Private settlement for accident

jq75

It is legal binding, even words said and used can be legal bound.

I normally do not report to insurance and the other party as well. We settle, get the payment sign on the agreement that the payment has been made.

The form must explicitly say the payee is the one at fault. So when roti prata comes... you're safe.

Not so mean lah, usually states both parties agrees to settle privately, who pay who ### amt, and accepted it. thereafter cannot have any claims against the other party

super365

my insurance tell me the following SOP for private settlement
1) report insurance and let the motorbike guy come and take picture write report
2) get enough $$ from the guilty party and sign 2 copies of the private settlement form, 1 for you and 1 for the other party
3) scan and send the private settlement form to insurance for recording
4) want to go workshop repair or not is your own business.

Motorbike guy from where? From insurance company? Motorbike guy free service take picture write report?
If motorbike guy can only reach in 2 hours, then you waste 2 hours at accident spot?

How you know how much money to take from guilty party?

Alphas

Got once an ah neh rear end my bumper with uber vios. I tell him either I claim insurance or private. He agreed to private so the workshop told him they collect the full amount not deposit not half before they start work on my car. He did made the full payment and workshop replaced the bumper and sensors, this way I am covered totally so no hanky panky business.

jarvis

If we fill in the form amount by estimation on the spot $500 and lets say the sum I received is $500 (on the accident spot before repair and written $500 in the private settlement form). After repair the total cost is actually $700, how to get the extra $200 from that party paying?
Since the form only wrote $500 can the other party paying refuse to pay the extra $200?

If you put wrong amount then that part you makan - cannot roti prata. It provides certainty for BOTH parties as they know how much it will cost to settle everything. If you're the one paying, you also won't want to settle for $500 then after that the other guy turn around to say actually $700. So the moral of the story is make sure you know how much to put in and agree because once agreed and signed, cannot change.

As for whether reporting to the insurers will affect anything, it depends on the insurers. They will put a reserve on their books which will then affect your loss ratio - if you've settled it, the reserve, if any, should just be a minimal holding reserve so it shouldn't affect your loss ratio. In theory at least. Of course, if you one year got X number of these low reserve claims, it might trigger alarm bells on their end that this driver might have problems and "the big one" is just a matter of time.

super365

If you put wrong amount then that part you makan - cannot roti prata. It provides certainty for BOTH parties as they know how much it will cost to settle everything. If you're the one paying, you also won't want to settle for $500 then after that the other guy turn around to say actually $700. So the moral of the story is make sure you know how much to put in and agree because once agreed and signed, cannot change.

How do you estimate how much to put on the private settlement form? I assume private settlement form must be filled in on accident spot correct?
I mean on the accident spot both drivers are not repair car parts experts so maybe some broken parts and scratches we just assume $500 to put on the private settlement form. Only when go to workshop then found out the repair cost is $700.

jarvis

How do you estimate how much to put on the private settlement form? I assume private settlement form must be filled in on accident spot correct?
I mean on the accident spot both drivers are not repair car parts experts so maybe some broken parts and scratches we just assume $500 to put on the private settlement form. Only when go to workshop then found out the repair cost is $700.

It's always negotiated and signed after since you're not going to be driving around with a settlement agreement all drawn up and ready to sign - if you do then it's very suspicious. the settlement agreement will normally at least state some of the facts of the accident. So do it up after you visit the workshop.

On the spot is basically just to exchange contact details, and indicate if you wish to settle privately or not. If settle privately, what workshop, claiming loss of use, etc?

super365

It's always negotiated and signed after since you're not going to be driving around with a settlement agreement all drawn up and ready to sign - if you do then it's very suspicious. the settlement agreement will normally at least state some of the facts of the accident. So do it up after you visit the workshop.

On the spot is basically just to exchange contact details, and indicate if you wish to settle privately or not. If settle privately, what workshop, claiming loss of use, etc?

On the spot do you need to sign anything? What if accident happen at night then if next day then go to workshop or the guy who cause accident uncontactable next day, or change mind next day?
What form do you use to "indicate if you wish to settle privately or not. If settle privately, what workshop, claiming loss of use, etc?"

All private settlement form I see require the $ amount to be filled in. Example: https://www.aviva.com.sg/pdf/General-Insurance/Private_Settlement_Form.pdf
If $ amount is not filled in (leave it blank or put N.A or dash -) and signed on the spot, is it valid to act as proof to indicate wish to settle privately on the spot before going workshop?
If $ amount is not filled in (leave blank) and signed on the spot, then after going workshop then amount is filled in is it valid?

Thanks

jarvis

Form used to indicate? It's called the mouth..... It's just an indication / discussion. Person might be willing to settle privately, but unless and until they know how much you want, they are not going to commit to it and they cannot be held to it. So of course the settlement must state how much the settlement is.

If they sign an agreement that states they will pay you (without indicating the amount), what if the next day you say you want $10k because you then claim you suffer from whiplash and then you say they agreed to pay you. Who in their right minds will sign an agreement that is essentially a blank cheque?

So no need for the fixation with getting something signed on the spot. If you want to carry those printed forms in your car and then fill in the settlement amount and get it signed on the spot, then you bear the risk of it being insufficient because if you go back to them to ask for more money, they are fully entitled to tell you to go away since you've already agreed on the amount.

just talk to the person, if minor and not unreasonable, then go to the workshop, get it assessed, agree on amount, sign the settlement agreement, get paid or get them to pay the workshop directly, then that's it - whether you want to then pass it to the insurer is up to you.

Otherwise just report to the insurer and leave the insurer to deal with the claim.

super365

Form used to indicate? It's called the mouth..... It's just an indication / discussion. Person might be willing to settle privately, but unless and until they know how much you want, they are not going to commit to it and they cannot be held to it. So of course the settlement must state how much the settlement is.

If they sign an agreement that states they will pay you (without indicating the amount), what if the next day you say you want $10k because you then claim you suffer from whiplash and then you say they agreed to pay you. Who in their right minds will sign an agreement that is essentially a blank cheque?

So no need for the fixation with getting something signed on the spot. If you want to carry those printed forms in your car and then fill in the settlement amount and get it signed on the spot, then you bear the risk of it being insufficient because if you go back to them to ask for more money, they are fully entitled to tell you to go away since you've already agreed on the amount.

just talk to the person, if minor and not unreasonable, then go to the workshop, get it assessed, agree on amount, sign the settlement agreement, get paid or get them to pay the workshop directly, then that's it - whether you want to then pass it to the insurer is up to you.

Otherwise just report to the insurer and leave the insurer to deal with the claim.

Q1. For private settlement and not reported to insurer, after amount agreed and private settlement form is signed, if some days later whiplash/medical problems appear, can the medical fees be clamied?

Q2. For private settlement and reported to insurer, after amount agreed and private settlement form is signed, if some days later whiplash/medical problems appear, can the medical fees be clamied?

Q3. For non private settlement and reported to insurer, after reporting to insurer already if some days later whiplash/medical problems appear, can the medical fees be claimed?

edwinttt1978

Q1. For private settlement and not reported to insurer, after amount agreed and private settlement form is signed, if some days later whiplash/medical problems appear, can the medical fees be clamied?

Q2. For private settlement and reported to insurer, after amount agreed and private settlement form is signed, if some days later whiplash/medical problems appear, can the medical fees be clamied?

Q3. For non private settlement and reported to insurer, after reporting to insurer already if some days later whiplash/medical problems appear, can the medical fees be claimed?

1) No.

2) No.

3) Yes.

alpha29

If u report to insurance company that u are gg to private settlement, but if the later quotation came back more expensive than u thought, can u retract and ask to settle through insurance?

HeadQuarters

If u run into a clueless Ah bang who brought in a village of Ah bangs to come kpkb, it's always best to let insurer settle it. No need to waste time n saliva with these barbarians :o

chehjin

If u report to insurance company that u are gg to private settlement, but if the later quotation came back more expensive than u thought, can u retract and ask to settle through insurance?

the counter question is if you go workshop and they quote you lower than what you asked for, will you go find that person and pay him back the extra?

xxyxxy

Hi new rider here. I would appreciate if i could get some advice from here. :)

Recently i got into an accident. My bike handle bar hit a honda car tail light and it has a small hole. The driver came out check the car and said it’s ok. However, i was being kind enough to exchange phone number. (i wanted to apologise sincerely, i kinda panic and didn’t know what to do as it was my first accident, pardon me) He kept insisting it’s fine but end up exchanging numbers and left the scene with no pictures taken of the damaged. But he had a rear camera that recorded it. After I apologised via text, he decided to send a picture of the damange and ask me to pay for it. I didn’t mind paying if it’s around my budget range but the quotation he got back to me was so ridiculous. He even insisted me to pay for his 2 working days of his pay as he can’t drive. Fyi, he isn’t a taxi driver, not a grab driver, he just rent a company car from his housing agent company. I even offered him to fix his tail light at my friend’s workshop but he said his company didn’t allow that. Then he started asking for my driving license and vehicle number, all these should be done at the scene but he said it’s ok. Only now then he want to claim from me. He knows my vehicle number but he does not have any picture of my identification cards, i refuse to give him but he said it’s against the law not to exchange each other’s particulars when an accident happen. I told him i’m only willing to pay him certain amount, but obviously he wasn’t pleasant as it was $200 lesser than what he wanted. So he said he would file a police report on me. Nobody got injured, i only had a bit of scratches on my left but it’s fine.

Help!! And i suppose to just pay him the ridiculous amount?

AL5509

First, what amount is he asking for deem as ridiculous to you?

...I told him i’m only willing to pay him certain amount, but obviously he wasn’t pleasant as it was $200 lesser than what he wanted. So he said he would file a police report on me.

What is that certain amount?
You are obviously at fault so you should be agreeing to his amount if not just do insurance claim.

ridiculous to you?
So he said he would file a police report on me. Nobody got injured, i only had a bit of scratches on my left but it’s fine.

Help!!

From what you described, you don't seem willing to pay for other people's property damage.
Think the person should be the one shouting for HELP now.

Given so; you "hit-and-run" and he can't claim from you so of course he need to go to report to police.

Lastly; not being mean but your injuries is none of his business as you hit him? So who you like to put the blame on?
*Thinking*

renfred89

Based on what you said, it’s very suspicious of him to manage that way. No pictures taken at scene and wanted to make a claim, isn’t that dubious?

Let him make police report then..

Hi new rider here. I would appreciate if i could get some advice from here. :)

Recently i got into an accident. My bike handle bar hit a honda car tail light and it has a small hole. The driver came out check the car and said it’s ok. However, i was being kind enough to exchange phone number. (i wanted to apologise sincerely, i kinda panic and didn’t know what to do as it was my first accident, pardon me) He kept insisting it’s fine but end up exchanging numbers and left the scene with no pictures taken of the damaged. But he had a rear camera that recorded it. After I apologised via text, he decided to send a picture of the damange and ask me to pay for it. I didn’t mind paying if it’s around my budget range but the quotation he got back to me was so ridiculous. He even insisted me to pay for his 2 working days of his pay as he can’t drive. Fyi, he isn’t a taxi driver, not a grab driver, he just rent a company car from his housing agent company. I even offered him to fix his tail light at my friend’s workshop but he said his company didn’t allow that. Then he started asking for my driving license and vehicle number, all these should be done at the scene but he said it’s ok. Only now then he want to claim from me. He knows my vehicle number but he does not have any picture of my identification cards, i refuse to give him but he said it’s against the law not to exchange each other’s particulars when an accident happen. I told him i’m only willing to pay him certain amount, but obviously he wasn’t pleasant as it was $200 lesser than what he wanted. So he said he would file a police report on me. Nobody got injured, i only had a bit of scratches on my left but it’s fine.

AL5509

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.