private annuities

BlueRobin

I don't understand this "logic." Am I getting surrounded by insurance sales agents here again, who happen not to represent NTUC Income, Tokio Marine, or Manulife but somebody else who doesn't offer a life annuity? ;)

I can assure you I am not one of them :)

BBCWatcher

What the brochure says is that the child gets the annuity payment for his or her entire life. It did not say how long entire life is. I would assume 99.
"Entire life" is not age 99. Let's not assume.

Furthermore, the grandchild will receive a lump sum upon the death of the child.
OK, so if this is a double joint/survivor annuity as you've described it, then it's going to be quite expensive. But it's very weirdly constructed if you've described it accurately. That would be one hell of a bad 99th birthday, because you've just cut off your child from a lifetime annuity. This sounds like a terrific policy if you want your child (or grandchild) to push your wheelchair into oncoming traffic during your 98th year of life. ;)

final1

It's better to actually refer to manulife's brochure which I did provide the link to if you want more info to assess it. I don't find it weird. The brochure's explanation is pretty plain.
Did you see the brochure at all?

If entire life does not mean 99, then the only other meaning is the literal meaning which means it can continue paying till the child dies even if that is 110 years old.

final1

It looks like you are getting ~3.12% interest on this plan.
$499800 accumulated for 5 years at 3.12% interest becomes $582788, and the 3.12% annual interest gives you ~$18182

Not quite so straightforward a calculation as you have to take into account of the 2nd generation and 3rd generation mechanics in this plan.

BlueRobin

It's better to actually refer to manulife's brochure which I did provide the link to if you want more info to assess it. I don't find it weird. The brochure's explanation is pretty plain.
Did you see the brochure at all?

If entire life does not mean 99, then the only other meaning is the literal meaning which means it can continue paying till the child dies even if that is 110 years old.

I went to take a look at the online brochure.

Example 1: 3 generations plan.

Single Premium = $499,800
Insured starts at 45 years old
Payment starts at 50, projected at $1,470 per month for 16 years

At end of 16th year, policy transferred to child who is 35, the child will continue to receive the projected $1,470 for the rest of child's life.

When the child dies, a lump sum will then be paid to the grand child at a certain projected amount.

Key is the insured is paid for 16 years but the child is covered for life and grand child gets a lump sum.

Example 2: 2 generations plan.

Single premium = $499,800
Insured starts at 45 years old
Payment starts at 50, projected at $18,214 per year (or $1,518 per month) up to 99 years old.

When insured dies, the child gets a lump sum. The sum is calculated based on certain formula given in the brochure.

tangent314

Not quite so straightforward a calculation as you have to take into account of the 2nd generation and 3rd generation mechanics in this plan.

2nd gen is quite simple, the exact same payout just transfers to the child.
3rd gen is the bequest.

Calculating it all using XIRR gives a rate of 4.05%

To me this plan seems to focus a lot into accumulating a bequest rather than providing an income

Calculations here: https://goo.gl/GLix1G

BBCWatcher

It's better to actually refer to manulife's brochure....
That's a start, but the policy document itself is controlling. Got a copy of that?

Tangent314 said:
To me this plan seems to focus a lot into accumulating a bequest rather than providing an income
Right, but with an extremely powerful financial motivation to kill the policyholder in his/her 98th year of life, if it's actually constructed this way. They really ought to call it the "Signature on Your Death Warrant in your 98th Year" plan, and I'm only half joking. If the policyholder survives and celebrates his/her 99th birthday, the whole deal collapses into a puddle of zero. If what is being described is accurate.

Now why would anybody buy that policy? It's weird.

I don't know, I'm just not understanding this insurance market, and maybe I never will. If you love your kids and grandkids, wouldn't you want to spoil them as soon and as much as possible, and enjoy life together with them, while everyone (including you) is alive? Lifetime income does that, especially escalating because you're then free to spend lavishly from your savings on ballet lessons, language tutoring, trips to the zoo, university tuition, a trip to go see amazing art in Europe and the Grand Canyon, whatever. You're not all waiting for death before hitting the jackpot. And why would you ever want to become a burden on them if you could avoid it at precisely the "worst" time, toward the end of your life? So much of a burden that they'd literally profit to the tune of tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars if they kill you before your 99th birthday? Weird! WTF?

final1

I am not too sure why you need to specifically lock your argument at 98/99 years old.

The policyholder has the right to exercise his/her right to to transfer the policy to his/her child at anytime. He does not need to wait till 98/99 years.

So, the policyholder could be very healthy or unhealthy. But, say at 65 or 70 years old (whatever), he says, ok, time to give my child a headstart and then transfers the policy to his child who will then continue to get the same monthly income till the end of his/her life - effectively extending the annuity payment time length another 50, 60, 70 years. There is nothing bad about that and its actually an even longer payment than CPF LIFE.

Plus, there is a further lump sum paid to the 3rd generation.

P.S. There is nothing stopping the child from FASTing the monthly payment to his/her father/mother.

BBCWatcher

I am not too sure why you need to specifically lock your argument at 98/99 years old.
You're the one so gung-ho about this particular insurance policy. I'm not sure why.

The policyholder has the right to exercise his/her right to to transfer the policy to his/her child at anytime. He does not need to wait till 98/99 years.
Fabulous. "Transfer the policy to me now, or else"? WTF?

So, the policyholder could be very healthy or unhealthy. But, say at 65 or 70 years old (whatever), he says, ok, time to give my child a headstart and then transfers the policy to his child who will then continue to get the same monthly income till the end of his/her life - effectively extending the annuity payment time length another 50, 60, 70 years.
That cannot be correct, unless age 99 is a mandatory transfer date. And even if it is correct, it's a very expensive policy to buy.

There is nothing bad about that and its actually an even longer payment than CPF LIFE.
No, there's a lot bad with it. Most importantly, it's an over-purchase of insurance, and that's expensive and wasteful.

P.S. There is nothing stopping the child from FASTing the monthly payment to his/her father/mother.
Nothing requiring it either.

final1

You're the one so gung-ho about this particular insurance policy. I'm not sure why.

I won't be replying to your posts any further. Your reply was uncalled for.
I don't appreciate being labelled gung-ho or disparaged by you or anybody else.

All i have been doing was state what can be easily be read from the brochure on Manulife's website.

BBCWatcher

I don't appreciate being labelled gung-ho or disparaged by you or anybody else.
That's disparaging?

All i have been doing was state what can be easily be read from the brochure on Manulife's website.
OK, but that only goes so far, which is not far. The policy document/wording would be illuminating, and it'd be nice to see it.

final1

2nd gen is quite simple, the exact same payout just transfers to the child.
3rd gen is the bequest.

Calculating it all using XIRR gives a rate of 4.05%

Calculations here: https://goo.gl/GLix1G

Thanks. Interesting that's its about the same compared to the cpf retirement account interest rate. I didn't check the math though.

foozgarden

What the brochure says is that the child gets the annuity payment for his or her entire life. It did not say how long entire life is. I would assume 99.
Furthermore, the grandchild will receive a lump sum upon the death of the child.

this is getting quite complicated, if we bring in future generations into the picture.

i think annuity shld be straight fwd. just a consistant income flow, untill you pass on, so you dont have to dep on your kids for income.
at max, would be joint annuity or separate annuity for spouse.
beyond that, i think is a recipe for disaster.

there is a chinese saying, that fortune doesnt last past the 3 generation.
i'd say, if its your hard earned money.. splurge it on yourself.

to dump 1mil into a pte annuity, takes a certain amt of guts.
Thanks. Interesting that's its about the same compared to the cpf retirement account interest rate. I didn't check the math though.

on a side note 4% is quite decent. this is based on guaranteed or non guaranteed?

foozgarden

does anyone have actual BI to show here?
i am looking at SRS annuities.

say, 1k /mth payout from earlist possible age
(BBCW mention its 62. can someone confirm?)
can be single premium or regular premium.
assume age is 40 on next birthday.

BBCWatcher

i am looking at SRS annuities.
say, 1k /mth payout from earlist possible age
(BBCW mention its 62. can someone confirm?)
Age 62 is the earliest payout age you're allowed if you're buying an annuity with SRS funds. But just be a little careful about that, because it's at least possible you'll have other taxable income in your early 60s. Income tax will be owed on half the payment at ordinary rates. So, for example, if you get $10,000/year from the annuity (let's suppose), and you have $60,000/year of income in that first year, then you'll pay ordinary income tax on $5,000, or (it looks like) $350 in income tax (7% bracket). Not the end of the world, of course, but the point of SRS is to try to minimize tax.

can be single premium or regular premium.
Actually, only single premium life annuities are fully SRS qualified. However, you could purchase more than one single premium life annuity with SRS funds -- that's allowed. For example, you might have one life annuity start at age 62 (which NTUC's Guaranteed Life Annuity can do) and another start at age 70 (which Manulife RetireReady Plus can do). You might do that in order to simulate an inflation-related escalation (roughly) and to avoid a potential tax hit if too much income (from SRS-purchased annuities) is paid too soon. That is, you could still owe some income tax on these payouts, if you have other taxable income. You're more likely to have other taxable income at age 62 to 69 than 70+. Many people have a "soft" retirement, where they still earn some income from work.

tangent314

4.05% is a projection that assumes that the PAR fund performs at 4.75%.
If the PAR fund performs at less than 4.75%, you will get less, and if the PAR fund performs at more than 4.75% you will get more.

The next thing you would want to ask yourself is... why not just invest the money yourself instead of giving 0.7% away every year to the insurance company?

These plans don't really provide any longevity insurance like CPF Life does.

BBCWatcher

These plans don't really provide any longevity insurance like CPF Life does.
Fully SRS qualified life annuities are genuine longevity insurance. And, for those who can save significantly on their taxes and who end up with “big” SRS accounts, they can make financially sense....

....But usually the annuity would be purchased when you’re in your early 60s, unless you think the insurer is offering a particularly good deal now versus what you think is likely later.

Anyway, I can see an argument for them in these particular, fairly narrow circumstances.

maple96

I prefer to keep it simple for my SRS monies so can retire happy no worry:

1. if gahmen change policies on SRS
2. need to pay tax or not cos annuities are treated differently
3. credit risk, can insurer outlive me or my generations :s13:
4. will there be better opportunities in future, missed opportunities
5. etc etc

Now my monies (not much) in GE270 guaranteed 2.7% and NTUC "endowment" almost guaranteed 4%, when I reach 62 just nice can withdraw within 10 years no need pay tax, then put in 4% guaranteed "funds" maybe. Retire early, retire happy, retire no worry liao!

foozgarden

Age 62 is the earliest payout age you're allowed if you're buying an annuity with SRS funds. But just be a little careful about that, because it's at least possible you'll have other taxable income in your early 60s. Income tax will be owed on half the payment at ordinary rates. So, for example, if you get $10,000/year from the annuity (let's suppose), and you have $60,000/year of income in that first year, then you'll pay ordinary income tax on $5,000, or (it looks like) $350 in income tax (7% bracket). Not the end of the world, of course, but the point of SRS is to try to minimize tax.

Actually, only single premium life annuities are fully SRS qualified. However, you could purchase more than one single premium life annuity with SRS funds -- that's allowed. For example, you might have one life annuity start at age 62 (which NTUC's Guaranteed Life Annuity can do) and another start at age 70 (which Manulife RetireReady Plus can do). You might do that in order to simulate an inflation-related escalation (roughly) and to avoid a potential tax hit if too much income (from SRS-purchased annuities) is paid too soon. That is, you could still owe some income tax on these payouts, if you have other taxable income. You're more likely to have other taxable income at age 62 to 69 than 70+. Many people have a "soft" retirement, where they still earn some income from work.

that is an interesting proposition too.
stagger two srs annuities.!
the second one can start after retiring from the regular job. to aviod the tax.

JuniorLion

that is an interesting proposition too.
stagger two srs annuities.!
the second one can start after retiring from the regular job. to aviod the tax.

Essentially to have 0% tax, you cannot exceed 40k/year in your payment.

I wonder if tax reliefs can count.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.