Proposal Ring - Part 2

deathnote

can i check how long does it take for jannpaul to deliver a fairly simple design ring?
and how much deposit do you have to place?

Grizz.P

I bought the Octagon! =:p
At first saw their Solasfera... then Brellia.. then Octavia.. then finally confirm on the Octagon. More to love and first sight...
Felt quite pai seh for my fickleness..Despite me going to their shop 5 times, they were very accommodating and patient.. I'm not the type who will upgrade in the future, so this is a once in a lifetime ring for me.

This is the diamond I'm getting :D
Now just need to wait for my scopes and then my 3d design.

zOHy2w8.jpg

Nice photo! They didn't have that diamond yet when I bought my ring :/

Grizz.P

can i check how long does it take for jannpaul to deliver a fairly simple design ring?

Mine took about 4 weeks. They might be able to accommodate your timeline if you need it earlier. Deposit is $500. Not sure if it's the same now.

HYHY123

hi guys.. Placed a deposit at JP for this diamond GIA report no 6167860364 by 9.5k. Any comments about the specs vs the price?

I was considering so hard between this and the other one that is $300 cheaper , 0.81 carat smaller but color E, similar vs2 . Did I made the right choice between these 2?

bro i think u got typo error somewhere? the diamond u bought is 0.84 CT G, VS1 righT? how come u say the other one is 0.81 CT smaller and similar VS2 :s13:

Edit: oh ps I know what u meant liao must have been too sleepy Ytd. U mean its 0.84 vs 0.81.. Color G vs color E. But both still have different clarity leh it's VS 1 vs VS2..

i was in the same situation as u .. My GIA report is 2161957013 .. Compared to a $200 cheaper, color D but 0.71 carat. And somehow I didn't like feather inclusion although it's vvs2.. Most people say that naked eye can't see a color difference of 1 grade..

HYHY123

1 mth + ba.. i think deposit not v strict.. but i gave 10+ %.. no diff to me IMO

Grizz.P

bro i think u got typo error somewhere? the diamond u bought is 0.84 CT G, VS1 righT? how come u say the other one is 0.81 CT smaller and similar VS2 :s13:

Edit: oh ps I know what u meant liao must have been too sleepy Ytd. U mean its 0.84 vs 0.81.. Color G vs color E. But both still have different clarity leh it's VS 1 vs VS2..

i was in the same situation as u .. My GIA report is 2161957013 .. Compared to a $200 cheaper, color D but 0.71 carat. And somehow I didn't like feather inclusion although it's vvs2.. Most people say that naked eye can't see a color difference of 1 grade..

Feather inclusion is ok. I saw some VVS1 got feather inclusion also. As long as it's not exposed to the edge it's ok.

1 color diff I can see.. But it's not obvious.. like need about 3-5 secs to stare at it. 2 color diff I can tell straight away

xtwis7

How common is it to substitute diamond with other gems? Any pinkish stones that are commonly used as solitaires?

Grizz.P

How common is it to substitute diamond with other gems? Any pinkish stones that are commonly used as solitaires?

One of my friend's proposal ring is a blue sapphire. In fact, I know 2 persons that used blue sapphire. Not sure about pink though.. Might be abit too girly for some. Unless its pink diamond which will cost a bomb :s13:

Dicer181

One of my friend's proposal ring is a blue sapphire. In fact, I know 2 persons that used blue sapphire. Not sure about pink though.. Might be abit too girly for some. Unless its pink diamond which will cost a bomb :s13:

Indeed it is very common to use other gems. Though i didn't really seen anyone with a pink gem.
Most common I heard is ruby and sapphire.

Iconic sapphire is the late princess diana and now kate middleton ring..

cdfabf28be5269bae778f15adbf93dfa.jpg

4562800.jpg

Mom has this as well lolllls

PS: Just remembered, my aunt has an Emerald.. heard it costs a bomb!

dustyRoom

Feather inclusion is ok. I saw some VVS1 got feather inclusion also. As long as it's not exposed to the edge it's ok.

1 color diff I can see.. But it's not obvious.. like need about 3-5 secs to stare at it. 2 color diff I can tell straight away

same.. actually i can differentiate quite easily until I hit D/E :s13:

xtwis7

Yea, I heard of sapphires, rubies, emeralds but it seems like there's no pink stone other than pink diamonds.

jermzc

Yup other grades like E to F, F to G is pretty obvious.. Just can't tell D and E.. Can't see the yellow in E at all..

Unset stones set side-by-side upside-down under the jewellery shop's bright white light, the difference may be noticeable. Once the diamond is set and your fiancee is wearing it in daily life, it's really a guess whether the stone is a D or J.

There are color grades that command an unwarranted premium over the next grade, such as D to E, F to G. Guys can save a lot by opting for E and G color stones instead of trying for the next color grade.

doody_

Unset stones set side-by-side upside-down under the jewellery shop's bright white light, the difference may be noticeable. Once the diamond is set and your fiancee is wearing it in daily life, it's really a guess whether the stone is a D or J.

There are color grades that command an unwarranted premium over the next grade, such as D to E, F to G. Guys can save a lot by opting for E and G color stones instead of trying for the next color grade.

Go for a D or F if you have a bit more money, E or G if you want to save a bit :) D & E are roughly in the same category, and F & G in another.

jermzc

Go for a D or F if you have a bit more money, E or G if you want to save a bit :) D & E are roughly in the same category, and F & G in another.

For me, once I learnt about the Color grading system, I told myself G was the grade I wanted if D was not worth it. I hated the letters E and F. They were like the failing grades you received in school. Hahahah.

HYHY123

Hi all,

Can help me see my scope images and tell me your comments? I see the center of the diamond the circle like not very rounded, and on the ASET scope, it seems very green compared to other ASET scope images of others..
Of cos this is just my own comments and I'm not an expert in this, appreciate help from you guys. THanks

Cert%200.77%20E%20VVS2%20GIA%202161957013_zpstpxeqqhc.jpg

Hearts%200.77%20E%20VVS2%20GIA%202161957013_zpsyop6nrpz.jpg

Ideal%200.77%20E%20VVS2%20GIA%202161957013_zpsgwriencj.jpg

Aset%200.77%20E%20VVS2%20GIA%202161957013_zpsht6yznnl.jpg

Actual%200.77%20E%20VVS2%20GIA%202161957013_zpscj482acz.jpg

Dicer181

Yea, I heard of sapphires, rubies, emeralds but it seems like there's no pink stone other than pink diamonds.

Did some research, there are actually plenty of pink gem stones..

Pink sapphire
pinksapphire-grades.jpg

Pink Spinel
spinel-gem-312432a.jpg

Pink Tourmaline
rose-pink-tourmaline-large.jpg

Pink Moganite
e93ee22196bca1da7f9260e231405fdb.jpg

Most good looking still Pink Diamonds lah!
102067312-102067312_Sothebys.530x298.jpg

Grizz.P

Hi all,

Can help me see my scope images and tell me your comments? I see the center of the diamond the circle like not very rounded, and on the ASET scope, it seems very green compared to other ASET scope images of others..
Of cos this is just my own comments and I'm not an expert in this, appreciate help from you guys. THanks

Cert%200.77%20E%20VVS2%20GIA%202161957013_zpstpxeqqhc.jpg

Hearts%200.77%20E%20VVS2%20GIA%202161957013_zpsyop6nrpz.jpg

Ideal%200.77%20E%20VVS2%20GIA%202161957013_zpsgwriencj.jpg

Aset%200.77%20E%20VVS2%20GIA%202161957013_zpsht6yznnl.jpg

Actual%200.77%20E%20VVS2%20GIA%202161957013_zpscj482acz.jpg

They look good. Mine looks the same with the green circle in the middle. It's not meant to be a full round. Good thing about JP is their strict standards. If something's not right, it won't be in their super ideal cut alreadi. Nice size btw.. 0.77 :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.