Proposal Ring - Part 3

My_Revstar

Thank Miltha,

Yeah somehow something happened and i wanted to surprise her during long weekend trip coming next week - which is to a place we have some sentimental value.

The piece arrived, and I wouldn't say - I was blown off, but it is a nice one.
Getting the ring was turned out a tad hassle, as I am ended up paying 400++ just for making charges, and have to cough up more if readjustment is required.

To all folks, ordering online is not a bad option if you know a jeweller who will craft a ring for you; else paying 10% extra (which you will save online) for service of JP seems not a bad idea after all.

Happy hunting to those who are on the hunt.

Miltah

The piece arrived, and I wouldn't say - I was blown off, but it is a nice one.
Getting the ring was turned out a tad hassle, as I am ended up paying 400++ just for making charges, and have to cough up more if readjustment is required.

To all folks, ordering online is not a bad option if you know a jeweller who will craft a ring for you; else paying 10% extra (which you will save online) for service of JP seems not a bad idea after all.

If u were not blown off, then a JP SIC would not have made much difference.

It’s great planning a surprise but I guess the haste in getting it done meant u limited your options. A simple stone holder could be one idea before getting your gf involved in the custom process. Others have purchased online and used decent crafters or jeweller but alas none I know who can do it within the wk for u

breakeven

Should i proceed with this? or i should source for others?

The scope looks nice and if you like it visually probably you can just go for it. Spec wise like colour and clarity are good too. Given that it's a jp's standard of sic, it should be good enough, whether it's 34 instead of 34.5 or 57 instead of 56. For me those are numbers who doesn't matter much to me I guess.

You can put a deposit on this one and if you are bothered by it, you can source for another one that is of the dimension you are looking for. :)

jianhui1982

The scope looks nice and if you like it visually probably you can just go for it. Spec wise like colour and clarity are good too. Given that it's a jp's standard of sic, it should be good enough, whether it's 34 instead of 34.5 or 57 instead of 56. For me those are numbers who doesn't matter much to me I guess.

You can put a deposit on this one and if you are bothered by it, you can source for another one that is of the dimension you are looking for. :)

Thank you! i will be going down to see the actual diamond and decide from there. I am requesting other scope as well. Should be placing a deposit and request to source for .58 ~ .59 if my luck is good haha :s12:

FroztSpectre

Now spend 1.6k on a ring design, and have to source my “super ideal” diamond separetly myself lol.

Just for comparison,
Anyone knows the average cost of a 18k white gold pave ring setting from JannPaul?

Something like the middle ring, but with side diamonds for the Pavé design.
uoTufdI.jpg

Shortlisted 3x 0.3 carat diamonds. Any comments or other recommendations?
1) HCA Score 1.1
2) HCA Score 1.2
3) HCA Score 1.4
AGS Report for 3
lXmV0q3.png

Edited:
Am fine with SI1+, H color. But prefer G colors and above. Gf wants something small, so 0.3 carat range is fine. Anything above 0.5 she complain too big already. So I'm just going for 0.3 carat for her.

Miltah

Now spend 1.6k on a ring design, and have to source my “super ideal” diamond separetly myself lol.

Just for comparison,
Anyone knows the average cost of a 18k white gold pave ring setting from JannPaul?

Shortlisted 3x 0.3 carat diamonds. Any comments or other recommendations?
1) HCA Score 1.1
2) HCA Score 1.2
3) HCA Score 1.4
AGS Report for 3
lXmV0q3.png

Not sure what good it would be but a custom like that from JP would only be $1-1.2k

I noticed u pick F,F then H ( does that mean u ok with H?)
And all vs1

If u wanna save on cost or get a bigger caret, I would get H or I and look for si1 clarity.
Clarity is graded at 10x magnified, at 0.3c, u won’t see a thing

FroztSpectre

Not sure what good it would be but a custom like that from JP would only be $1-1.2k

I noticed u pick F,F then H ( does that mean u ok with H?)
And all vs1

If u wanna save on cost or get a bigger caret, I would get H or I and look for si1 clarity.
Clarity is graded at 10x magnified, at 0.3c, u won’t see a thing

H is the last possible one. Prefer G and below if possible.
Thanks for the recommendation on SI1 Clarity.

Sian, now thinking if i should just forfeit my deposit on eClarity and get a setting+diamond from JP instead.
$500 deposit for a S$1.6k-1.7k ring setting. If get from JP also 1-1.2k. Even if forfeit the deposit and get from JP also same price.

jonleelk

A simple plain (without side diamond type) white gold ring setting at JP will be $900. Platinum $1.2k.

Miltah

A simple plain (without side diamond type) white gold ring setting at JP will be $900. Platinum $1.2k.

Is that what u were quoted?
Strange cos JP dun set external stones. And if u buy HOH or JP stones, from the history of this forum, it’s always been $550-600 for plain setting

foweet

hi all, can any pros advise if below is reasonable? - Which will be more worth?:s12::s12:

Super Ideal Cut
0.63 F VVS2
$5,500 (inclusive 7% GST)

0.71 F VVS2
$7,000 (inclusive 7% GST)

FroztSpectre

Is that what u were quoted?
Strange cos JP dun set external stones. And if u buy HOH or JP stones, from the history of this forum, it’s always been $550-600 for plain setting

Ya i doubt JP sets external stones.
And i recall their plain setting rings without customisation is $550. That was in like Feb-March 2019 when i visited them.

Assuming add those small side diamonds, probably at most $50-600 only mah. So estimate $1-1.2k is reasonable.

But then again, the reason why it's so cheap is because you need to buy full package from them. Their diamonds are already at a markedup price.

FroztSpectre

Not really.
Not if u buy HOH ideal or call in a stone

That one i not sure liao. I never check with House of Hung on their prices of their settings and diamonds.

Call in a stone. Meaning you bring your own loose diamonds to HOH?

Miltah

That one i not sure liao. I never check with House of Hung on their prices of their settings and diamonds.

Call in a stone. Meaning you bring your own loose diamonds to HOH?

U should check HOH. Others have posted very good scope images from there previously. N settings are similarly priced.

Call in.. meaning u ask JP to find u a stone in the specs u want. @jonleelk recently called in a stone

FroztSpectre

U should check HOH. Others have posted very good scope images from there previously. N settings are similarly priced.

Call in.. meaning u ask JP to find u a stone in the specs u want. @jonleelk recently called in a stone

Put deposit with eClarity Liao 😂 called the boss and she said non-refundable deposit. Bobian lor. Unless I forfeit the deposit and go with JannPaul lol.
Thought my gf really likes the design, went ahead and paid for deposit.
After that left the shop and told her JannPaul cheaper, immediately quarrel lol.

Anyway the gemologist mentioned that ASET scope outdated Liao. And that I kena brainwashed by all these ASET Scope/image stuff. Maintenance is most important thing. Even a very good diamond can outperform ur triple excellent cuts 😂. Told me find any diamond, give her the cert and she will price match it :)

So I need you guys tips leh, how to counter when all these shops always say ASET Scope is ********. That’s why none of other shops uses this thing. Told her of course shops don’t want to teach, the more u know, the more ********s you can tell, and harder to sell you an inferior diamond.
She argue back how I know this ASET thing is good leh? All these are “fake info” used to corrupt us only.

ThiamWan

Put deposit with eClarity Liao 😂 called the boss and she said non-refundable deposit. Bobian lor. Unless I forfeit the deposit and go with JannPaul lol.
Thought my gf really likes the design, went ahead and paid for deposit.
After that left the shop and told her JannPaul cheaper, immediately quarrel lol.

Anyway the gemologist mentioned that ASET scope outdated Liao. And that I kena brainwashed by all these ASET Scope/image stuff. Maintenance is most important thing. Even a very good diamond can outperform ur triple excellent cuts 😂. Told me find any diamond, give her the cert and she will price match it :)

So I need you guys tips leh, how to counter when all these shops always say ASET Scope is ********. That’s why none of other shops uses this thing. Told her of course shops don’t want to teach, the more u know, the more ********s you can tell, and harder to sell you an inferior diamond.
She argue back how I know this ASET thing is good leh? All these are “fake info” used to corrupt us only.

Ayio.. ASET scope is fake info to corrupt us?? Lol. That says alot abt that shop liao.

Poppiflower

Solasfera

Looking into getting a Solasfera 0.64 F VS1 but abit concern with the hearts and arrows scope image. Anyone can comment about it? :/
i.imgur.com/IZJ4wo9.jpg
i.imgur.com/3Rnkgou.jpg
i.imgur.com/QEXBEwT.jpg

Miltah

Ayio.. ASET scope is fake info to corrupt us?? Lol. That says alot abt that shop liao.

The aset scope is used and adopted by AGS, the only other grading lab as good as GIA.
They dun sell diamonds.
To say a grading lab is out to corrupt is like saying u should buy uncerted diamonds :s22:

KinoChoco

The aset scope is used and adopted by AGS, the only other grading lab as good as GIA.
They dun sell diamonds.
To say a grading lab is out to corrupt is like saying u should buy uncerted diamonds :s22:

Majority of the local online stores will indirectly badmouth Jann Paul de, see and hear till numb. It’s really simple as most local online stores does not have the resources of JP’s to be able to provide a good pricing for a superior stone hence they will always bash those ASET performances. JP founders families have Long history of Jewelry businesses, hence plenty resources. If wanna go for those small random local stores, better off looking at overseas online

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.