Proposal Ring - Part 2

aceminer

Wah thanks bro. I think no choice lah. That's how the diamond business is. I wanna bargain also paiseh. Thankfully this is just once in a lifetime. Though it's sad to know could have gotten a D at 0.51 carat. Oh well...

I would prefer a f and 0.6 on hindsight. Haha. Oh well

Gothika

Can you guys help me have a look at my diamond scopes? They look good to me.. just want to make sure :)

QSrHWSh.jpg

mDKMoWV.jpg

GFemqdb.jpg

U0LILOo.jpg

Dont worry. Your scopes are good.. The solasfera is damn good already

Akuma1981fire

Just done with my proposal yesterday, everything went smoothly! Did it at salt grill & sky bar, the ambiance is great and the foods are nice too but a bit disappointed with their desserts, the taste kinda unique. lol

Booked the best seats in the restaurant, direct facing to the sunset :D The people and customers are very friendly, they cheered for me and came to me to congratz. lol

Can't believe Sam from JP guesstimated my fiancée ring size perfectly! I was so worried I got it small. The ring looks freaking fantastic on her, the sparks, the brilliant, and everything la, it is really good. haha

At first I hated so much for paying such an expensive stone but now I am kinda like it after she wears it. hahah I was looking for a ring that is simple, classic and yet elegant. JP did it, somemore its comfortable. :)

kSBbTkE.jpg

I also booked a bouquet of roses from Floral Garage Singapore and sent it to the restaurant. Messaged them and they arranged for me without any issue. To my surprise, they are able to produce such a beautiful bouquet of roses! The bold red perfectly bloomed roses and without any sign of wither, best rose I ever bought.

rdMtMj2.jpg

Compliments from everyone just overwhelming. :o

Good luck to the rest of bros here! Have fun with your proposal ;)

Kinda disappointed the sellers are no longer selling the LED ring box at a cheaper price at Qoo10. But the box really gives a very strong WOW factor when complementing with the diamond. :) My fiancée was jokingly saying luckily there a light in the ring box, else she can't even notice there is a ring inside the box. haha Well... :)

Congrats bro! Your ring looks very nice.
It's like a right of passage for us guys. lol

xtwis7

JP prices seem to be a little steeper now. Comparing to another private jeweller in tg pagar.

JP: super ideal, 0.603, G, VS2 = $4950
Private: round, 0.63, F, VS2 = $4200

Both HCA scores are very close. 1.4 to 1.7 and scope wise I remembered both were good to my eyes.

Though JP setting is cheaper at $550 for basic designs. However, gf commented that she somehow felt the JP diamond looked bigger. As for me, I would still believe the specs and my eyes. Just sharing my thoughts and findings.

Grizz.P

JP prices seem to be a little steeper now. Comparing to another private jeweller in tg pagar.

JP: super ideal, 0.603, G, VS2 = $4950
Private: round, 0.63, F, VS2 = $4200

Both HCA scores are very close. 1.4 to 1.7 and scope wise I remembered both were good to my eyes.

Though JP setting is cheaper at $550 for basic designs. However, gf commented that she somehow felt the JP diamond looked bigger. As for me, I would still believe the specs and my eyes. Just sharing my thoughts and findings.

HCA 1.7 isn't Super Ideal specs already leh.
A Super ideal is suppose to have better proportion and optimizes the size.. Maybe that's why the JP diamond looks bigger despite it being a smaller carat.

xtwis7

HCA 1.7 isn't Super Ideal specs already leh.
A Super ideal is suppose to have better proportion and optimizes the size.. Maybe that's why the JP diamond looks bigger despite it being a smaller carat.

I know one is not super ideal but that's just how JP classifies their diamonds. There's no way to compare 2 diamonds from 2 different retailers unfortunately unless you make a trip to both within the same day.

I will chase specs but to me, a HCA score of 1.7 doesn't makes the diamond a bad one. Ask me to tell both apart with the naked eye, probably going to be impossible for me.

tk

I will chase specs but to me, a HCA score of 1.7 doesn't makes the diamond a bad one. Ask me to tell both apart with the naked eye, probably going to be impossible for me.

HCA <2 are all deemed to be equally good lah.. dun be "brainwashed" into thinking HCA must be <1.4 to be good.. :s13:

Grizz.P

I know one is not super ideal but that's just how JP classifies their diamonds. There's no way to compare 2 diamonds from 2 different retailers unfortunately unless you make a trip to both within the same day.

With naked eye will be hard to tell especially with the shop strong lights.
Shouldn't just rely on naked eyes. Best is to check with scopes.
A diamond with a low HCA score doesn't gurantee a good diamond either. It's just a filter to weed out the less Ideal proportion ones.
A 0.4 HCA score diamond can still be bad.

You got the certificate to see?

Lurker_13

True that a HCA score of 1.7 does not make a diamond a bad one... HCA is just a tool to filter out those bad ones, if you are able to have scope pics for both diamonds to compare that will be a good tutorial. my 2 cents.:D

UNiteedy

Theres a HCA limitation tutorial video. Just nice got use a HCA 1.7 diamond.

IMO, HCA is just one of the many check points to consider. Still need to factor in the certificate, ideal scope, aset scope, hearts and arrows scope, etc. Just need to clear all the check points and you're good to go :s13:

Spee_Dy

Would like some opinions :) I'm deciding between the Octagon and Octavia diamond. I'm 50/50 on both. I saw some of you guys have bought the Octagon but there's not much info here on the Octavia. Any opinion on that diamond? I quite like the Octavia step cut pattern. It looks more dazzling in real life.

I took some photos of the diamonds with my hp. Manage to get some under different lights since I read about the store lights effect.. Dunno if this helps or not. haha
I placed a deposit to reserve the Octavia first.

Any comments??

BMH5rS5.jpg

straweffigy

My opinion is the octavia diamond has got a old fashioned look to it due to its shape. But maybe that is just me. I chose a 0.65ct octagon so I might be biased. What specs are these?

Spee_Dy

My opinion is the octavia diamond has got a old fashioned look to it due to its shape. But maybe that is just me. I chose a 0.65ct octagon so I might be biased. What specs are these?

Both are same specs. 1ct F VS2. I found the Octavia to have that more of that "chunky" sparkles effect whereas the Octagon has a more "sizzling" effect? Don't know if I'm describing them correctly. :s13:
I couldn't capture the sparkle effects on camera but I have it on video. Maybe I'll try uploading it later when I get home.

Shape wise, I think both are going to look almost the same.. going to set them in the square shape orientation.

xtwis7

HCA <2 are all deemed to be equally good lah.. dun be "brainwashed" into thinking HCA must be <1.4 to be good.. :s13:

I'm not, just also to let people know don't be too caught up with the HCA score as it's a rejection tool, not a selection tool.

With naked eye will be hard to tell especially with the shop strong lights.
Shouldn't just rely on naked eyes. Best is to check with scopes.
A diamond with a low HCA score doesn't gurantee a good diamond either. It's just a filter to weed out the less Ideal proportion ones.
A 0.4 HCA score diamond can still be bad.

You got the certificate to see?

Didn't take down the GIA cert numbers but I saw both diamonds' ASET scopes which look pretty good to me. Anyway not in a rush to buy so just doing some market research at the moment. Maybe by the time I want to get, both these stones are gone.

True that a HCA score of 1.7 does not make a diamond a bad one... HCA is just a tool to filter out those bad ones, if you are able to have scope pics for both diamonds to compare that will be a good tutorial. my 2 cents.:D

I didn't request for scope pics to be sent to me but if I do go back to either of the stores, I'll probably do so. Most likely I'll get the ring from one of them eventually.

Jench1745

Would like some opinions :) I'm deciding between the Octagon and Octavia diamond. I'm 50/50 on both. I saw some of you guys have bought the Octagon but there's not much info here on the Octavia. Any opinion on that diamond? I quite like the Octavia step cut pattern. It looks more dazzling in real life.

I took some photos of the diamonds with my hp. Manage to get some under different lights since I read about the store lights effect.. Dunno if this helps or not. haha

Any comments??

BMH5rS5.jpg

You might want to consider your setting design too and which diamond will be better for your design. For me, I knew I wanted a twisty design with side diamonds and was deciding between the Brellia and Octagon. After much deliberation and sleepless nights, I find that Octagon will go better with a twisty design and that's how I also picked my diamond.

All in all I am very pleased with the outcome and selection process... to a layman like me my SA Vince was patient enough to show me all the diamonds and Jann helped me with many requests on the design

YqjtbSm.jpg

XhEk7DT.jpg

Spee_Dy

You might want to consider your setting design too and which diamond will be better for your design. For me, I knew I wanted a twisty design with side diamonds and was deciding between the Brellia and Octagon. After much deliberation and sleepless nights, I find that Octagon will go better with a twisty design and that's how I also picked my diamond.

All in all I am very pleased with the outcome and selection process... to a layman like me my SA Vince was patient enough to show me all the diamonds and Jann helped me with many requests on the design

YqjtbSm.jpg

XhEk7DT.jpg

Oh yeah. Haven't really thought about that.
But most prob going for something with side diamonds.
Only know she likes bling and squarish unique diamonds. :s13::s13:

fir3bon3

Any comments??

BMH5rS5.jpg

I saw both the Octagon and Octavia when I was choosing my diamond too~
Really love how both of them look, Octagon looks really crisp when you see it sparkling. Octavia looks awesome compared to their "cousin", Asscher. hahaha! Hard choice between this 2! Both looks super nice!

lazypix

Hey guys, how long would it take before receiving the ASET scope and other scope images from JP?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.