Proposal Ring - Part 3

NoLogicLah

I read this thread end buying a tiffany ring. Ard $7.5k 0.41 carat nia. HCA 2. Something slso forget what

I am just going for the branding. To me the stone specs offer not much functional benefits to me.

Until now, haven regret not getting a JP super ideal diamond instead. Going propose next month :)

MyWiFy

Hi all,

Will be shopping for engagement ring soon and have been reading up on here and a few other websites. Would like to check what is the different between Super Ideal cut and Ideal cut? Is there any criteria which determines the cut of the diamond?

Also have shortlisted Jann Paul and Canary for the shopping, seems like most folks in here go for Jann Paul, anyone has reviews on Canary? Many thanks in advances =)

Super Ideal cut is a better quality that Ideal cut. It can be the proportions are better to reflect stronger light that will overall improve the sparkles. Iirc, how good the proportions and light performance will affect how good the cut is. HCA tool is to check for proportions and the Aset scope is to check for light performance.

Canary don't have Super ideal cuts. They don't use the ASET scope, etc. to QC. The most they have is Ideal cut. If you don't mind Ideal cut, you can compare with House of hung side. HOH got sell Ideal cuts whereas JP sells Super ideal. I found the HOH Ideals to still be cheaper than Canarys. Though I prefer the Super ideal.. To me, the purpose of getting a diamond is to get the best bling/cut.

KinoChoco

Hi all, me and my SO went to Tiffany and was quoted these prices

0.46 carat D VS1 - $9850
0.50 carat G VS1 - $8700
0.52 carat E VS1 - $10900

How come its so different with the prices I see here? The cut-polish-symmetry is all excellent. It comes with its own diamond certificate (not GIA). The certificate is from Tiffany and they say it is better than GIA.

I saw some people sharing their 0.4 carat is only about 3k and 0.5 carat about 4k.. Is there something I missed out? I know Tiffany is branded and expected to cost abit more.. but its more that 2 times the price.

Only get Tiffany if you're planning to showcase the packaging, box, brand to everyone.

Because IMO, I've never seen a Tiffany that is bling more than a super ideal from JP hence personally i'll only suggest you getting tiffany if you're planning to tell everyone you're wearing tiffany and you really care about the brand (e.g. posting all over social media and wedding video of the Tiffany brand) or else i dont see a point paying 2x for something less brilliance :s13:

KinoChoco

Hi all,

Will be shopping for engagement ring soon and have been reading up on here and a few other websites. Would like to check what is the different between Super Ideal cut and Ideal cut? Is there any criteria which determines the cut of the diamond?

Also have shortlisted Jann Paul and Canary for the shopping, seems like most folks in here go for Jann Paul, anyone has reviews on Canary? Many thanks in advances =)

IMO Ideal is already an 'high quality' cut which is generally as brilliance as those 57 facets signature cuts (Perfect love, True love, Destiny, Lazare) sold in those commercial stores (gold heart, city gems, lee hwa, SK, Larry's etc)

As for super ideal, it's slightly more bling than ideal due to the even stricter criteria, however, it'll depend on your budget if it's worth paying more for maybe 5-10% more brilliance/fire.

Personally I'll suggest only getting super ideal if you are comfortable with the budget for getting at least half a carat. If lets say your budget only allow you to get a 0.4 super ideal, i'll rather you get a 0.5 ideal instead.

JurryL

TBH. You buy a Tiffany diamond ring also no difference. Bo lang will know it's brand. Somemore diamond not worth & engagement ring probably will not last long on your so's finger when the wedding bands come. So why buy until so expensive & atas brand when you get one at cheaper price & normal brand. Just my 2 cents. For me personally think not necessary.

Sent from Sent from *******'s asshole using GAGT

mero_cwj

TBH. You buy a Tiffany diamond ring also no difference. Bo lang will know it's brand. Somemore diamond not worth & engagement ring probably will not last long on your so's finger when the wedding bands come. So why buy until so expensive & atas brand when you get one at cheaper price & normal brand. Just my 2 cents. For me personally think not necessary.

Depends though... I'd say if your SO is the type who is brand conscious and die die must have a branded diamond ring, then it's better to just get a branded diamond ring to save yourself from potential problems...

Last thing you want is to kenna niam for the rest of your married life for not buying her a branded diamond ring like what all her friends have blah blah blah. Happy wife happy life lah

Same explanation if you think diamonds are a marketing scam and you don't buy into it. I tend to agree, but I'm not gonna risk getting niam by my SO for years to come for not buying a diamond ring :s13:

NoLogicLah

Alot of things are subjective when come to girls and guys point of view.

Money can always earn again.
$5k more is on avg ur one or two months pay but the decision affects ur entire life

mero_cwj

Alot of things are subjective when come to girls and guys point of view.

Money can always earn again.
$5k more is on avg ur one or two months pay but the decision affects ur entire life

Agree... The money I can earn back. But if the ring is gonna be a reminder to my SO of something she didn't get, that's gonna be dredged up for eons to come lol.

KinoChoco

Depends though... I'd say if your SO is the type who is brand conscious and die die must have a branded diamond ring, then it's better to just get a branded diamond ring to save yourself from potential problems...

Last thing you want is to kenna niam for the rest of your married life for not buying her a branded diamond ring like what all her friends have blah blah blah. Happy wife happy life lah

Same explanation if you think diamonds are a marketing scam and you don't buy into it. I tend to agree, but I'm not gonna risk getting niam by my SO for years to come for not buying a diamond ring :s13:

This is why i say only get Tiffany if you're gonna spam the photos of the tiffany box everywhere :s13::s13: (if she prioritize brand over performance)

Or else, i'll rather suggest a 1ct+ of super ideal at the price of 0.6 Tiffany....much bigger and better bling...win hands down.

KinoChoco

Well unless your gf personally voiced out that she doesn't want an engagement ring, i think it's better to get at least an ideal cut 0.4-0.5. it should only cost you 0.5-1.5 month of salary (Or even lesser if you earn alot, haha) its a good gesture, just like I'm sure you wont bring your date to a hawker center for the first date moreover this is a once-in-a-lifetime proposal ring.

missymousiee

20% higher for branding and equivalent quality maybe I wouldn't mind.

But I would have to be a massive carrot head to pay twice the price for much lower quality diamonds :s22:

Anyway, I never understood why people want a tiffany ring. Wear on your finger already can tell it's tiffany meh? If I'm not wrong, the ring box itself isn't even the famous tiffany blue, only the cardboard box is and I don't think anyone uses the cardboard box to propose...

BTW, I did go down to the tiffany boutique to take a look at what they had. Their selection criteria was obviously much less stringent - without looking at the certs for the dimensions to calculate HCA, I could already tell that there was very poor optical symmetry and a lot of light leakage. This was for a 20k plus SGD ring somemore...

If branding is important, the consensus I've gathered from talking to some of the private jewellers is that the closest branded diamond to a "super ideal" round brilliant in terms of light performance would be a Hearts on Fire diamond. Think Tian Po carries it in SG.

Only get Tiffany if you're planning to showcase the packaging, box, brand to everyone.

Because IMO, I've never seen a Tiffany that is bling more than a super ideal from JP hence personally i'll only suggest you getting tiffany if you're planning to tell everyone you're wearing tiffany and you really care about the brand (e.g. posting all over social media and wedding video of the Tiffany brand) or else i dont see a point paying 2x for something less brilliance :s13:

We went to JP yesterday.. Learnt alot of diamond stuff from them and finally understood what you guys mean by the quality difference. Can't believe those high end brands can charge for so much for the quality they sell.. tsk tsk..

I narrowed my diamond to the Octagon. It seemed to be the more sparkly one compared to the other cuts. This is the scope pics of it. Any comments?

99809d1135.jpg

9980b59559.jpg

9980ae5f07.jpg

9980c0e472.jpg

MosesM

Hi sifus, does anyone know of a jeweler that has a good selection of sapphires? My soon to be wifey prefers blue sapphires...

Cookie Muncher

Wedding band is white gold, with matte finishing in the middle. Accidentally drop it around height of 100cm now the matte part got chip off/dent. Is this normal?

haato89

Hi has anyone explored felice at Toa payoh?

I was quoted a 0.8 carat D colour, no fluorescence, HCA 1.9 for 6.6k

LL1986

We went to JP yesterday.. Learnt alot of diamond stuff from them and finally understood what you guys mean by the quality difference. Can't believe those high end brands can charge for so much for the quality they sell.. tsk tsk..

I narrowed my diamond to the Octagon. It seemed to be the more sparkly one compared to the other cuts. This is the scope pics of it. Any comments?

99809d1135.jpg

9980b59559.jpg

9980ae5f07.jpg

9980c0e472.jpg

Diamond looks good. The hearts are very even :)

beckslim

Sharing my ring photos :D:D:D Its an Octagon diamond too

JW6oso2.jpg

QpG13Gd.jpg

zSJ3Tvn.jpg

Accompanied my friend to JP. I think he got chose the same design as yours but with the Brellia. Simple classic design.. haha.

A word of advice for those choosing their design. If your gf wears her wedding band with the e ring, it stacks better with those classic straight band designs. Those twist band design will make a gap when you wear both rings.

LindaLiao

Accompanied my friend to JP. I think he got chose the same design as yours but with the Brellia. Simple classic design.. haha.

A word of advice for those choosing their design. If your gf wears her wedding band with the e ring, it stacks better with those classic straight band designs. Those twist band design will make a gap when you wear both rings.

As long as the top part of the ring is plain, it will look classic to me. You can also make the side part of the ring more special. I saw this custom ring on their blog http://jannpaul-diamonds-casey.blogspot.sg
They have some interesting design stories there for inspiration

3c.jpg

chong%2B1%2Band%2BJens%2BKv%2BPhotography.jpg

beckslim

As long as the top part of the ring is plain, it will look classic to me. You can also make the side part of the ring more special. I saw this custom ring on their blog http://jannpaul-diamonds-casey.blogspot.sg
They have some interesting design stories there for inspiration

3c.jpg

chong%2B1%2Band%2BJens%2BKv%2BPhotography.jpg

Yeah, I saw it before. It appeals to those wanting something for vintage. I saw some of their disney inspired designs too :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.