Proposal Ring - Part 2

huishann

Hi, I'm a very legit customer and Jann just called me earlier to clarify on the misunderstanding. I just wanted to find out what went wrong which might have led to this.
The deposit I put, was to "reserve" the Solasfera. They understood I needed to consider and confirm my options. So, the receipt states the full price for the Solasfera, but in case I opted for the Super Ideal Cut, they can amend the receipt to reflect the amount for it.
Oh, and I will upload some images of it in my next post. :)

Just to clarify, I got the Solasfera at its full price. The Super Ideal Cut was a significant amount lower than the Solasfera.

So full story of what happen in between is this:
After paying a deposit, I got home and pondered upon the choices. I made up my mind and chose the Super Ideal Cut and emailed them. Casey acknowledged and even sent me the scope images and GIA cert for it. So I thought that should be it. About a month later I emailed to ask for an update, they said it will be ready in another couple week. So, after about a week or so, they called to inform me the ring was ready. So I went down and got a little surprise myself. :)

I see, sorry to have suspected you. that's a very pretty setting btw !! was it customized ? cause we didn't see that setting when we went JP last month. But all in all, I think the solasfera is def a worthy buy despite the miscommunication you had in between. i had always wanted a solasfera and have too would gotten it if it was within my budget.

hollander

No prob bro. Yeah, the Solasfera's an awesome diamond.
Aaannnnd here are the images! (The photos' not doing any justice to the Solasfera's brilliance and sparkle)

20130615_000728.jpg

20130615_000959.jpg

20130615_001130.jpg

20130615_001403.jpg

That is REALLLY Nice!!! is that a heart shape prong? is that what you have requested? i mean of all the requirements only the diamond is not as planned?

BTW, the heart shape prong is really nice.

ukiya006

Are you able to settle and discuss the things with them? You have the full authority to return the item if needed. But I am sure, Solasfera is a really good one ;-)

If time is not a problem in parallel with your proposal and if you can allow them, you can still have a Super Ideal and if by luck the same diamond that you are considering before whilst it is not taken from that time to this moment.

Jann just called me earlier today to clarify on the mistake. They were willing to come and collect and replace the diamond. But I think since the ring is already done and that I have no complains of the diamond, it wasn't necessary for the change.

I see, sorry to have suspected you.

It's okay. This kind of cases are very rare and abit hard to believe from the mouth of a total stranger. :s22:

that's a very pretty setting btw !! was it customized ? cause we didn't see that setting when we went JP last month.
That is REALLLY Nice!!! is that a heart shape prong? is that what you have requested? i mean of all the requirements only the diamond is not as planned?

BTW, the heart shape prong is really nice.

It was sort of customized. Me and my SO saw one of the setting (with side diamonds) and another with heart shaped prongs. So we sort of requested for the setting to be without side diamonds and also to include the heart shaped prongs. :)

hollander

Jann just called me earlier today to clarify on the mistake. They were willing to come and collect and replace the diamond. But I think since the ring is already done and that I have no complains of the diamond, it wasn't necessary for the change.

It's okay. This kind of cases are very rare and abit hard to believe from the mouth of a total stranger. :s22:

It was sort of customized. Me and my SO saw one of the setting (with side diamonds) and another with heart shaped prongs. So we sort of requested for the setting to be without side diamonds and also to include the heart shaped prongs. :)

Still a very nice outcome of mix and matching. what is the size of the diamond if I may ask ;-)?

Unfortunate incidents like this in your case is not actually bad coz you can never go wrong with a Solasfera and the jump on the price is not a question to you, for JP's side they will be more cautious now as they'd before, I think.

ukiya006

Still a very nice outcome of mix and matching. what is the size of the diamond if I may ask ;-)?

Unfortunate incidents like this in your case is not actually bad coz you can never go wrong with a Solasfera and the jump on the price is not a question to you, for JP's side they will be more cautious now as they'd before, I think.

its 0.54 carat. :s12:
yup, guess they will be more cautious now when confirming the diamond choice.

ukiya006

the heart shape prongs are very nice. look like a bigger carat than 0.54 to me. :s13:

yup! I should say JannPaul's craftmanship is quite good.
they did tell me that the diamonds will look a little bigger than the actual size. Probably because of the sparkle and scintillation it produces i guess. :D:D

Mr. Gentleman

Hi Guys,

Quick question about JP.

The pictures that they have posted on their Facebook profile with the black background are NOT the 3D pictures right?

MeRfMeRf

wow bro, your ring setting damm nice, mind sharing how much the setting cost you excl the stone?

aLpHa-Ev7

Hi Guys,

Quick question about JP.

The pictures that they have posted on their Facebook profile with the black background are NOT the 3D pictures right?

I think those are real pictures of the ring.

The 3D renders are with white background.

ukiya006

ukiya006 your ring is sibeh chio!!!!

wow bro, your ring setting damm nice, mind sharing how much the setting cost you excl the stone?

thanks thanks! :s13::s13:
setting is about 500. they said the cost is for the raw materials needed to craft the setting. ;)

I got my 3D images with the white background today. I was a tad confused.

Hi Mr.Gentleman, would like to know if you requested for the 3D images? Is the setting of your ring very customized?

shaoos

LED proposal ring Boz

The night she willl nv forget..

Hi Guys,
I’m selling TOP QUALITY LED LIGHTED PROPOSAL RING BOX!
Perfect for proposing in the Dark . HOT SELLING!!

READY STOCK!!

64515552.jpg

33353068.jpg

69698837.jpg

57535800.jpg

31184242.jpg

47116090.jpg

ALL BRAND NEW!

Details:
HIGH POWERED LED Light shines directly down on the ring.

Bring out the sparkles of the stones

Perfect For Proposing in the dark.

High quality Black/RED PU leather grained exterior.

Fine Black velvet inlay, with a bright LED light on the upper inside.

Light switches on and off when box is opened or closed.

Powered by batteries (Batteries Included).

The box measures approx. 7 cm x 6.5 cm x 4.5 cm - Large Enough to fit wedding bands

-------------------------------------------------------

*Colour Red / Black , Price at $38.00 each.

*Customised wording white tube (up to 12 characters inclusive of spacing)- $3 per tube come with 2 flower swarovski.

* Add on Circle of eternity @ $3 (see last Pic)

-------------------------------------------------------
Will ensure LED Light is in working condition before sending out. To prevent lost mail, I will be posting the item out by registered mail (SingPost) @ additional $3.00 or you can opt for normal mailing @ $1( No tracking No.) .. If you are interested or have any queries, do drop me an email at: weddingstuffs@live.com.sg (Please put Subject: Ring Box – Your NAME) .

konozaku

A bit lost and confused

Dear all

I have just started searching for my fiancée's ring and was doing quite some research when I stumbled upon this website and read quite a bit.

Basically did my first appointment at E Clarity at about 6pm and this was my experience:

There were quite a few people but Amanda did take some time to serve me. A summary of my budget as follows given to Amanda:

$3.5k to $4k including ring setting
abt 0.5 to 0.7 carat

During the consultation, I was shown 5 loose diamonds and asked to appraise with the naked eye and Amanda says that the most important 2 Cs are carat and color. She mentioned that dun need to use the magnifying glass to inspect the diamonds as this is not how people can see the diamond too. I set my sights on one diamond with the following specs :

0.61 carat
E color
VS 2
Excellent cut
$3,900 (with simple ring setting included)

Did consider requesting to see the diamond chosen under sunlight to see if it is indeed excellent cut but it is a legit request?

Have seen quite a few bros buying from J&P and their diamonds seems nice!

Basically I think I would be checking out E Clarity, Josi Gems and J&P. Would like to seek the advice of bros here that with the above budget would I be likely to get a better deal at Josi and J&P or the one at E Clarity is a good buy?

Sorry for being lengthy but want to get the best buy.

Thanks in advance!

GhostpiG

Dear all

I have just started searching for my fiancée's ring and was doing quite some research when I stumbled upon this website and read quite a bit.

Basically did my first appointment at E Clarity at about 6pm and this was my experience:

There were quite a few people but Amanda did take some time to serve me. A summary of my budget as follows given to Amanda:

abt 0.5 to 0.7 carat

During the consultation, I was shown 5 loose diamonds and asked to appraise with the naked eye and Amanda says that the most important 2 Cs are carat and color. She mentioned that dun need to use the magnifying glass to inspect the diamonds as this is not how people can see the diamond too. I set my sights on one diamond with the following specs :

0.61 carat
E color
VS 2
Excellent cut

Did consider requesting to see the diamond chosen under sunlight to see if it is indeed excellent cut but it is a legit request?

Basically I think I would be checking out E Clarity, Josi Gems and J&P. Would like to seek the advice of bros here that with the above budget would I be likely to get a better deal at Josi and J&P or the one at E Clarity is a good buy?

Thanks in advance!

Hi good morning bro!

Erm.. based on what u said..
I wanna point out smth.. not about the diamonds but how u should go ard buying ur diamond.
U mentioned she said people dont use magnifying glass to see the diamonds right?

Den my question is..
Would u like to buy like how a diamond professional jeweller buys?
Or how the rest of the Singapore population buys?

But that aside.. most bros here have choosen the pro route..
They go into very indept in choosing the right diamond for the right price.
That including using scope images.. seeing the diamond from loupes aka magnifying glass.. cert.. etc etc..

Just my 5cents
Im not a pro in diamond analogy. .
Just using what u said and based on that

Milo-Dino

Dear all

abt 0.5 to 0.7 carat

0.61 carat
E color
VS 2
Excellent cut

Thanks in advance!

After I read that... I decided that she don't know what she's saying...

konozaku

After I read that... I decided that she don't know what she's saying...

Thanks bros for your replies. I think like what others feedback she trying a bit too hard to do everything by herself and she gets swamped when too many customers coming at the same time.

Looks like I better go to J&P and Josi Gems to continue my search.

Btw, want to ask again izzit normal to ask to see the diamonds in outside light vs the shop's spotlight and is my budget too off for people like J & P?

Really quite a dud when it comes to purchasing jewellery.

Thanks guys!

Draculav

Dear all

abt 0.5 to 0.7 carat

0.61 carat
E color
VS 2
Excellent cut

Thanks in advance!

Lol.. when I visited eclarity, I was served by Amanda too. She didn't believe in the proportions and she dissed the other jeweller that I went to that explained to me about diamonds in much better details. When I try to probe more, she brush me off.. I felt it's more like sales talk more than anything else. Some of the things she said didn't sound right.

I don't understand why she didn't allow you to use magnifying glass to see the diamond... All the shops I went to allowed me to do this.

I think its legit to ask to see a diamond under different lights.. All jewelry shops uses strong light to make the diamond look better. Even my gf's crystals on her nails was shining like a diamond. It's like a magician trick.
But when you take away the strong lights, only the true quality ones will remain shining.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.