Primary School Question

In fact there is an article recently about developed country, US gun incident per capita is the highest. but out of topic.. u r referring to gun+schools.

just saying there are worse issues in schools in developed countries vs sg..
My position is not that US should not improve on gun control legislation. They should definitely improve it, and I have no doubt that they will.

My position is, because I have actually lived there so I know the truth, the incidents are very rare and to actually be involved is extremely extremely extremely extremely rare compared to the problems encountered by Singaporeans. Without having the experience, all you have to go by is literally a blank canvas of nothing except the media broadcasting whatever the politicians want to politick.

I don’t think it’s normal or good at all for parents to express that the whole primary school registration is an ordeal that affects everyone except the ministers. It says a lot about the stress involved. It is not gonna end with the registration.

Relax all... in the next 20 years, those in their 70s, 80s & 90s, who own a sizeable portion of landed properties will rise to the heavens. And their properties will be on the market.
This is a very good point. Brilliant.. currently many people in this age group are the named-owners of many old landed. The total cohort of people by age of the young that can compete with you as buyers is much much smaller than the cohort of boomers and their parents. The odds are in the favor of buyers in the next 10-15 years!

bolster

That’s because students in good schools tend to come from good background. Father/mother got connections or rich parents. Cannot get into top secondary schools then send them to international schools and gun for overseas unis. It’s not because of the good primary schools they attend.

A relative’s son and daughter attend a very neighbourhood school in CCK. They were top students in the school, went to top sec schs. Now the boy is studying Medicine. He even begrudged the father for making him choose a top secondary school. When choosing uni course, he wanted to choose teaching over medicine because he said now he wanted to make his own choice. Then after talking to his sec sch teacher and seeing the salaries earned by doc and teacher, he chose medicine himself.

The family is a humble family with father being the sole breadwinner. Mother is a full time housewife but she was very strict with her kids when it comes to studying. Even her niece who was sent to stay with her for a few months became one of the top students in her own school for psle.

Aiyo, what I mean is, the ratio of students do well in PSLE between the popular and neighbourhood school is significant.

All schools definitely have bright students. But they are only a handful in neighbourhood schools. Example, how many students in Chong Fu or Nanyang primary score AL9 and below? How many doctors or lawyers are from those popular primary school?

The resource, culture and the environment in those popular school, the moral value, play a part in grooming the students. That is why they are popular for a reason.

No doubt there are many ah Beng do well in life, cause they are risk taker, entrepreneur. what about those average students?

smart people will say study does not matter.
rich people will say money does not matter.

You believe those?

katenash

Aiyo, what I mean is, the ratio of students do well in PSLE between the popular and neighbourhood school is significant.

All schools definitely have bright students. But they are only a handful in neighbourhood schools. Example, how many students in Chong Fu or Nanyang primary score AL9 and below? How many doctors or lawyers are from those popular primary school?

The resource, culture and the environment in those popular school, the moral value, play a part in grooming the students. That is why they are popular for a reason.

No doubt there are many ah Beng do well in life, cause they are risk taker, entrepreneur. what about those average students?

You believe those?
I used to think likewise but after years of seeing different kids from different schools becoming what they are, I realised it’s really not the schools but the families themselves.

A girl I know did AL18 for psle last year. But because she lives in Bt Timah, parents would not send her to your neighbourhood gangster schools. She’s now in an international school and 6 years later she will go overseas for her uni no matter how she does at A level. And to be sure, students who get AL18 are actually not very suitable to do A level. But because of her family background (and the fact that she was from a top pri sch in Bt Timah), you would think it’s because she went to that pri sch that made her to be what she is later in life when you meet her at work.

I know of another pri 3 kid who is in another top girls’ school in Bt Timah. Her parents have already planned for her: if she does well, meaning if she goes to a top sec sch, she will complete her O or A level in Sg before going to the UK to do her uni. If she doesn’t do well for psle, meaning can only qualify for neighbourhood schools, they will send her to the UK right after psle.

But if you meet this girl at work in future, you will think: it’s because she went to the top pri school.

If a child wants to turn wayward, there are many reasons for the child to. I no longer believe in ‘if you teach the child well, he will not smoke, tattoo, mix with bad kids’. Some kids, the minority no doubt, will find kids from the other side of the world interesting and cool. They could be intrigued by the no-need-to-study lifestyle of the bengs. They could find themselves too nerdy and uncool so they want to get into the less educated kids’ circle. I know of at least one kid like that. Naturally, the kid degenerated into such a circle and got himself into all sorts of trouble except landing himself in jail. And this kid went to another top school in Bt Timah.

Neighbourhood schools have more families from humble background. That’s why their only route is the conventional pri sch—>sec sch (no matter which one)—>jc or poly—>work or uni. Most families living in flats don’t have the resources for the kids to go international school before going overseas to study.

It’s really the family. Not the school.

䏣炆玧示老太

You believe those?
Money doesn’t matter only forcefield matters

䏣炆玧示老太

I used to think likewise but after years of seeing different kids from different schools becoming what they are, I realised it’s really not the schools but the families themselves.

A girl I know did AL18 for psle last year. But because she lives in Bt Timah, parents would not send her to your neighbourhood gangster schools. She’s now in an international school and 6 years later she will go overseas for her uni no matter how she does at A level. And to be sure, students who get AL18 are actually not very suitable to do A level. But because of her family background (and the fact that she was from a top pri sch in Bt Timah), you would think it’s because she went to that pri sch that made her to be what she is later in life when you meet her at work.

I know of another pri 3 kid who is in another top girls’ school in Bt Timah. Her parents have already planned for her: if she does well, meaning if she goes to a top sec sch, she will complete her O or A level in Sg before going to the UK to do her uni. If she doesn’t do well for psle, meaning can only qualify for neighbourhood schools, they will send her to the UK right after psle.

But if you meet this girl at work in future, you will think: it’s because she went to the top pri school.

If a child wants to turn wayward, there are many reasons for the child to. I no longer believe in ‘if you teach the child well, he will not smoke, tattoo, mix with bad kids’. Some kids, the minority no doubt, will find kids from the other side of the world interesting and cool. They could be intrigued by the no-need-to-study lifestyle of the bengs. They could find themselves too nerdy and uncool so they want to get into the less educated kids’ circle. I know of at least one kid like that. Naturally, the kid degenerated into such a circle and got himself into all sorts of trouble except landing himself in jail. And this kid went to another top school in Bt Timah.

Neighbourhood schools have more families from humble background. That’s why their only route is the conventional pri sch—>sec sch (no matter which one)—>jc or poly—>work or uni. Most families living in flats don’t have the resources for the kids to go international school before going overseas to study.

Exactly it’s the family upbringing 家教 which can’t be taught in schools

CaptainSGP

Agree on this. Plus the merger of phase 2A1 & 2A2 meant that it is no longer possible to ‘buy’ your way into a popular primary school.

The amount of autonomy & peer interaction time given to primary school kids is substantially lower than secondary school & beyond.

Values are mostly not imparted to students via Teachers but family & parents play a much larger role.

bolster

again, I want to emphasis the ratio. Not all students from popular schools are rich. That is the perception. Look at Rulang. Environment and the culture diversify.

marshmallow96

Wow, mind sharing which school? Then what happens to those who paid to be in 2A1??? Are you saying they paid for nothing?
The usual suspects: St Nics, Rosyth, Pei Hwa, Cat High, Nanhua.. Mix and match each year. Ai Tong almost went into 2A1 balloting last year but just nice all applicants from 2A1 filled up the 2A slots.

This is for last year: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/primary-1-registration-phase-2a-ballot-2021-1981101

Ya lor those who got balloted out paid for nothing. This year with the 2A1 and 2A2 merged, all the alumni members have paid already before the announcement

marshmallow96

Agree on this. Plus the merger of phase 2A1 & 2A2 meant that it is no longer possible to ‘buy’ your way into a popular primary school.

The amount of autonomy & peer interaction time given to primary school kids is substantially lower than secondary school & beyond.

Values are mostly not imparted to students via Teachers but family & parents play a much larger role.
It’s actually even more likely to “buy” your way in now, cos with the 2A1 and 2A2 merged, it simply means now home-school distance has become more important than ever. Those with the means can simply move within 1km to secure a place.

Traditionally, 2A1 balloting happened for those residing more than 2km away. So these are the more average Singaporeans who don’t stay in expensive areas like Bukit Timah. I know plenty of HDB dwellers who went into top schools via 2A1. These people can afford to pay a few hundred for the alumni membership, but they won’t be able to afford a house in very prime area.

wanker88

The usual suspects: St Nics, Rosyth, Pei Hwa, Cat High, Nanhua.. Mix and match each year. Ai Tong almost went into 2A1 balloting last year but just nice all applicants from 2A1 filled up the 2A slots.

This is for last year: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/primary-1-registration-phase-2a-ballot-2021-1981101

Ya lor those who got balloted out paid for nothing. This year with the 2A1 and 2A2 merged, all the alumni members have paid already before the announcement
This year Alumni who missed out on Phase 2A will get a second chance at Phase 2C. Since Phase 2C has more spaces allocated. This year Phase 2C competiton for popular schools is going to be insane. I'd expect lots more balloting as you'll have alumni kids also fighting for a spot. But the catch is, for popular schools if you don't live within 1km you aren't going to stand a chance.

wanker88

Relax all... in the next 20 years, those in their 70s, 80s & 90s, who own a sizeable portion of landed properties will rise to the heavens. And their properties will be on the market.
That's correct. But if you are thinking you are going to get a bargain landed property from a deceased estate in future, I say think again.

E.g... a 45 year old buys a freehold inter terrace for $3.5 today and lives there with his family. In 20 years time he passes away and gives the terrace to his 2 kids who will probably in their 30s married with their own families. There is no more mortgage on the property.

1) How much do you think this 2000sqft freehold 2 storey inter terrace will be selling for in 2042?

marshmallow96

This year Alumni who missed out on Phase 2A will get a second chance at Phase 2C. Since Phase 2C has more spaces allocated. This year Phase 2C competiton for popular schools is going to be insane. I'd expect lots more balloting as you'll have alumni kids also fighting for a spot. But the catch is, for popular schools if you don't live within 1km you aren't going to stand a chance.
These popular schools all need to ballot within 1km for Phase 2C, if you don’t stay within 1km, you won’t get a chance at all. But if the alumni already stays within 1km, should be able to get in through 2A quite confidently unless the school is situated in heartland with largely affordable properties around.

momoeagle

That's correct. But if you are thinking you are going to get a bargain landed property from a deceased estate in future, I say think again.

E.g... a 45 year old buys a freehold inter terrace for $3.5 today and lives there with his family. In 20 years time he passes away and gives the terrace to his 2 kids who will probably in their 30s married with their own families. There is no more mortgage on the property.

1) How much do you think this 2000sqft freehold 2 storey inter terrace will be selling for in 2042?
Provided...

SG must survive and prosper at least 20 years more. Govt of the day must not ever be corrupted. Armed forces must be maintained. Crime rate must be on the extreme low side.

All thanks to LKY for setting this right initially. I don't think we will even be discussing this if the above weren't there.

But honestly, buy at 45 yrs old and pass away at 65 yrs, really not much time to enjoy leh.

katenash

again, I want to emphasis the ratio. Not all students from popular schools are rich. That is the perception. Look at Rulang. Environment and the culture diversify.
… hmm … are you saying Rulang is a popular school? If Rulang is a popular school, then many other neighbourhood schools are also popular schools, right? From what I have heard since years ago, Rulang is special in that it’s situated near where NTU lecturers reside as it’s near the NTU campus. So you tend to have highly educated parents who teach their own kids at home.

I am not sure what kind of ‘environment and culture’ you are talking about. Every school emphasises on their own culture but none of the schools would put ‘academic excellence’ as its emphasis. At most, “top schools” emphasise on Chinese values, di zi gui and teamwork.

wanker88

These popular schools all need to ballot within 1km for Phase 2C, if you don’t stay within 1km, you won’t get a chance at all. But if the alumni already stays within 1km, should be able to get in through 2A quite confidently unless the school is situated in heartland with largely affordable properties around.

Ai Tong, CHIJ St Nicks and Catholic High all situated in heartland.

marshmallow96

… hmm … are you saying Rulang is a popular school? If Rulang is a popular school, then many other neighbourhood schools are also popular schools, right? From what I have heard since years ago, Rulang is special in that it’s situated near where NTU lecturers reside as it’s near the NTU campus. So you tend to have highly educated parents who teach their own kids at home.

I am not sure what kind of ‘environment and culture’ you are talking about. Every school emphasises on their own culture but none of the schools would put ‘academic excellence’ as its emphasis. At most, “top schools” emphasise on Chinese values, di zi gui and teamwork.
Rulang where got near NTU… It’s near Lakeside MRT… they have been consistently balloting from 2A2 onwards

marshmallow96

Interesting discussion. As a true blue ACS old boy, I will say that having a rich family really helps especially if one is not academically-inclined. Basically, there are more options available to the kid, such as going to an international school and/or overseas university. Tuition too, to force the kid to study...

IMHO, better school environment and teachers do help, but at the end of the day, the kid's intellectual capacity is limited by genetics. Some people are just not very bright, and that's life.

A lot of anecdotes and 'friends' mentioned already, so I won't add in even more. :s13:
Yup actually more important to prepare funds than to fret so much about P1 registration :o

wanker88

Interesting discussion. As a true blue ACS old boy, I will say that having a rich family really helps especially if one is not academically-inclined. Basically, there are more options available to the kid, such as going to an international school and/or overseas university. Tuition too, to force the kid to study...

IMHO, better school environment and teachers do help, but at the end of the day, the kid's intellectual capacity is limited by genetics. Some people are just not very bright, and that's life.

A lot of anecdotes and 'friends' mentioned already, so I won't add in even more. :s13:

Hello there, fellow ACSian ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.