Primary School Question

That’s why someone is so out of touch and yet want to correct others.

Poly students route to local university is so much wider now that some courses have more poly kids than JC kids. And majority of SIT enrolment comes from the poly, with less than 20% from JCs.

This is also first time I hear that for primary school balloting at phase 2A1, can still have vacancy spots for phase 2A2.

The information he shared is so wrong and misleading that I almost puke out my breakfast !
Please lah SIT.
Do you think it is as in demand as the local universities when they are essentially government sponsored correspondence degrees.

I am not saying that SIT is as bad as going to SIM (renamed phony name SUSS). I am not even saying the quality of the students in SIT is anywhere as low as SIM's (SUSS's).

bujingyun82

Honestly, I’m not really interested to participate in this elitist conversation about primary school/PSLE T score would determine the success of one’s life, Yes, I feel equally nauseating when most of them don’t even seems to know nowadays there’s so many pathways designed for late developers in all secondary schools. As a parent myself, while I care for my child’s academic performance in school, what matters to me most is still my child’s health, mental well-being and desire to do his best even he may not landed himself in one of those top schools or top 5% in his national exam.

yah, from the start of this thread, I was commenting better don’t ask this kind of clickbait question. This is too thorny a topic lol.

䏣炆玧示老太

yah, from the start of this thread, I was commenting better don’t ask this kind of clickbait question. This is too thorny a topic lol.
nothing thorny at all
just 2 different world people sharing different thoughts,can accept or not is another matter
can cross over to become the opposite group or not is yet another 3rd matter

NiShiZhu

Thanks for the reminder, my bad. I participated because there’s so many wrong info and wrong values going around here. Being hot tempered and impulsive, I subconsciously sank in. :(
I shall stick to property discussion in other threads then

marshmallow96

To enroll a child in a school that your friend is teaching in, is phase 2A2, not 2B as per your story so your story does not check out. 2B is Parent volunteer/Church association.

The likelihood of being out-balloted in 2A2 in the pre-merger days is close to zero. Teacher would know who are the other teachers who are also applying for 2A2 since in any primary school the number of teachers that happen to have children that are enrolling in the same year is limited to a small number.

https://tnp.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/how-will-changes-primary-1-registration-affect-my-child

Q: WHY DID MOE COMBINE PHASES 2A1 AND 2A2?​

A: Priority for alumni members was introduced in Phase 2A1 in 1999 to encourage stronger alumni and community support for schools.

The MOE says it is timely to review the fine differentiation of priority between Phases 2A1 and 2A2 as, over time, more former students and alumni associations have been actively contributing to their schools.

It adds: "The increase in reserved places for Phase 2C will result in fewer places in earlier phases. Several schools may end up with relatively few or no places left for Phase 2A2 registrants if priority between Phase 2A1 and Phase 2A2 registrants continued to be differentiated."

Hence, combining both phases into a simplified Phase 2A would help to preserve access for Phase 2A2 registrants, who might otherwise have no spots left.
Many schools went on balloting at 2A2. I personally know many people got balloted out at 2A2, teachers included :o

䏣炆玧示老太

Thanks for the reminder, my bad. I participated because there’s so many wrong info and wrong values going around here. Being hot tempered and impulsive, I subconsciously sank in. :(
I shall stick to property discussion in other threads then
there's no wrong value,just values you can't agree with nor understand
i won't say your value is wrong either,even though i don't agree with :o :o

It was in semiconductor industry, among the hottest in the industry right now due to all the WFH and crypto and EV things. But it wasn't that hot back then.
It is not hot because SG does not actually pioneer anything. So the engineers also do not get respect or the deserved remuneration. SG is a land-rental leech economy, and now being fueled by population ponzi. Even now I find it amusing how the govt is making a big deal of attracting the tech industry companies to set up shop in SG to make it some "hub", while Silicon Valley has been doing it as the world's hub for 40 years. :s13: :s13:

NiShiZhu

there's no wrong value,just values you can't agree with nor understand
i won't say your value is wrong either,even though i don't agree with :o :o
Unfortunately, I had seen so many parents instilling unrealistic expectation on their child which landed them the need to see the school counsellors often due to self harm and suicidal thoughts.
You may be lucky just because your child can excel in his academic and met your expectation. But that doesn’t mean your value is right.
As a parent, u know your child best. If your child is a 1litre car, u can’t simply send it to the best car workshop (aka best schools) and expect to mod it overnight to become Lambo and expect it to join the F1 race.

Many schools went on balloting at 2A2. I personally know many people got balloted out at 2A2, teachers included :o
Her story is about how her teacher friend was able to apply at her own alma mater at 2A1 and apply at the school she works at 2A2 and chose to apply and accept the 2A1 offer. Not sure how her case is special from parents who are deciding at 2A1, 2B and 2C.

䏣炆玧示老太

Unfortunately, I had seen so many parents instilling unrealistic expectation on their child which landed them the need to see the school counsellors often due to self harm and suicidal thoughts.
You may be luck just because your child can excel his academic and met your expectation. But that doesn’t mean your value is right.
As a parent, u know your child best. If your child is a 1litre car, u can’t mod it overnight to become 7L Lambo and expect it to join the F1 race.
correct lor
must remember each has own luck cannot compare mah
do what is most appropriate

People with 8 digit net worth go all the way out to rent a whole HDB flat just for tiny Taonan.
Local sinkies think left and right want to give up own HDB in “good” school 1km radius.
what a contrast!
Thats cuz the 8 digit net worth guy already rich and has no want for more material goods. TS is not there, so you can't blame him or her for being aspirational and trying to get on the make-belief asset enhancement ladder propagated by the PAP.

momoeagle

It is not hot because SG does not actually pioneer anything. So the engineers also do not get respect or the deserved remuneration. SG is a land-rental leech economy, and now being fueled by population ponzi. Even now I find it amusing how the govt is making a big deal of attracting the tech industry companies to set up shop in SG to make it some "hub", while Silicon Valley has been doing it as the world's hub for 40 years. :s13: :s13:
Many reasons I left. Among one of them is what you mentioned. In addition, there are still a lot of "secrets" kept at USA, and only knowledge sharing was only restricted to what needs to be done.

So really can't come out with much new stuff. It's a low energy repetitive job that pays well enough for what is done, such that many are actually able to work secretly on side-lines to earn even more.

Malaysia lost that talent even earlier when he took ASEAN scholarship to come to SG to study JC already
its SG lost a talent when he stayed in SG for nearly 2 decades then left for USA better job higher pay better living
Hahah I think the moral of the story is, save up the money and try to get out of SG and go to US.

If no money to do it this way, study hard ace the system here then go.

This is also first time I hear that for primary school balloting at phase 2A1, can still have vacancy spots for phase 2A2.

The information he shared is so wrong and misleading that I almost puke out my breakfast !
The story teller did not say there was balloting of 2A1 at his/her teacher friend's school. You imagined that detail yourself.

䏣炆玧示老太

Hahah I think the moral of the story is, save up the money and try to get out of SG and go to US.

If no money to do it this way, study hard ace the system here then go.
top talent can go anywhere also the same
that's why get into a top primary school super important :flash: :flash:
just rent a 3rm HDB flat within top school 1km don't even need to buy it

Honestly, I’m not really interested to participate in this elitist conversation about which primary school/PSLE T score would determine the success of one’s life, Yes, I feel equally nauseating when most of them don’t even seems to know the admission criteria had changed nowadays and how multiple pathways are designed for both the top performers and late developers in all secondary schools. Ultimately, the real test is still the society university. As a parent myself, while I care for my child’s academic performance in school, what matters to me most is still my child’s health, mental well-being and desire to do his best even he may not landed himself in one of those top schools or top 5% in his national exam.
I know you find it hard to believe but I actually agree with everything you said here in this post.

The only thing that I believe we differ on is I did not know Chong Fu's existence, and also did not find that particularly baffling. Also, it is an anecdotal fact that more students in Chinese orientated neighborhood schools come from families where parents can't speak proper English compared to popular primary schools in higher ses locations.

There really are many cases of people who do well, despite not scoring the conventional PSLE 270, 8 A1 in O level and straight As in top JC back in the day. This is where I disagree with 䏣炆玧示老太. Even on the topic of escaping to other countries with big house and better career opportunities, 䏣炆玧示老太 I know Singaporeans in the US, who got their greencards and did not even go to university!

Your ASEAN scholar friend from Malaysia at least went to NUS and did electrical engineering. I know Singaporeans with only Poly diploma and they moved to US and got employment based greencard on their own merit. And no, it is not Sim Wong Hoo.

that's why get into a top primary school super important :flash: :flash:
just rent a 3rm HDB flat within top school 1km don't even need to buy it

Do you know how many people I know who went to the popular primary school I was in (it is a top 10 school in the popularity ranking) and ended up in Ah Beng Ah Lian secondary school? Some of them even ended up stopping at O level.

Getting into the popular primary school is not a guarantee that your child will excel in PSLE lah. I think we talked about this in the earlier pages of the thread. My ex neighbour's children went to Rosyth and the kids also failed to make it, now they are studying in a sorry looking neighbourhood school.

Many reasons I left. Among one of them is what you mentioned. In addition, there are still a lot of "secrets" kept at USA, and only knowledge sharing was only restricted to what needs to be done.

So really can't come out with much new stuff. It's a low energy repetitive job that pays well enough for what is done, such that many are actually able to work secretly on side-lines to earn even more.
Of course. Then what? Openly share all the secrets with enemies like China meh? Of course make the Chinese work harder at their stealing and espionage lah.

Its not just the salary scale but the fact that the skills enable them to cross over there, stay permanently and give their offsprings more options in life, school and work.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.