Proposal Ring - Part 3

afterzero

Visited JP and got this quote from them. Posting this for other bro's pricing reference. Settings not included.

Super Ideal Cut
0.44 F VS1 - 2850
0.54 G VS2 - 3950
0.60 G VS2 - 4600

Octagon
0.512 D VS2 - 4800
0.45 G VS1 - 3250
0.456 E VS2 - 3300
0.487 D VVS1 - 4200

Given that this all are JP SIC and OCT, which do you think is the best value?

snowblaze

I don't think any jeweller provide such service...unless you wanna customise a setting and the jeweller happen to have ASET scope to loan you
Orh. That case, where could I buy an ideal scope and ASET scope? Reason for asking is because I just bought a 0.9 carat diamond for 10k on impulse from a private jeweler. :( I only know it's triple excellent until I saw this thread and realise about the importance of the having to see the scope. :(
Will any ASET scope or ideal scope work?
Thanks le!

mero_cwj

Visited JP and got this quote from them. Posting this for other bro's pricing reference. Settings not included.

Super Ideal Cut
0.44 F VS1 - 2850
0.54 G VS2 - 3950
0.60 G VS2 - 4600

Octagon
0.512 D VS2 - 4800
0.45 G VS1 - 3250
0.456 E VS2 - 3300
0.487 D VVS1 - 4200

Given that this all are JP SIC and OCT, which do you think is the best value?
IMO, best value would be the 0.54 G VS2 for the super ideal and 0.456 E VS2 for the octagon

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

mero_cwj

Orh. That case, where could I buy an ideal scope and ASET scope? Reason for asking is because I just bought a 0.9 carat diamond for 10k on impulse from a private jeweler. :( I only know it's triple excellent until I saw this thread and realise about the importance of the having to see the scope. :(
Thanks le!
https://ideal-scope.com/shop/

Only one place that sells it. You'll provably need to get the ideal light also.

afterzero

IMO, best value would be the 0.54 G VS2 for the super ideal and 0.456 E VS2 for the octagon

Thank you! I'm thoughts too. I've confirmed the octagon. Mainly because it's 2 color grade higher than the round. Also size wise, the round is a bit too eye catching in my opinion. Not my gf's personality. I'll share the scopes once I have them. Thanks!

KinoChoco

Thanks le!

U can try Google online for aset scope to buy online, I don't think Singapore sells it, actually to be honest, kind of no point buying the scope now since you've already purchased the diamond, it's not cheap for the scopes too, probably 100+. Have you checked the HCA score of your diamond? Go Google HCA diamond tool and key in the specs based on your cert. hopefully the score will be below 2.0 at least you know it's not a bad one.

Your private jeweller offer any refund or upgrade or exchange?

snowblaze

https://ideal-scope.com/shop/

Only one place that sells it. You'll provably need to get the ideal light also.

Thanks! If my diamond is already fixed into the setting. Do i have to take the diamond out in order to use the scope?

U can try Google online for aset scope to buy online, I don't think Singapore sells it, actually to be honest, kind of no point buying the scope now since you've already purchased the diamond, it's not cheap for the scopes too, probably 100+. Have you checked the HCA score of your diamond? Go Google HCA diamond tool and key in the specs based on your cert. hopefully the score will be below 2.0 at least you know it's not a bad one.

Your private jeweller offer any refund or upgrade or exchange?

Unfortunately, no refund or anything leh. My HCA score is 0.9.
Light Return: Excellent
Fire: Excellent
Scintillation: Excellent
Spread: Very Good

I understand this isnt a good indicator of a good diamond right? :(

KinoChoco

Thanks! If my diamond is already fixed into the setting. Do i have to take the diamond out in order to use the scope?

Well at least you know it's not a horrible one. I'll suggest forget it, since you mentioned there's no after purchase upgrade or anything...so why bother anymore. I'm sure the diamond doesn't look bad in real, just focus on the positivity of it and move on. Get ready for your proposal!

mero_cwj

To get the kind of clear ASSET images you see here, yes. Otherwise parts of the scope image won't be so clear but you probably still can still see roughly whether it has good ASET performance or not. But if you have already bought it and cannot refund, then no point agonizing about it lah

therightone

Hi All,

I've been lurking for a while and learned a lot from these threads, I have already confirmed the ring earlier today at JP.

The one I got is a Brellia with a 2013 AGS certificate... pretty happy with the purchase overall but I noticed most here seems to have newer AGS certificate. They did explain to me that the entire certification process takes a long time or sometimes the dealer wait for prices to go up before releasing their stocks.

In your experiences, what are the likely reason for this aside from those I mentioned above?

Thanks for all your answers!

KinoChoco

Hi All,

I've been lurking for a while and learned a lot from these threads, I have already confirmed the ring earlier today at JP.

The one I got is a Brellia with a 2013 AGS certificate... pretty happy with the purchase overall but I noticed most here seems to have newer AGS certificate. They did explain to me that the entire certification process takes a long time or sometimes the dealer wait for prices to go up before releasing their stocks.

In your experiences, what are the likely reason for this aside from those I mentioned above?

That's odd, i don't think they usually sell diamonds where the cert is over 2-3 years old, yours is 4 years....that's way too long.

I think you can actually request them to re-certificate it (provided you can wait) or request for a discount of 100-150SGD? (That's the price for certification if I'm not wrong)
I

hisdearqueen

Hi All,

Hmm, I'm not sure how the "upgrade" thing works, but maybe somebody went to upgrade their diamond so this is the one traded-in back? Pardon me if this is wrong, or could someone clarify? Like, surely if they have the policy to upgrade then ... the old ones, they go back to the selling pool issit?

So when first owner bought in 2015, the 2013 cert is about 2 years old. After 2 years le wanna upgrade, so now 2017 the cert is 4 years old.

P/S: Of course if JP doesn't take the trade-in ones back and return them into the selling pool then this theory is naught ...

therightone

That's odd, i don't think they usually sell diamonds where the cert is over 2-3 years old, yours is 4 years....that's way too long.

I think you can actually request them to re-certificate it (provided you can wait) or request for a discount of 100-150SGD? (That's the price for certification if I'm not wrong)
I

Likely not able to wait as I need it in about 8 weeks.... they did give me a $200 discount since I also confirmed the wedding band from them.

What's even odder is that it's a 0.497 carat Brellia (which I am under the impression is relatively difficult to obtain)... and 4 years old. Not bothered by it really except I'm more curious why it sat somewhere in the chain for that long.

The only "flaw" I can identify based on the certificate really is that it seems like this diamond is a bit too deep.. with a depth of 71.7%.

therightone

Hmm, I'm not sure how the "upgrade" thing works, but maybe somebody went to upgrade their diamond so this is the one traded-in back? Pardon me if this is wrong, or could someone clarify? Like, surely if they have the policy to upgrade then ... the old ones, they go back to the selling pool issit?

So when first owner bought in 2015, the 2013 cert is about 2 years old. After 2 years le wanna upgrade, so now 2017 the cert is 4 years old.

P/S: Of course if JP doesn't take the trade-in ones back and return them into the selling pool then this theory is naught ...

That's the first thing that came to mind after the dust settled last night as well :s13:

But I assume JP would've done another round of checking on a trade-in to make sure it's within specs etc.... but if it is indeed a trade-in, I don't think they will be open enough to tell me thouugh, so that could be the case.

KinoChoco

Likely not able to wait as I need it in about 8 weeks.... they did give me a $200 discount since I also confirmed the wedding band from them.

What's even odder is that it's a 0.497 carat Brellia (which I am under the impression is relatively difficult to obtain)... and 4 years old. Not bothered by it really except I'm more curious why it sat somewhere in the chain for that long.

The only "flaw" I can identify based on the certificate really is that it seems like this diamond is a bit too deep.. with a depth of 71.7%.

Cutting wise should be fine, these are patented cut diamonds.

As for the trade-in cause, yes trade-ins are allowed but we will need to pay a re-certification if the diamond is over 2 years old (as they do not usually sell any diamond where the cert is over 2 years old hence they will re-certificate it after buying back the diamond.)

Your diamond is indeed a weird one, maybe they forgotten to re-certificate it?

Sinkie

That's the first thing that came to mind after the dust settled last night as well :s13:

But I assume JP would've done another round of checking on a trade-in to make sure it's within specs etc.... but if it is indeed a trade-in, I don't think they will be open enough to tell me thouugh, so that could be the case.

2 weeks ago I also went jp to see a >1 carot diamond, the gia cert was also dated 2013, then I went larry, their gia cert was like 2016-2017

So I asked jp how they handle those diamond that was used to upgrade, and the sales told me these diamond were usually sold to hk diamond dealer and they are used to make pendant or for personal use

Anyway I was told those diamond with gia cert usually face an immediate 50% depreciation once u step out of the shop?

therightone

Cutting wise should be fine, these are patented cut diamonds.

As for the trade-in cause, yes trade-ins are allowed but we will need to pay a re-certification if the diamond is over 2 years old (as they do not usually sell any diamond where the cert is over 2 years old hence they will re-certificate it after buying back the diamond.)

Your diamond is indeed a weird one, maybe they forgotten to re-certificate it?

if that's the case then I wonder what happened here...

I was set on getting a 0.434 for $2900 but I don't like to pay for D color as I thought it's a waste of money as I can't see the difference between D and F/G so I asked what other choices we have yesterday, the other ones they showed me on Friday were already sold out and they came up with 3 other Brellia...

During the blind test, I keep going for the 0.497 (because it's larger haha) so we ended up choosing between the 0.434 D and 0.497 E... I went for the latter for about $600 more after the discount.

The only thing I remember is that she mentioned she did not see it in their system on Friday that's why it was not quoted to me and apparently this was set aside for one of the Boss' customer. But ended up mine since I was ready to pay to reserve.

KinoChoco

if that's the case then I wonder what happened here...

I was set on getting a 0.434 for $2900 but I don't like to pay for D color as I thought it's a waste of money as I can't see the difference between D and F/G so I asked what other choices we have yesterday, the other ones they showed me on Friday were already sold out and they came up with 3 other Brellia...

During the blind test, I keep going for the 0.497 (because it's larger haha) so we ended up choosing between the 0.434 D and 0.497 E... I went for the latter for about $600 more after the discount.

The only thing I remember is that she mentioned she did not see it in their system on Friday that's why it was not quoted to me and apparently this was set aside for one of the Boss' customer. But ended up mine since I was ready to pay to reserve.

Oh, one of the forum-er here mentioned that they do not re-sell those 2nd hand diamonds over here, then i'm not sure if those first hand in stock where the certification was old what happens to it.

Maybe they don't really re-certificate it unless something happened to the diamond (like drop etc) Since i doubt the specs will drop if no one's wearing it and it's kept properly.

1000smiles

If in doubt, why dont you ask them to recertify the diamond? This way, the diamond lab can prove that the diamond is still in perfect condition.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.