Proposal Ring - Part 3

bb_100

However, an honest sales exec from JP told me if I have the extra cash to splash, by all means go for the Super Ideal diamond. But if budget is a constrain, go for an Ideal diamond. This is because some diamond, just because it did not meet one single criteria for being Super Ideal, it is demoted to Ideal. In this kind of borderline cases, even those guys at JP couldn't tell if two diamonds are Super Ideal or Ideal. This has happened to me, and I was lucky. :D

Ya lor this fella really lucky. His diamond only lose out on HCA score, some more by a hairline 0.1, while the rest of the criteria are well within the Super Ideal requirements. He got his stone for a very good price.

So it depends on whether or not your sales exec is hardworking enough to source for such a stone for you.

thecat21

However, an honest sales exec from JP told me if I have the extra cash to splash, by all means go for the Super Ideal diamond. But if budget is a constrain, go for an Ideal diamond. This is because some diamond, just because it did not meet one single criteria for being Super Ideal, it is demoted to Ideal. In this kind of borderline cases, even those guys at JP couldn't tell if two diamonds are Super Ideal or Ideal. This has happened to me, and I was lucky. :D

By saying "honest salesperson from JP" it strongly suggests that there are also "dishonest salespersons from JP". Sadly, newbies won't be able to tell like how I was when i visited from them the first time. Almost put my $500 deposit down also, would have been stuck with a 0.45ct instead of a 0.7ct. Yikes !

If its hard for even JP staff to tell Ideal from Super Ideal, I can only imagine how a JA stone will compare to a JP stone to the untrained eye. Im expecting the JP stone to be a little more bling. maybe one day go down JP to compare.

Doesn't matter bro. Wanna know free or not only. If free then why not haha.

Is not free, but im really impressed by the level of service JA has provided, and it will be cool to have a matching JA band instead of local jeweler brand with the engagement ring. The pricing of similar ring from local jeweler almost same as JA.

Additionally, im a miles hoarder, so online purchase will generate me more miles than local swipe. Im 90% to my target for first class tickets to Paris, just need a little more :s12:

Went down to local jewelers at bugis junction to compare my JA stone to their stone of similar specs, mine looks bigger (even though theirs is 0.78 vs my 0.7) and slightly more bling, while their stone costs 30% more. (for one of the shops, i think citigems)

By saying "honest salesperson from JP" it strongly suggests that there are also "dishonest salespersons from JP". Sadly, newbies won't be able to tell like how I was when i visited from them the first time. Almost put my $500 deposit down also, would have been stuck with a 0.45ct instead of a 0.7ct. Yikes !

If its hard for even JP staff to tell Ideal from Super Ideal, I can only imagine how a JA stone will compare to a JP stone to the untrained eye. Im expecting the JP stone to be a little more bling. maybe one day go down JP to compare.

Dont get me wrong bro. All sales exec in JP are very very helpful and generous when it comes to sharing of information. So regardless of who served you, feel free to ask anything related to diamond.

Even if you have paid the $500 deposit, should you come across better stones, you can always switch. This is what I like about JP, they are very flexible.

You can expect good quality diamonds from JP even though it is from the Ideal range. Coz I believe JP do some pre-filter before they put their diamonds for sale.

By the way, may I know what is your budget and your requirement?

Draculav

Dont get me wrong bro. All sales exec in JP are very very helpful and generous when it comes to sharing of information. So regardless of who served you, feel free to ask anything related to diamond.

Even if you have paid the $500 deposit, should you come across better stones, you can always switch. This is what I like about JP, they are very flexible.

You can expect good quality diamonds from JP even though it is from the Ideal range. Coz I believe JP do some pre-filter before they put their diamonds for sale.

He is comparing his SI2 diamond from JA with Super Ideal cuts, which doesn't make sense. Anyway, what's illogical to others might be logical to another person.

Most people won't ever dare to buy SI2 diamonds for the fear of them easily cracking over time. The SI2 diamond he got has a huge feather on the corner. Feathers are literally fractures. Internal feathers are acceptable when its safe 'inside' the diamond. External feathers on corners are dangerous when its knocked as it will worsen the crack and can chip off a chunk of a diamond. That's why SI2s are cheap.

This is not wort the risk at all. Any small knocks on the diamond will crack it open. Unless you're extremely careful and make sure your diamond never gets knocked, this will be fine :s22:
Not to mention, you'll always have this constant fear of damaging your diamond. Once its cracked, you can never fix it back. Personally, I think its impossible for a person to avoid knocking a diamond. You're bound to have occasional knocks here and there. It is just unavoidable.

But to others, they might think this is a very good buy because its cheap and don't mind that risk.

Hi hi ppl, I went to Jannpaul ytd and was recommended GIA 5171932558.
Any opinion on this?

Thanks in advance

Did you see the Octagons at JP? I got a 0.8 too and was waiting for a higher 0.8++. They didn't have much Octagon stocks left back then so I ended up getting it. Did you see more 0.8++ in the Super ideals?

I think you got a very good deal.

For comparison, I checked the signature ideals on BN. This is the closest match they have.

0.81 D VS1
SGD 9,844 (after tax)
HCA: 2.3
http://www.bluenile.com/au/diamond-details/LD04770112

0.81 D VS1
SGD 10,799 (after tax)
HCA: 2.6
http://www.bluenile.com/au/diamond-details/LD01953359

Though I don't think this is a good comparison as their diamonds are inferior. Their HCA score is bad and not even in the ideal range. Not sure how this can be considered a signature ideal cut. Anyway, BN is not known for their quality but can give a pricing guide.

Yours is a super ideal cut 0.85 D VS1 for 10k+ with setting. If you include the setting, its already cheaper than BN ideals. Summore yours is a much better cut + bigger size.

Btw, the first 0.81 D VS1 has a very small culet which might explain why its cheaper than the second one. Either way, both are still more ex than JP.

thecat21

JP definitely pre-filter their diamonds, Akin to someone getting an ID to sort out their renovation, you pay a premium but all the work is coordinated for you, and you get a great stone. This is a good choice for people who don't really want to get into the nitty gritty of diamonds.

The budget and requirement question is directed to who ? if me, then i already got my JA proposal ring, but wedding band havent, budget around 900sgd and has to compliment the other JA setting.

He is comparing his SI2 diamond from JA with Super Ideal cuts, which doesn't make sense. Anyway, what's illogical to others might be logical to another person.

Most people won't ever dare to buy SI2 diamonds for the fear of them easily cracking over time. The SI2 diamond he got has a huge feather on the corner. Feathers are literally fractures. Internal feathers are acceptable when its safe 'inside' the diamond. External feathers on corners are dangerous when its knocked as it will worsen the crack and can chip off a chunk of a diamond. That's why SI2s are cheap.

This is not wort the risk at all. Any small knocks on the diamond will crack it open. Unless you're extremely careful and make sure your diamond never gets knocked, this will be fine :s22:
Not to mention, you'll always have this constant fear of damaging your diamond. Once its cracked, you can never fix it back. Personally, I think its impossible for a person to avoid knocking a diamond. You're bound to have occasional knocks here and there. It is just unavoidable.

But to others, they might think this is a very good buy because its cheap and don't mind that risk.

I agree with you 100%

For your first point, i never compared my SI2 to a JP Super Ideal, that doesn't make any sense. The Super Ideal from JP will definitely win significantly. I compared my SI2 to JP stones in general from the perspective of the untrained eye.

SI2 diamond, will i ever buy it again ? Time will tell. Right now I am on the winning end of the stick in terms of value. If the stone does crack, i will definitely be at the losing end of the stick. At the time of purchase I had some professional opinions that this feather is not a big concern after they took a good look at it.

For now, I will still consider an SI2, but not with a feather at girdle anymore. Lesson learnt. But still, we're talking about an extremely hard stone here. I doubt "any small knocks" on the diamond will crack it open. More on the lines of "A few hard knocks at the correct angle".

To me, the constant fear of damaging your diamond is a good thing. I've already told my SO about this, she understands the risks and this will be mindful of it. If I buy a better clarity stone in the future, maybe through the JA trade-in program I might also just tell her this for the heck of her taking more care of the stone (lol). In fact, when I asked her opinion about it, my SO replied that irregardless SI or VS VVS etc, the fear of damaging it is there because its something precious and expensive, nothing to do with clarity.

So the more expensive the car, the less the fear of damaging it ? No right ? you will take more care of it because its expensive. Girls look at diamonds the same way men look at cars.

LIFETIME UPGRADE : Any loose diamond purchased from James Allen can be exchanged at 100% credit for any replacement diamond of at least 2X or greater value. The diamond that is being upgraded must be in original condition and accompanied by the original laboratory grading document.

^ JP got such program ?

bb_100

^ JP got such program ?

We can trade in their signature cuts (Super Ideal, Octagon, etc.) at 100% value but not the normal diamonds provided by House of Hung. But bro, when I come to think about it, I will not wanna trade in/upgrade my proposal diamond due to the sentimental value attached to it. I believe many people share the same view.

Draculav

JP definitely pre-filter their diamonds, Akin to someone getting an ID to sort out their renovation, you pay a premium but all the work is coordinated for you, and you get a great stone. This is a good choice for people who don't really want to get into the nitty gritty of diamonds.

The budget and requirement question is directed to who ? if me, then i already got my JA proposal ring, but wedding band havent, budget around 900sgd and has to compliment the other JA setting.

I agree with you 100%

For your first point, i never compared my SI2 to a JA Super Ideal, that doesn't make any sense. The Super Ideal from JA will definitely win significantly. I compared my SI2 to JA stones in general from the perspective of the untrained eye.

SI2 diamond, will i ever buy it again ? Time will tell. Right now I am on the winning end of the stick in terms of value. If the stone does crack, i will definitely be at the losing end of the stick. At the time of purchase I had some professional opinions that this feather is not a big concern after they took a good look at it.

For now, I will still consider an SI2, but not with a feather at girdle anymore. Lesson learnt. But still, we're talking about an extremely hard stone here. I doubt "any small knocks" on the diamond will crack it open. More on the lines of "A few hard knocks at the correct angle".

To me, the constant fear of damaging your diamond is a good thing. I've already told my SO about this, she understands the risks and this will be mindful of it. If I buy a better clarity stone in the future, maybe through the JA trade-in program I might also just tell her this for the heck of her taking more care of the stone (lol). In fact, when I asked her opinion about it, my SO replied that irregardless SI or VS VVS etc, the fear of damaging it is there because its something precious and expensive, nothing to do with clarity.

^ JP got such program ?

Bro.. diamonds are the hardest materials but very brittle. And if a diamond is cheap it's for many reasons, and not good reasons. As mentioned here: a diamond can break just by stepping on it

thecat21

Bro.. diamonds are the hardest materials but very brittle. And if a diamond is cheap it's for many reasons, and not good reasons. As mentioned here: a diamond can break just by stepping on it

For the stepping via foot, you do know the dude is using an extreme example to show hardness vs. brittleness right ? Not a real account or experience.

Later he adds on a real event where a ring was thrown and hit a vase, which i agree equates to a hard knock and definitely likely for a crack/chip.

A diamond wont simply crack under foot unless its really jialat already :s13:

With that being said, a feather at girdle is still no laughing matter. Better to be avoided, but don't let this scare you away from owning an eye clean SI1/SI2 clarity stone, allowing you to go larger on the carat.

We can trade in their signature cuts (Super Ideal, Octagon, etc.) at 100% value but not the normal diamonds provided by House of Hung. But bro, when I come to think about it, I will not wanna trade in/upgrade my proposal diamond due to the sentimental value attached to it. I believe many people share the same view.

I'm sure many share your view regarding the sentimental value, especially the women. It's good to hear JP has such a program. But those who get their JP Ideal cuts ? Don't have 100% trade in meh ?

If you see pricescope forums etc, many people upgrade their rings till 2-3 carat + and even bigger :D

bb_100

I'm sure many share your view regarding the sentimental value, especially the women. It's good to hear JP has such a program. But those who get their JP Ideal cuts ? Don't have 100% trade in meh ?

If you see pricescope forums etc, many people upgrade their rings till 2-3 carat + and even bigger :D

They don't accept trade ins except for their own signature cuts.

ironmanstark88

Did you see the Octagons at JP? I got a 0.8 too and was waiting for a higher 0.8++. They didn't have much Octagon stocks left back then so I ended up getting it. Did you see more 0.8++ in the Super ideals?

Btw, the first 0.81 D VS1 has a very small culet which might explain why its cheaper than the second one. Either way, both are still more ex than JP.

I let the salesperson did the introduction to me and upon matching to my wallet's budget, proceeded with the purchase on the very same day.
He didn't introduce any octagon cut to me though.

Kind to enlighten me on the difference?

Btw, any kind souls can help me see if e diamond I purchased has any feathers on the girdle?
I panicked a little after reading the few latest posts

bb_100

Btw, any kind souls can help me see if e diamond I purchased has any feathers on the girdle?
I panicked a little after reading the few latest posts

Your diamond does not have feather characteristic. So you are good to go. Anyway, the sales guy told me JannPaul play it safe by eliminating stones with potential of chipping. So I believe their stocks do not have the feathers on the girdle scare.

KinoChoco

For the stepping via foot, you do know the dude is using an extreme example to show hardness vs. brittleness right ? Not a real account or experience.

Later he adds on a real event where a ring was thrown and hit a vase, which i agree equates to a hard knock and definitely likely for a crack/chip.

A diamond wont simply crack under foot unless its really jialat already :s13:

With that being said, a feather at girdle is still no laughing matter. Better to be avoided, but don't let this scare you away from owning an eye clean SI1/SI2 clarity stone, allowing you to go larger on the carat.

Bro, you actually impose pressure on your SO just for the sake of saving 1-2k. I understand that the ring should be taken care of, but that doesn't mean you should get something fragile and convince yourself that 'this will make her to take more proper care of the diamond'. This is totally unhealthy and unnecessary for a diamond ring. There's no point having a slightly bigger carat while taking the risk that your diamond might crack after afew knocks, you should had opted for VS2 or SI1 without feather.

A diamond is supposed to be 'forever', more over you're getting as a proposal ring and you chosen something that has a significant chance of breaking just to save couple thousands, Gosh. Please don't ever tell or recommend people to consider SI2 just to save that money and saying it helps to force your SO to be more careful of the ring.

I've been reading your previous posts, I was trying not to comment but I couldn't take it, especially the fact that you feel so right of getting a more fragile diamond and proud of using this to make your SO to be careful of the ring causing unnecessary mental stress for the years to come. I've even showed my SO what you posted and she totally thinks you're ridiculous and if she's in your SO shoes, she will rather pay and upgrade herself to a diamond that won't break easily.

Draculav

http://www.pricescope.com/forum/rockytalky/very-upset-just-cracked-my-diamond-in-my-rhr-t78186.html
http://www.pricescope.com/forum/rockytalky/i-have-a-cracked-diamond-t14599.html
http://www.pricescope.com/forum/rockytalky/cracked-diamond-t19165.html
http://www.pricescope.com/forum/rockytalky/cracked-diamond-t140254.html
http://www.pricescope.com/forum/rockytalky/crack-in-my-diamond-t103262.html
http://www.pricescope.com/forum/rockytalky/cracked-diamond-t52109.html

If you want real life accounts; all accounts of daily wearage. There are much more but this is a very simple matter to clarify. I mean in secondary school we already all learn about how a diamond is the hardest materials but brittle and not tough.
If you're happy with your purchase, I am happy for you, but don't give the wrong facts.
Saying things like 0.5 degree of the crown and pavillion doesnt matter is insane. 0.5 can make or break the difference of GIA excellent or very good proportional grading. It can contribute to the "circle of death" just by a 0.5 difference.
How can you say 0.5 does not matter?
http://www.goodoldgold.org/123ctfvs2ha/
Here is a diamond that exceeded the 35 crown by 0.4 and exhibits the circle of death. can the circle of death be seen with the naked eye? yes.

we're talking about an extremely hard stone here. I doubt "any small knocks" on the diamond will crack it open. More on the lines of "A few hard knocks at the correct angle".

Toughness and hardness is 2 different things entirely like we learned in secondary school. All of the accounts you read in pricescope of chipping, cracking, breaking is all from daily wear and tear. Some of these stories even happens with VS clarity grades.

What jewelers tell you: As long as SI is eye clean, means no problem
Truth: Why do you think it's graded SI by GIA? If its not big inclusions it will be durability issues.

A diamond wont simply crack under foot unless its really jialat already

Yes it can. Especially along the girdle and the culet. We are talking about a polished diamond not a rough diamond.

Sorry but you are going backwards in time, the internet now is full of knowledge, so many reputable sites and feedback teach you to prioritize cut, and how cut visually advantages a stone more than any of the other C's. There are so many diamond advices online talking about how to care for your diamond and stay away from diamonds that have feathers on the girdle. Like I said be happy with what you buy, but but don't deviate from the facts and share the wrong info.

thecat21

Bro, you actually impose pressure on your SO just for the sake of saving 1-2k. I understand that the ring should be taken care of, but that doesn't mean you should get something fragile and convince yourself that 'this will make her to take more proper care of the diamond'. This is totally unhealthy and unnecessary for a diamond ring. There's no point having a slightly bigger carat while taking the risk that your diamond might crack after afew knocks, you should had opted for VS2 or SI1 without feather.

A diamond is supposed to be 'forever', more over you're getting as a proposal ring and you chosen something that has a significant chance of breaking just to save couple thousands, Gosh. Please don't ever tell or recommend people to consider SI2 just to save that money and saying it helps to force your SO to be more careful of the ring.

I've been reading your previous posts, I was trying not to comment but I couldn't take it, especially the fact that you feel so right of getting a more fragile diamond and proud of using this to make your SO to be careful of the ring causing unnecessary mental stress for the years to come. I've even showed my SO what you posted and she totally thinks you're ridiculous and if she's in your SO shoes, she will rather pay and upgrade herself to a diamond that won't break easily.

Firstly, I'm not "trying to save" money. I'm trying to "stretch my dollar". I have my budget, and it doesn't matter where I get the ring, could be JP or from online like JA, my budget wont increase or decrease. The only difference is through JA, I could get a ring with lower specs but a much bigger size compared to JP with smaller carat.

Secondly, I've already mentioned that If i were to buy a new stone, I would definitely check if it has a feather at girdle. This doesn't mean that my stone "will crack easily". There are way more factors to consider than a "feather near girdle" on paper being dismissed as "will crack easily".

Thirdly, I've already mentioned that I DO NOT recommend anyone to get a ring with a feather at girdle.

you feel so right of getting a more fragile diamond and proud of using this to make your SO to be careful of the ring causing unnecessary mental stress for the years to come.

Lastly, I've already explained about a diamond being a diamond. Even an IF clarity has the chance of being subject to abrasion etc. SO should be careful of their rings irregardless of clarity. And I'm definitely open to the different opinions because at the end of the day we are not the same person or share the same SO with same views.

If you've paid good money for a high quality ring, good on you. I am very happy that your ring will last. But don't get mad at me for paying less but having a bigger stone by going the value route. Maybe if my stone crack, then I can update here with pictures, and everyone can have a good laugh at me, but till then, I stand by my decision :)

xwen90

I get quoted ard 2k+ at Love n co on a 0.3 ideal cut proposal ring.. any idea if is a good buy?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.