Proposal Ring - Part 2

Draculav

How is super ideal cut being defined ah? I see GIA very nv write if it is super ideal.. Any other means to proof?

Super Ideal cut is a term used to describe top notch diamonds that is cut to the maximum light performance.
- optimal proportions (HCA tool)
- excellent light performance (ASET scope)
- perfect symmetry (Hearts/Arrows scope)

The best is to know and check yourself if your diamond is a Super Ideal cut. JannPaul has the strictest standards for their Super Ideal using those criterias. Some retailers can claim theirs is Super Ideal. But whether it is truly a Super Ideal, that's another qn. I came across a retailer claiming hers was a Super Ideal Cut but she didn't have the ASET scopes to prove it.
Best is to know what to look out for yourself.

Its just like the the "Ideal Cut" term. Some retailers anyhow says theirs is Ideal cut because its a GIA triple Excellent.

thesal

So.. went down to JP today as well after doing my basic research and visiting several chain stores.

Was served by Ms Barcelona (no sh!t) who explained the diamonds in more details. Was friendly and even explained diamonds from other stores to me when I showed them the GIA no and pricing

End up getting the diamond below from JP's father instead as it's much cheaper... An almost super ideal.

jermzc

I know many people think that Tiffany is overpriced but the fact is that diamonds themselves are overpriced. You can't eat them and their resale value is terrible. Hahaha. Diamond prices are largely due to a successful marketing strategy by De Beers, and when it comes to marketing few can rival the Tiffany brand. Which is why diamonds and the Tiffany brand are so coveted. We already got fooled into buying diamonds so I'm just fooled again buying a Tiffany diamond as well. They say love is foolish after all!

tk

End up getting the diamond below from JP's father instead as it's much cheaper... An almost super ideal.

If it's a GIA triple excellent or AGS triple ideal, HCA <2, looks good visually and much cheaper than a JP super ideal, u have a good buy.. ;)

Fabulous91

Hey guys! I have been reading this thread for months - which indeniably provided me with quality information, thanks by the way! I've never wrote a review before anywhere, but I thought I ought to this time.

My boyfriend and I have been looking all around for an engagement ring for about 4 months. We're open to options and we were practically on a roll going to every jewellery store. Though, we were always on the fence each time we leave most of the stores, questioning their credibility and sincerity (I particularly HATE pushy sales!)

However one of stores we went to that really turned it all around was of course - JannPaul, which was highly recommended and raved about in this forum - and I finally understood why! Boy, were we sold. I am personally very particular about customer service and JannPaul was just.. polished! My boyfriend and I was served by a really nice chap, Jerome. He patiently went through the whole process of diamond education with us, which lasted for about a good 2 hours. (Which by the way ended after the store opening hours, we felt bad but Jerome never rushed us. Excellent service right there, guys!) Afterwhich my boyfriend decided to place a deposit on a loose diamond that we decided on and of course recommended by Jerome himself.

We paid another visit about 2 weeks later to decide on the setting, but me being me, decided to go again a week later (which was yesterday) to take a look at my setting again since I had doubts. I've FINALLY decided to go ahead with the setting and now we're just waiting for the collection of The ring!

So here's my take. If you're looking for excellent and stringent quality, impeccable service, no pushy-sales and most importantly, value for your money, I would genuinely recommend JannPaul! I feel that they are sincere in what they do and particularly focus on building good long term relationship with customers instead of a "please-buy-so-i-can-get-my-commision" kind of thing, if you know what I mean. Lol.

And I think we could safely say that Jerome is one of the best that we have met. Very knowledgeable - he does know his stuff very well. We're always at ease whenever we're discussing and he really does try to understand our concerns and doubts each time. Highly recommended :)

Also, I am not in any way affiliated to JP or anything of that sort. This is just a genuine and honest review coming from a really satisfied customer! And I really do hope your ring journey experience will be exciting because mine sure was! xx

HYHY123

Morning guys.. Placed a deposit at JP for this diamond . GIA report no 2161957013 .. Total price for diamond alone is $8,500. Any comments about the specs vs the price?

I was considering so hard between this and the other one that is $200 cheaper , 0.06 carat smaller but color D, similar vvs2 but cloud and feather property of inclusion. Did I made the right choice between these 2?

Thank you

thesal

Morning guys.. Placed a deposit at JP for this diamond . GIA report no 2161957013 .. Total price for diamond alone is $8,500. Any comments about the specs vs the price?

I was considering so hard between this and the other one that is $200 cheaper , 0.06 carat smaller but color D, similar vvs2 but cloud and feather property of inclusion. Did I made the right choice between these 2?

Thank you

If all else are similar except size and color.. I guess size is more impt for girls.

D & E difficult to tell the difference lor

jermzc

If all else are similar except size and color.. I guess size is more impt for girls.

D & E difficult to tell the difference lor

Completely agree. In fact from D all the way to J, I think most people will find it hard to tell the difference with the naked eye. Clarity is completely impossible to tell with the naked eye unless the diamond is heavily included. I'll say for the 4Cs, Cut matters the most, and Carat the most obvious to see the difference (although between 0.9 and 1 carat it's hard to tell the difference also).

But a diamond for proposing is not a piece of hardware but a matter of the heart. Some people I know will feel their diamond is not "perfect" if the Color is not D and Clarity is not IF. They are prepared to sacrifice on the size. Some others are willing to pay a huge premium for branded diamonds like Tiffany, Lazare or Hearts on Fire.

But price-wise HYHY123 I'll say your diamond is comparable with other local private jewellers. From my previous research I'll say JP does provide competitive pricing for their diamonds.

HYHY123

Completely agree. In fact from D all the way to J, I think most people will find it hard to tell the difference with the naked eye. Clarity is completely impossible to tell with the naked eye unless the diamond is heavily included. I'll say for the 4Cs, Cut matters the most, and Carat the most obvious to see the difference (although between 0.9 and 1 carat it's hard to tell the difference also).

But a diamond for proposing is not a piece of hardware but a matter of the heart. Some people I know will feel their diamond is not "perfect" if the Color is not D and Clarity is not IF. They are prepared to sacrifice on the size. Some others are willing to pay a huge premium for branded diamonds like Tiffany, Lazare or Hearts on Fire.

But price-wise HYHY123 I'll say your diamond is comparable with other local private jewellers. From my previous research I'll say JP does provide competitive pricing for their diamonds.

Thanks. Yup u are right. It's the feeling of imperfection especially when it is just 1 grade more to have the best color.. But then again, naked eye really can't see the diff, and the carat increase seems quite significant..

thegaunlet

Thanks. Yup u are right. It's the feeling of imperfection especially when it is just 1 grade more to have the best color.. But then again, naked eye really can't see the diff, and the carat increase seems quite significant..

Hehe spot on. Someone mention before you can have 2 factors 1. Eye Clean and 2. Mind Clean.

Best Color is more manageable than Best Clarity.

Samuel told me 0.0x and 0.1 difference is hard to see. Of course if compare side by side can notice slightly when up close. 0.2 and more the difference is very noticeable. He recommended color over 0.0x carat.

Unless the ladies print out the Scope images and compare with their friends it's harder to compare Clarity but Color if take a hard look side by side can see which is clearer in the DEF Colorless Range.

sugaricing83

has anyone seen JP's octagon cut diamond? very tempted to go down and take a look. 88 facets, 8 hearts and arrows and 8 sides. :p

kuang89

I have a newbie question to ask, I've bought for my gf a sookee brilliant rose ring. The case or the ring setting is nice n my gf likes it alot. I was told by sookee that they have copyright to the ring design.

I was wondering if i could get JP to somewhat copy the design? Is it possible?

HYHY123

Hehe spot on. Someone mention before you can have 2 factors 1. Eye Clean and 2. Mind Clean.

Best Color is more manageable than Best Clarity.

Samuel told me 0.0x and 0.1 difference is hard to see. Of course if compare side by side can notice slightly when up close. 0.2 and more the difference is very noticeable. He recommended color over 0.0x carat.

Unless the ladies print out the Scope images and compare with their friends it's harder to compare Clarity but Color if take a hard look side by side can see which is clearer in the DEF Colorless Range.

Ya clarity really least importance imo. Vs1 is good enough. Or even vs2.. But just curious, can u tell the color diff of D and E? I couldn't leh. Maybe put side by side look really hard can see..

HYHY123

I have a newbie question to ask, I've bought for my gf a sookee brilliant rose ring. The case or the ring setting is nice n my gf likes it alot. I was told by sookee that they have copyright to the ring design.

I was wondering if i could get JP to somewhat copy the design? Is it possible?

yes.. U can

tk

But just curious, can u tell the color diff of D and E? I couldn't leh. Maybe put side by side look really hard can see..

color need to be min 2 grade difference before most pple can see the diff when placed side by side.. D & E most pple cannot see the diff so your eye is normal.. :D

SBloh72

See which kind of lightings you see the diamonds in also. 1 color diff very hard to see

thegaunlet

Ya clarity really least importance imo. Vs1 is good enough. Or even vs2.. But just curious, can u tell the color diff of D and E? I couldn't leh. Maybe put side by side look really hard can see..

Top down even D to F cannot really see. Bottom up if have D, E and F can notice. In the colorless, it's not so much yellow like D compared to G but how clear it is. If Bottom up can see which clearer. Top down almost impossible.

But since 1 grade, just get the better one :p Specs better you also shiok hahaha!

starsparkle

has anyone seen JP's octagon cut diamond? very tempted to go down and take a look. 88 facets, 8 hearts and arrows and 8 sides. :p

I bought the Octagon! =:p
At first saw their Solasfera... then Brellia.. then Octavia.. then finally confirm on the Octagon. More to love and first sight...
Felt quite pai seh for my fickleness..Despite me going to their shop 5 times, they were very accommodating and patient.. I'm not the type who will upgrade in the future, so this is a once in a lifetime ring for me.

This is the diamond I'm getting :D
Now just need to wait for my scopes and then my 3d design.

zOHy2w8.jpg

HYHY123

Top down even D to F cannot really see. Bottom up if have D, E and F can notice. In the colorless, it's not so much yellow like D compared to G but how clear it is. If Bottom up can see which clearer. Top down almost impossible.

But since 1 grade, just get the better one :p Specs better you also shiok hahaha!

Ohh no la my case wasn't like that. I was choosing between 2 diamonds

0.71 D colour vvs2 (feather , cloud I think)
0.77 E color vvs2 (pinpoint , needle)

The 0.77 cost only 200 more..which one will u pick haha

jermzc

Ohh no la my case wasn't like that. I was choosing between 2 diamonds

0.71 D colour vvs2 (feather , cloud I think)
0.77 E color vvs2 (pinpoint , needle)

The 0.77 cost only 200 more..which one will u pick haha

Frankly, nobody can tell the difference between these 2 diamonds with their naked eye unless they see the certificate, so go with your heart.

My jeweller told me before that 99% of people cannot tell the difference between the colour of diamonds in the "colorless" to the "near colorless" range. Once the diamond is set, even expert jewellers who handle diamonds on a daily basis find it hard to tell D apart from J with their naked eye. For the rest of the world, it is impossible.

Even if the people around you have very sharp eyes, when will there really be perfect conditions to examine the color of the diamond? Nobody is under the white light of the jewellery shop all the time!

For me and my fiancee, the specs of the diamond were not that important, so I went for a bigger stone at a price within my budget.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.