Proposal Ring - Part 3

WQtRiggEr

Hi, would like to seek recommendations and advice from you experts on which of the following would be the best bang for buck?

1. 0.731 ct E VS1 A CUT ABOVE USD 4,462 (~S$6.5k after GST)
2. 0.712 ct F VVS2 A CUT ABOVE USD 4,143 (~S$6k after GST)
3. 0.758 ct F VVS2 Black by Brian Gavin USD 4,666 (~S$6.75k after GST)
4. 0.728 ct E VVS2 Black by Brian Gavin USD 4,728 (~S$6.85k after GST)
5. 0.747 ct E VS1 Black by Brian Gavin USD 4,540 (~S$6.6k after GST)

I'm leaning towards #1 at the moment but is there any particular reason why I should not choose that over the others?

KinoChoco

Hi, would like to seek recommendations and advice from you experts on which of the following would be the best bang for buck?

I'm leaning towards #1 at the moment but is there any particular reason why I should not choose that over the others?

Try get a quote from HOH/JP for an ideal cut (not super ideal), based on the aset scopes miltah shared few posts earlier, it seems like their scope looks better than your #1.

You might even save alot hassle and ideal could be cheaper than ACA too. - not exactly sure on the pricing tho

Edit: I was interested to see #5 but how come black series doesn’t have aset sia, odd, I tot they used to have it

KinoChoco

Is Jann Paul inside House of Hung? Why different naming?

Father business.

One of the partner of JP’s, the dad is the boss of HOH, this is also why JP is one of the best in terms of quality and pricing yet having an actual retail space and not just an online business, pretty sure due to the connections and resources, they have the mean to keep things lower cost for their business.

Miltah

The reason one goes online is for the vast inventory and cheaper cost. Personally if I bought online, I would not buy VVS clarity. A JP SIC in the 0.7c range is also about $7-8k (if I’m not wrong) so the savings becomes less.

The best bang is therefore looking for a good F or G color with VS or even SI1 clarity. E.g
0.727 F VS2 BGD black $5600 after gst
https://www.briangavindiamonds.com/.../0.727-f-vs2-round-diamond-ags-c-104104774022

Here’s another from HOH ideal cuts. As u can see, a good aset/idealscope does not equate to good symmetry. Even shopping with idealcuts, u need to take your pick

qkLoVVS.jpg

@Kinochoco, yes I did notice the BGD black missing ASET too and contacted them regarding it. Apparently lots of new stones just came online. If there’s a stone u interested, email them n they will rush the ASET for u

Miltah

thanks. i have decided to go for optical symmetry now..what do you guys think of the below diamond

https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-4063432.htm

Prices sgd, exclude tax:

Your pick 0.70 G VS2 Whiteflash ACA, $4720
0.71 F SI1 Whiteflash ACA, $4465
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-4089747.htm

0.74 G VS2 BGD Signature, $4754
https://www.briangavindiamonds.com/.../0.745-g-vs2-round-diamond-ags-c-104104774023

0.71 G VS2 BGD black, $4800
https://www.briangavindiamonds.com/.../0.715-g-vs2-round-diamond-bkags-104104723050

0.70 is a flat caret weight. I have no issue with it if there were no other choices. But u have...
The SI1 clarity is actually quite ‘clean’, minimal feather except a few crystal which they vouch eye clean

Even with the 2 BGD stones, the VS2 clarity of the signature actually look cleaner than the black.

If u need aset, request it from them. If you need free shipping from BGD, PM me

KinoChoco

The reason one goes online is for the vast inventory and cheaper cost. Personally if I bought online, I would not buy VVS clarity. A JP SIC in the 0.7c range is also about $7-8k (if I’m not wrong) so the savings becomes less.

The best bang is therefore looking for a good F or G color with VS or even SI1 clarity. E.g
0.727 F VS2 BGD black $5600 after gst
https://www.briangavindiamonds.com/.../0.727-f-vs2-round-diamond-ags-c-104104774022

Here’s another from HOH ideal cuts. As u can see, a good aset/idealscope does not equate to good symmetry. Even shopping with idealcuts, u need to take your pick

qkLoVVS.jpg

@Kinochoco, yes I did notice the BGD black missing ASET too and contacted them regarding it. Apparently lots of new stones just came online. If there’s a stone u interested, email them n they will rush the ASET for u

Oh wow the 2nd was also ideal by HOH?

I remember back then when I requested for some ideals to view, (maybe 3-4 of it), they were all more to the 1st quality. Well I Guess maybe it’s because I asked for a ‘high ideal’.

Seems like it’s important to have ample time and request for an high ideal if wanting to consider ideal.

But I definitely agree that if someone would wants to get an ideal+ cut from online, they should find a eye clean SI1, it makes more sense for the savings, if not I’ll rather save the hassle and just grab a high ideal from hoh

KinoChoco

Prices sgd, exclude tax:

https://www.briangavindiamonds.com/.../0.745-g-vs2-round-diamond-ags-c-104104774023

https://www.briangavindiamonds.com/.../0.715-g-vs2-round-diamond-bkags-104104723050

0.70 is a flat caret weight. I have no issue with it if there were no other choices. But u have...
The SI1 clarity is actually quite ‘clean’, minimal feather except a few crystal which they vouch eye clean

Even with the 2 BGD stones, the VS2 clarity of the signature actually look cleaner than the black.

I like the WF F SI1. Very good price point, eye clean like the rest, cheaper, plus point being F color and cut quality does not lose out to the rest

briantanhuat

I saw your post and need some help relating to it. Am confused with what I learnt about the cut. I saw these 2 diamonds that are the HOH Ideal cuts.

0.73ct E VS1 S$5.900 after GST
0.72ct F VVS2 S$5.600 after GST

These are the scope pics of them taken with the phone

0.73ct E VS1
They told me that this didnt make the Super Ideal cut because this arrow part is not straight
VcIaKaI.jpg

68Z95j7.jpg

0.72ct F VVS2
This one is not a Super Ideal because the girdle part there is irregular.
QeTbU9m.jpg

ZsmyB1G.jpg

I compared it with some of the Super Ideals you found from Whiteflash and Briangavin and find that they have the same problems too

I see this part the girdle is irregular too
ch1feqK.jpg

Arrows not straight
tVcAOte.jpg

Arrows not straight
y8LxEyG.jpg

HOH Ideal 0.73ct E VS1 S$5.900 after GST
WF 0.73ct E VS1 S$6.500 after GST
BG 0.74 E VS1 S$6.600 after GST

HOH Ideal 0.72ct F VVS2 S$5.600 after GST
WF 0.71 F VVS2 S$6.000 after GST
BG 0.75 F VVS2 S$6.750 after GST

The HOH Ideal cuts are much cheaper than the Super Ideal cuts from Whiteflash and Briangavin. The quality are pretty similar. When I factor in the setting, I will get even more savings since the setting prices are cheaper and got the additional resizing/plating/etc. services. Is there is any other pros and cons that Im not factoring in?

Miltah

I saw your post and need some help relating to it.

0.73ct E VS1 S$5.900 after GST
0.72ct F VVS2 S$5.600 after GST

These are the scope pics of them taken with the phone

0.73ct E VS1
They told me that this didnt make the Super Ideal cut because this arrow part is not straight

0.72ct F VVS2
This one is not a Super Ideal because the girdle part there is irregular.

I compared it with some of the Super Ideals you found from Whiteflash and Briangavin and find that they have the same problems too

0.731 ct E VS1 A CUT ABOVE USD 4,462 (~S$6.5k after GST)
I see this part the girdle is irregular too

0.712 ct F VVS2 A CUT ABOVE USD 4,143 (~S$6k after GST)
Arrows not straight

[0.758 ct F VVS2 Black by Brian Gavin USD 4,666 (~S$6.75k after GST)
Arrows not straight

HOH Ideal 0.73ct E VS1 S$5.900 after GST
WF 0.73ct E VS1 S$6.500 after GST
BG 0.74 E VS1 S$6.600 after GST

HOH Ideal 0.72ct F VVS2 S$5.600 after GST
WF 0.71 F VVS2 S$6.000 after GST
BG 0.75 F VVS2 S$6.750 after GST

The HOH Ideal cuts are much cheaper than the Super Ideal cuts from Whiteflash and Briangavin. The quality are pretty similar. When I factor in the setting, I will get even more savings since the setting prices are cheaper and got the additional resizing/plating/etc. services. Is there is any other pros and cons that Im not factoring in?

You are definitely not wrong there. Those are 2 very good ideal cuts and you get the benefit of a store, sizing, CAD etc

As I said earlier, the benefits of online is the bigger inventory. And I would look for a good SI clarity stone.
There’s often variation even in the BGD black range that I find the signature more value for money (especially during special sale period). Same can be said for whiteflash ACA.

Miltah

So the question becomes, are we after perfection or bang for the buck?
How likely is it going to be for u to notice an arrow is slightly off? Or the girdle is slightly painted/dug?

A good ideal cut at HOH definitely saves u the hassle and the price savings might not be that great for some but how likely are you going to find the size and clarity u want

0.71 F SI1 $4787 (after gst)

0.725 G SI1 $4400 (after gst)
https://www.briangavindiamonds.com/.../0.725-g-si1-round-diamond-ags-c-104104774030

Left whiteflash, Right BGD
7ZZjfWW.jpg

Miltah

There are a few reasons why cutters ‘paint/dig’, one of which is retain weight

The painting/digging on a whiteflash ACA or BGD is actually very minimal

88XbNnV.jpg

IzOdYsF.jpg

Here’s what I consider BAD:

C3CjUJy.jpg

pool4ever

Prices sgd, exclude tax:

thanks for the reply and advice! yeah i saw the one 0.71 F SI1 Whiteflash ACA, $4465, logical me tellsme it is eye clean at SI1, but my mind see it as many inclusions. both BGD and WF seems to be on par, do you see any difference in them?

Miltah

thanks for the reply and advice! yeah i saw the one 0.71 F SI1 Whiteflash ACA, $4465, logical me tellsme it is eye clean at SI1, but my mind see it as many inclusions. both BGD and WF seems to be on par, do you see any difference in them?

Why not internally flawless for the truly mind clean. It’s a tough one, mind clean and I did notice u went for the VVS. I think only me and @kinoChoco have seen enough stones to suggest SI1

Brian Gavin used to cut for WF. Does that mean it’s better? No.
There are variations and each stone has to be judged on its merits.

Here’s a great story for u. A customer requested a custom cut 3.5ct D, Flawless stone, valued at $250k to be made as a earring :eek:

https://www.hpdiamonds.com/en-us/blog/blog-article/17/chasing-perfection-3-58-carat-d-flawless.htm

Miltah

The BGD one that you linked have feather inclusions leh. Read somewhere that feathers usually not a good sign, as they can cause durability issues. I've filtered out quite a few WF's diamonds because they all have feather inclusions also.

Went to JannPaul today to look look see see.
Cheapest 0.3 carat also hit 2.2k range after setting :s22:
:

Here’s what I mean by vastness of inventory.
If u want something rare, there’s only 5 stones in the whole WF inventory and less than 10 in BGD

I dun think u will find any feathers here.. lol

0.342 D Internally Flawless, S$1850 (after gst)
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-4105084.htm

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.