand complain Chinese is difficult etc, on the other hand objected it to be removed from one of the most important exams :o

marshmallow96

They change name don’t change nature
Call it CA1 SA1 CA 2 SA2 but still are 4 exams after all.
On paper MOE said it would be removed gradually (like someone pointed out), but some schools still have many "weighed assessment" etc thing you mentioned. :o Anyway the current P6 batch is the last batch that has all mid years + final year exams since P1

Has it occurred to you that if X placed his child in a top GEP primary school, the child would be so groomed by the school and eventually ends up in MIT, on a full ride scholarship and eventually help advance mankind by innovating something, just because X did not buy a property within 1km to get his child into the primary school, that same child today is in Poly instead and stopped there? :s13:

I am not saying this is the case but I think this is what many parents (and some grandparents) believe.

They think what separates their child from legendary greatness is something they can control and game, and as long as they put in the painstaking efforts to do it, the child is gonna become all that.

last time go RWS casino, I was playing black jack with the smallest denomination chip $25. The young ah Beng with gim gim necklace beside me was using 1k chip. Chit chat with him abit he do 2nd hand car dealership. 行行出状元。
I think theoretically, all (especially Asian) parents know that 行行出状元, but have their own preconceived set notions of what are good professions and life outcomes they dream for their children. This is why when I mentioned got those property agents boss one year earn $5-8 million, 䏣炆玧示老太 reply me then you ask your kids to do those jobs lor.

Guys how is the opinion on Fairfield primary? Apparently its one of the most high in demand? Why? Its psle scores, cca record and alumni not very impressive

it's probably less stressful for everyone to just make mother tongue as a non-graded subject, so the curriculum can make the language fun and actually make the kids interested. I don't see why many people have to spend a disproportionate amount of energy to force to make Chinese/mother tongue "works". Can't we just accept that our Chinese sucks and do real work to help people like the language :o

But but but... Remember last time when the ex education minister made a comment on removing Chinese from PSLE, the backlash he got? The parents on one hand complain Chinese is difficult etc, on the other hand objected it to be removed from one of the most important exams :o
Cuz they know that the language itself lacks charisma, fun and appeal. And also lack the weight of strong pop culture. They know Chinese cannot make it on its own and once the compulsory factor of forcing people is removed, it would completely crumble like a deck of cards. They know all this deep down, hence the “backlash” and “objections” removing it.

Their behavior towards it is a screaming admission.

Guys how is the opinion on Fairfield primary? Apparently its one of the most high in demand? Why? Its psle scores, cca record and alumni not very impressive
A lot of schools can also described as PSLE scores, cca record and alumni not impressive but nowadays due to parents’ kiasu-ness, such ordinariness can also be elevated to esteemed status through people’s desperation. They see, part of the Methodist family of school, that ish a branding, anyway the curriculum is taught by MOE teachers deployed by MOE (independent schools however employ their own teachers), same same everywhere, they think also going to the school their children would be ang moh pai, more likely to speak English proficiently (for kids from Chinese speaking families, choice of pop culture subscriptions is the main source of English proficiency). So they think not bad lor.

Ordinary PSLE results. Ordinary alumni. You can say this same statement on PLMGS, Geylang Methodist, all the CHIJ schools except St Nick

A lot of schools can also described as PSLE scores, cca record and alumni not impressive but nowadays due to parents’ kiasu-ness, such ordinariness can also be elevated to esteemed status through people’s desperation. They see, part of the Methodist family of school, that ish a branding, anyway the curriculum is taught by MOE teachers deployed by MOE (independent schools however employ their own teachers), same same everywhere, they think also going to the school their children would be ang moh pai, more likely to speak English proficiently (for kids from Chinese speaking families, choice of pop culture subscriptions is the main source of English proficiency). So they think not bad lor.

Ordinary PSLE results. Ordinary alumni. You can say this same statement on PLMGS, Geylang Methodist, all the CHIJ schools except St Nick
I also see plmgs, geylang methodist and most ij schs no up also. Ij a lot of them damn attention seeking or becomes whores.

Just wondering if I'm missing something.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.