Proposal Ring - Part 3

KinoChoco

Mind sharing you guys budget for ring at JP? I see some quote till 5-7k...

My gf don't want waste money on ring and ask for sub-3k, think JP will entertain us?

They will entertain anyone, regardless of 1k or 100k 🤗

staedtler_07

here you go

7V80WH4.jpg

ZycRE9F.jpg

mLin4C4.jpg

Just wondering how many carats is your diamond? And perhaps you can share with us why you had chosen a 6 prong setting?

Lss

My gf don't want waste money on ring and ask for sub-3k, think JP will entertain us?

Yes they will. Pick a nice one for your gf.

mero_cwj

Just wondering how many carats is your diamond? And perhaps you can share with us why you had chosen a 6 prong setting?

1.1c. Chose 6 prong for a bit of added security since my GF can be quite lun zhun sometimes, I figured 6 prongs would offer more protection against the girdle chipping.

mero_cwj

Wow, it's really pretty! I'm thinking if I should choose the 6 prong and am afraid it'll make my 0.55c smaller 😬

JP has the 4 prong version as a standard setting, which you can ask them to show you. Personally, I would have also chosen 4 prongs for a smaller stone since the exposed girdle area is smaller and there is less risk of chipping.

But don't worry too much about whether a 6 prong will dwarf the center stone, because there are other parts of the ring which can be modified accordingly. E.g. for mine, the band is slightly thicker than usual so visually it looks matched to the center stone. The JP salespeople should be able to advise you on what works best for your specific diamond.

adventdoll

Thanks for your advice. I'm going for a 4 prong setting as it looks much better. Now, I can't seem to decide if I should get a setting with or without side diamonds.

We went down to JP to take a look and I love the one with side diamonds. However, under natural lighting, the diamonds look flat (not sparkly, and since normal lighting is the usual lighting, I can't help but think perhaps no side diamonds is the way to go.

Anyone facing the same issue? Haha, I think the setting is harder to choose than the actual diamond itself.

JP has the 4 prong version as a standard setting, which you can ask them to show you. Personally, I would have also chosen 4 prongs for a smaller stone since the exposed girdle area is smaller and there is less risk of chipping.

But don't worry too much about whether a 6 prong will dwarf the center stone, because there are other parts of the ring which can be modified accordingly. E.g. for mine, the band is slightly thicker than usual so visually it looks matched to the center stone. The JP salespeople should be able to advise you on what works best for your specific diamond.

wlyeoh1

just got a oct 0.463 vs1 E today. quoted 3.5k for it. bling till my eyes buay tahan. haha

tinkerella

here you go

7V80WH4.jpg

ZycRE9F.jpg

mLin4C4.jpg

Thanks for sharing this! My setting is exactly the same as yours cept it's 4 prongs and my dream wedding band is also a channel set half eternity.

My stone is much smaller than yours tho! So i probably have to make the channel set stones smaller as well to be proportionate?

May I ask what's the carat weight of your individual diamonds in the wedding band? If i don't remember wrongly your 1.1c is also a G colour like mine, did you request for G coloured stones in your wedding band as well? I am afraid higher coloured stones may make the G colour obvious..

Sorry for all the questions!

KinoChoco

Thanks for sharing this! My setting is exactly the same as yours cept it's 4 prongs and my dream wedding band is also a channel set half eternity.

My stone is much smaller than yours tho! So i probably have to make the channel set stones smaller as well to be proportionate?

May I ask what's the carat weight of your individual diamonds in the wedding band? If i don't remember wrongly your 1.1c is also a G colour like mine, did you request for G coloured stones in your wedding band as well? I am afraid higher coloured stones may make the G colour obvious..

Melee diamonds will always look whiter, even if your main stone is D, the side diamonds / wedding band diamonds will always appear to be whiter, I don't think there's any point to request G for the melee diamonds, their default is D-F if I'm not wrong, I doubt they even carry G for melee

Marco_surf

I just successfully proposed!! :D Thank you all for the help and advice.
How do I upload the pics here?

mero_cwj

Not sure about the wedding band actually, because I just asked them if it would fit flush to a standard half eternity band. I didn't specify any requirements for the wedding band.

I believe the width of the band, total carat weight of the melee diamonds, number of melee diamonds can be calibrated (and will have to be calibrated) based on finger size, width of wedding band etc, so there shouldn't be any issue there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.