Proposal Ring - Part 2

bedposthalo

After 2.5 years since I bought my proposal ring...

I'd still love to have gotten this diamond with mega chunky blings:
Introducing August Vintage OEC Rounds: Part 1 The Bling Factor - YouTube

The August Vintage Rounds... A brand name of Old European round cut diamonds perfected with the proportions of the modern round brilliants...

Its that one in the middle:

I considered the Augsust Vintage before and saw their videos.

From my observations, I weights the pros and cons of the diamond.

Pro:
- It has broad flashes of fire which makes it easily observable. You can see each facet is big and wide, making each sparkle big and obvious.
Pic1.jpg

- It has its own unique cutting, which makes it something special (although I still prefer H&As)

Cons:
- In the Aset, there seems to be a lack of evenly distributed contrasts (blue). There's very few blue in the diamond.
ASET__s.jpg

Majority of the contrast (blue) is circling around the table. Contrast will appear black/grey when viewed from the top.
This means that the diamond will have a dark circle around the centre.
As a result, this would mean the diamond have low scintillation... BUT.. this will be compensated with the broad flashes of fire
Personally, I will prefer it to be more balanced with a high scintillation and high fire.. I find that the broad facets and uneven contrast will make the diamond look more like a crystal since due to the huge facets.

Bear in mind, August vintage cut doesn't seem to be cut consistently.. there are others that have a more contrast.. but it's still not evenly distributed.
ASET.jpg

ASET__s.jpg

With too little contrast like the one below, may not be a good thing either.
Evenly distributed contrast helps to give the diamond the "bling factor" as well. Like the white black white black white black patterning.. Just like strobe lights, which makes it more eye catching.
Too little contrast and all red (light return) is something like a constant "high beam" effect.

aset__s.jpg

E11486

Purchased a Brellia from JP,

0.657 C
G
VS1
$4750 + $550 (setting)

Very good service, very professional group of ppl. And very accomodating too. But was confused with the shop location, best to call and make appointment before going down.

Is this a reasonable price for a cushion shape diamond ? :s11:

Actually, before this, i was about to get BR (round)from sookee: 0.63C, G, VS2 for $7950 with setting (after disc). It was really sparkling..

ended up with brellia cos GF got mentioned she want something special...dun wan round, even though the i hinted many times, round look the most biggest out of most shape and most sparkling.

Grizz.P

0.657 C
G
VS1
$4750 + $550 (setting)

Very good service, very professional group of ppl. And very accomodating too. But was confused with the shop location, best to call and make appointment before going down.

Actually, before this, i was about to get BR (round)from sookee: 0.63C, G, VS2 for $7950 with setting (after disc). It was really sparkling..

ended up with brellia cos GF got mentioned she want something special...dun wan round, even though the i hinted many times, round look the most biggest out of most shape and most sparkling.

Congrats on your Brellia purchase! If your GF want a non-round diamond, the Brellia is a good choice ;)
A 0.65ct is a rare carat size... Once it hits 0.70, the price will increase alot.

alwaysnforever

0.657 C
G
VS1
$4750 + $550 (setting)

cheap leh. mine almost same size, but F colour, and its $7k with setting :(

elnos86

0.657 C
G
VS1
$4750 + $550 (setting)

I got confused with the location too on my first visit. I couldn't find them and had to call them to realize they were operating inside of House of Hung.

When you gf said she doesnt want round, did you decide on the Brellia by yourself? Cos there is other shapes like the princess too.

$7,950 for a 0.63CT G VS2 is overpriced. That price should be able to get a Super Ideal Cut 0.7ct+ already. And Sookee diamonds are not even Super Ideal cutting.

winorlose

$7950 i can get a high 0.7 or 0.8c in JP liao

or at least a good spec 0.75c, VS1, E colour

shaoos

The night she will nv FORHET..

Hi Guys, currently Black colour is OUT of stock, Red colour is running low too.. New patch will arrive in 1-2weeks time.. To pre-order black colour kindly send us an email toweddingstuffs@live.com.sg. We will get back to u soon. Have a nice day :s12:

Hi Guys,
I’m selling TOP QUALITY LED LIGHTED PROPOSAL RING BOX!
Perfect for proposing in the Dark . HOT SELLING!!

READY STOCK!!

64515552.jpg

33353068.jpg

69698837.jpg

57535800.jpg

31184242.jpg

47116090.jpg

ALL BRAND NEW!

Details:
HIGH POWERED LED Light shines directly down on the ring.

Bring out the sparkles of the stones

Perfect For Proposing in the dark.

High quality Black/RED PU leather grained exterior.

Fine Black velvet inlay, with a bright LED light on the upper inside.

Light switches on and off when box is opened or closed.