Primary School Question

sk0065

Put it simply - no need to restart grl work.

just find the mp at the new place, tell him your exact situation and ask if he put u into a rc/nc as EM soon.

then quit one join and join the other side for the uninterrupted service.

Even within 1km… ballot in first then talk.

anyway opinion can change once the child is in the school. examples (both neighbourhood schools btw):

Friend A lost ballot to a popular school downstairs and went to a neighbourhood school further away in 2CS. Now Friend A likes the school and consider to move nearer.

Friend B’s child entered a neighbourhood school without ballot. Word of mouth was ok but once the child is in, Friend B realised the school is super disorganised and Friend B got annoyed on a daily basis. Friend B was already hunting for a bigger home, at first was looking around the child’s school. Now that Friend B is unhappy with the school, suddenly whole Singapore becomes possible location as they don’t mind moving the child to another school anytime.
Anyway why we waste our time on this when I doubt the OP can afford to move to a decent landed now. OP already has a child due enter Primary 1 means OP at least in mid 30s if not older. OP only has a paid up resale HDB which on average at most, for averages I put it at $550k. OP needs at least S$2 million on the side to put down. If we say maybe OP salary is very high, just put down $600k. This means with OP's salary, OP needs to work until 70 to pay it off. How do we know OP's salary? If OP is a high earner, then OP would have amassed $2 to $3 million in cash and more liquid assets since purchasing the resale HDB. If OP had not, means the salary not there.

Some more now the entry price has gone up so much.

I have the data on hand. The numbers you mentioned above are total live births. For school balloting, only citizen birth rate matters (cos usually popular schools will be balloting within 1km for SG citizens only). Citizen birth number not reported in news all the time, but you can find the number from the annual population report :o
If what you say is true, so sinkie citizen and even non citizen birth rate is in no danger of falling. So the gov is once again caught spreading propaganda about “low fertility” replacement rate using the mainstream media, to justify the continual import of foreigners.

holasingapura

Relax all... in the next 20 years, those in their 70s, 80s & 90s, who own a sizeable portion of landed properties will rise to the heavens. And their properties will be on the market.

momoeagle

If what you say is true, so sinkie citizen and even non citizen birth rate is in no danger of falling. So the gov is once again caught spreading propaganda about “low fertility” replacement rate using the mainstream media, to justify the continual import of foreigners.
Since 2003, the number of resident live births have hovered between 34k to 36k, and total live births between 38k to 42k. Relatively constant, fluctuating around these numbers. The decline was significant from pre 2003 only.

But the total fertility rate went from 1.27 to 1.12 between 2003 and 2021.

Data from Singstat

Relax all... in the next 20 years, those in their 70s, 80s & 90s, who own a sizeable portion of landed properties will rise to the heavens. And their properties will be on the market.
Wouldn’t the properties just be passed down to the Jiakliaobee children? Many of the children don’t have the required careers or annual income to even do any major refurbishment or remodeling to make the house liveable, let alone rebuild.

Since 2003, the number of resident live births have hovered between 34k to 36k, and total live births between 38k to 42k. Relatively constant, fluctuating around these numbers. The decline was significant from pre 2003 only.

Data from Singstat
Interesting. What changed from 2003?? The only thing major I see is when pinky took power in 2005 and once he did, he immediately started aggressively importing foreigners.

i just dun understand. If the parents prior to 2003, who are alumni of popular primary school didn’t need to ballot for alumni category, why after 2003 when population decline parents who are alumni have to ballot? Did they shrink the number of spaces?

anyway if we can’t get a place as alumni we would be so pissed off my partner would definitely immediately leave SG :s13: and move back to amdk land which we lived in before

Clazav

What sch are you aiming? Just buy a bigger home within 1km of your preferred school now lah

I am not that bothered to get my kids into super popular primary schools because at the end of the day, it’s the child’s abilities and not the school. You can go to Rosyth and end up in some shite secondary school. So why bother? I do not think if you go look at the data of students in top secondary schools you find there are more students from top primary schools except in the case of those full schools that give affiliated primary school discount entry
Schools provide a place for social interaction for children. I personally think it is always on the safer side to go to a better school. End of the day whether the kid turns out well or not is hard to say but at least as parents, you have already tried your best within your means.

marshmallow96

i originally didnt care about good schools all that, just went with whats convenient. End up feel 'the' neighbourhood school selected dont feel so good environment somehow. Sorry, but when my primary kid told me he was "lepak" with some friends in quiet area of multistory carpark i kinda omg moment.

i mean i advocate independence & social, so i do give alot of freedom.. in that sense i appreciate my kid has the street-smarts but growing up years can be worrying. but in that case i feel then that both school & house environment matters alot.
Understand what you mean… even among neighbourhood schools, there are more popular and less popular ones. If one stays in the area long enough will roughly know why. For me I think I’m ok for my son to face Ah Bengs in sec school, but I’m not ok with this kind of environment for primary school.

Actually most parents I know don’t chase grades or academic results. They are more concerned about the environment, demographic and school culture etc

Clazav

when they enter still need to wait till p3 before can move out hor...
Yes true. I could get in using earlier phase but I'm staying near to the primary school just in case Moe decides to change the policy. If policy didn't change and I didnt use distance to get in, then I don't have to wait till p3 to move

holasingapura

Wouldn’t the properties just be passed down to the Jiakliaobee children? Many of the children don’t have the required careers or annual income to even do any major refurbishment or remodeling to make the house liveable, let alone rebuild.
The children will need to sell the house if they want to split the inheritance. If jiakliaobee, all the more they want to sell fast and get the money.

If single child, could be possible to sell his hdb/condo and do a&a / rebuilt.

Understand what you mean… even among neighbourhood schools, there are more popular and less popular ones. If one stays in the area long enough will roughly know why. For me I think I’m ok for my son to face Ah Bengs in sec school, but I’m not ok with this kind of environment for primary school.

Actually most parents I know don’t chase grades or academic results. They are more concerned about the environment, demographic and school culture etc
Why is this environment more acceptable for secondary school? I think it’s worse.

Someone in another forum mentioned the Downtown East gang fight murder, and I went to Google the victim who was in the gang. At the time he was killed he was in Poly, but interestingly, media at the time reported he was in Rosyth Primary a TOP PRIMARY
SCHOOL probably the most popular one :s13: Look at how his parents spent so much effort to get him in, they probably did all this big show and dance, maybe even moved house and do PV in Rosyth . Really sad for the parents and go to show the Primary school does not mean squat.

After Rosyth he must gone to a crappy neighborhood full of hooligans. So the secondary school is the one that we have to be careful about
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_Darren_Ng_Wei_Jie

Bam25th

Same with HDBs, all those boomers with HDB while their kids all BTO-ed. So, housing market will crash with excessive resale houses on the market from those boomers moving on….

Yes true. I could get in using earlier phase but I'm staying near to the primary school just in case Moe decides to change the policy. If policy didn't change and I didnt use distance to get in, then I don't have to wait till p3 to move
How does this work bro? Can share your strategy? So you’re owning one and renting another property? What do you mean by no need to use distance?

marshmallow96

Anyway why we waste our time on this when I doubt the OP can afford to move to a decent landed now. OP already has a child due enter Primary 1 means OP at least in mid 30s if not older. OP only has a paid up resale HDB which on average at most, for averages I put it at $550k. OP needs at least S$2 million on the side to put down. If we say maybe OP salary is very high, just put down $600k. This means with OP's salary, OP needs to work until 70 to pay it off. How do we know OP's salary? If OP is a high earner, then OP would have amassed $2 to $3 million in cash and more liquid assets since purchasing the resale HDB. If OP had not, means the salary not there.

Some more now the entry price has gone up so much.
lol give benefit of doubt mah maybe TS has the money?

The children will need to sell the house if they want to split the inheritance. If jiakliaobee, all the more they want to sell fast and get the money.

If single child, could be possible to sell his hdb/condo and do a&a / rebuilt.
Single child means lower probability the child has the required earning power to do so. If got 2-3 siblings they could combine resources to do a rebuilt. Not all the siblings could be married with children. Some could be childless or single but still got job.

Clazav

i originally didnt care about good schools all that, just went with whats convenient. End up feel 'the' neighbourhood school selected dont feel so good environment somehow. Sorry, but when my primary kid told me he was "lepak" with some friends in quiet area of multistory carpark i kinda omg moment.

i mean i advocate independence & social, so i do give alot of freedom.. in that sense i appreciate my kid has the street-smarts but growing up years can be worrying. but in that case i feel then that both school & house environment matters alot.
In better schools, the teachers have higher expectation of the children. This gives the students more confidence with themselves. Behind these students, there are many supportive parents who are willing to go all out to ensure their kids excel. Whether supportive parents produce kids who are too dependent is another hot topic to discuss.

marshmallow96

Data from Singstat
Just to add, residents live birth is citizen + PR. Citizen live birth has been around 31-33k in recent years.

2012, 2014-2016 are 33+k
2017-2018 are 32+k
2013 is 31k. Snake years usually have low birth rates.
Haven’t checked after 2019, maybe I should go crunch data when I’m free :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.