Proposal Ring - Part 2

Draculav

Hi There,

Happy New Year ! Went shopping for a round rock and was quoted for GIA - 2196270005. Here are the aset scopes, could any kind soul help with some comments ?

imgur.com/i7mcpky

imgur.com/Dxo7X4G

Thank you!

Those are not ASET scope pictures. That's only the "hearts and arrows" pictures of the top side of the diamond. Both photos are very strange too.

1. Both photos are like not the same diamond. The star facet sizes are totally different. Hotspots are also different.

2. It somehow doesn't look right

3. The HCA is 1.6. Best is to go for something under 1.4 and use the real proper scopes to check.

i7mcpky.jpg

Dxo7X4G.jpg

======UPDATE======

Managed to find info of that diamond. This is the ASET scope.

143283-119.jpg

xjchew

Just made a deposit for a Super Ideal diamond at JP..

AGS: 104074257032
Weight: 0.531

Was able to see the inclusion under the ASET and Ideal scope but I think it is not that big an issue.. or is it? :s22:

Got my scope images.. is it me or is there too much green. :s13:

16030375423_7f674f2a99_o_d.jpg

16650267655_13f509ae8a_o_d.jpg

16462880720_ea11421a7b_o_d.jpg

16649268372_f81f39c5d3_o_d.jpg

xjchew

Where got too much green? :s13:

Oops.. keep looking at previous pages' Ideal scopes.. actually all the ASET scopes also got a bit of green. :s13:

So how are my scopes? Just like what one would expect from a JP Super Ideal?

navarro_t

for the setting wise, is there any difference between 4 prongs and 6 prongs?

i saw more settings are of 4 prongs...

seuZach_T90

Went to JP to buy earrings and got a long education about diamonds.

JP folks helped clean my ring which I bought from a family friend jeweller...
I borrowed their ASET scope to see my ring.. How come its all green sia? siann

wCbqmCI.jpg

rain_myth

wCbqmCI.jpg

dirt lah. long time bor polished :s13:

sugaricing83

My bf and I went down to JP today to clarify some doubts. We made an appointment with Samuel but was served by Casey instead. We originally wanted to book an appointment with Casey but he was fully booked, so very happy that he served us. Casey was super clear and helpful with his explanations. Below are my diamond's scopes. :D :D

Am thinking of going back to them for our wedding bands.

2lka004.jpg

dq22k0.jpg

2hocnx4.jpg

6i72gk.jpg

dustyRoom

wCbqmCI.jpg

moi usually tend to stay away from family friend's related business. easier to tio bluff because they know you trust them, and also moi will feel obliged to buy from them and this will cloud my judgement. referring to things in general and not diamonds only :s13:

evets

I mean other than the number of prongs difference .

its a personal preference.

all the while i prefer 4 as i tot it makes the diamond looks neater and also bigger (optical illusion). then i saw the tiffany setting with 6 prongs and love it.

6 prongs secure the diamond better compared to 4.
and i think the size of the diamond makes a different too. its its too small, 6 prongs look too much IMO.

evets

wCbqmCI.jpg

how is ur ring vs their?

which one sparkle more?

evets

Thanks, I am looking at an design similar to Cartier's old solitaire ring which she likes. Just dunno what size would be a better fit for it :p

see if u can get her current ring and do a rough estimate of the ring size.. u will definitely need to do resizing after the proposal.

i had to resize mine twice cause she really has small fingers. :s12:

aceminer

Whats a average quotation for the ring setting in JP? I got quoted for 850 which i feel its too expensive. Its just something slightly more complicated with no side diamonds.

evets

Slightly more complicated? U got a pix?

Maybe to them, they need to make a special mould and all these are added cost and extra workmanship.

Keep it plain if u find it expensive. Should be around $600 for normal. $1k + with diamond settings.

Else try to get a quote from other jewellers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.