Proposal Ring - Part 3

KinoChoco

Firstly, I'm not "trying to save" money. I'm trying to "stretch my dollar". I have my budget, and it doesn't matter where I get the ring, could be JP or from online like JA, my budget wont increase or decrease. The only difference is through JA, I could get a ring with lower specs but a much bigger size compared to JP with smaller carat.

Secondly, I've already mentioned that If i were to buy a new stone, I would definitely check if it has a feather at girdle. This doesn't mean that my stone "will crack easily". There are way more factors to consider than a "feather near girdle" on paper being dismissed as "will crack easily".

Thirdly, I've already mentioned that I DO NOT recommend anyone to get a ring with a feather at girdle.

Lastly, I've already explained about a diamond being a diamond. Even an IF clarity has the chance of being subject to abrasion etc. SO should be careful of their rings irregardless of clarity. And I'm definitely open to the different opinions because at the end of the day we are not the same person or share the same SO with same views.

If you've paid good money for a high quality ring, good on you. I am very happy that your ring will last. But don't get mad at me for paying less but having a bigger stone by going the value route. Maybe if my stone crack, then I can update here with pictures, and everyone can have a good laugh at me, but till then, I stand by my decision :)

Lol bro, there's a huge difference between having a stone that has 0.X chance of chipping and X/XX chance of chipping per knock.

I'm sure none of the Bros here wants to buy a Rolex that has a much higher chance of breaking when knocking against something just for 10-20% discount.

No matter how careful you're, you will tend to hit something, instead of paying for a proper diamond that is very durable, you paid for something that tells you 'I cannot knock this, there's a good chance of chipping'. Anyway, I wouldn't call this a 'value route', you chosen an inferior stone that the durability had been compromised.

But whatever la bro, as Long you and your SO sincerely love the risk and happy can Liao. 😂😂😂

xwen90

Do share the specs of the stone or the GIA no. etc.
Is this with setting or without ?

Yes... its with settings already... too bad i dint copy down the full spec of the diamond.. since i'm so called ''surveying'' with her.. lol

But this is what i have

Carat 0.3, Cut ideal, Colour G, Clarity VS1

what kind of info i need to take note infuture?

thecat21

Yes... its with settings already... too bad i dint copy down the full spec of the diamond.. since i'm so called ''surveying'' with her.. lol

But this is what i have

Carat 0.3, Cut ideal, Colour G, Clarity VS1

what kind of info i need to take note infuture?

Hey there, would be good to know the dimensions of the stone etc. As well as any idealscope / aset scans to see the performance and light leakages if any.

thecat21

Anyway, I wouldn't call this a 'value route', you chosen an inferior stone that the durability had been compromised.

I agree, which is why I mentioned i DO NOT recommend anyone to get a stone with a feather at girdle. Said this many times already :s22:

There are also probably similar stones to mine WITHOUT the feather at girdle, (like a 0.5ct HCA 0.8 with better light performance on idealscope from JA that i mentioned a couple posts back) also SI clarity eye clean, which i will recommend without hesitation since it rewards a bigger carat size (value route) without the so called risk (girdle feather).

xwen90

Hey there, would be good to know the dimensions of the stone etc. As well as any idealscope / aset scans to see the performance and light leakages if any.

Wow... ok bro... looks like i needed more info on the diamond already... the sales exec dint actually recomend and talk alot on the diamond... on emphasize that they carry ideal cut diamond..

Anyway since it will be custome made.. means i'll pay and inwont know what diamond rating i will get?

KingKenny

Firstly, I'm not "trying to save" money. I'm trying to "stretch my dollar". I have my budget, and it doesn't matter where I get the ring, could be JP or from online like JA, my budget wont increase or decrease. The only difference is through JA, I could get a ring with lower specs but a much bigger size compared to JP with smaller carat.

Secondly, I've already mentioned that If i were to buy a new stone, I would definitely check if it has a feather at girdle. This doesn't mean that my stone "will crack easily". There are way more factors to consider than a "feather near girdle" on paper being dismissed as "will crack easily".

Thirdly, I've already mentioned that I DO NOT recommend anyone to get a ring with a feather at girdle.

Lastly, I've already explained about a diamond being a diamond. Even an IF clarity has the chance of being subject to abrasion etc. SO should be careful of their rings irregardless of clarity. And I'm definitely open to the different opinions because at the end of the day we are not the same person or share the same SO with same views.

If you've paid good money for a high quality ring, good on you. I am very happy that your ring will last. But don't get mad at me for paying less but having a bigger stone by going the value route. Maybe if my stone crack, then I can update here with pictures, and everyone can have a good laugh at me, but till then, I stand by my decision :)

No one is mad with you about your purchase. Its your money and you can do what you want with it. We are all to share our experience and make smart choices.

But you ARE giving advice to fellow bros. + Saying you got so much value, and people being mad at you for having a bigger diamond? Please define value.
Also, I can't understand how you can say you got good value for purchase when all your knowledge on diamonds are skewed and false. Then there's the contradiction on your "value" you care about your diamond being "eye clean" but you don't care about light leakage under your 60/60 proportion diamond. You know light leakage = light going down and passing through the diamond right? Means it is acting like a see through glass.

Also means when your SO wears that ring, all that dirt trapped under can be seen under the table. How is this not worse than clarity? If you say "then I will constantly clean the ring" Then you need to be so extra careful with how you clean also because of your SI2 feather!!! omg seriously HEADACHE dude, I practically died when you said diamonds are very hard and cannot break and you are pissing people off by teaching other people what is "value". BRO come on. You can't just say carat size is all value, because it is not, my mother's 2 carat for $5000 sibei value also.. wth?

thecat21

I practically died when you said diamonds are very hard and cannot break

Diamonds are very hard, that is a fact. Look it up.
&
I've never said diamonds "cannot break", thats absurd...

You know light leakage = light going down and passing through the diamond right? Means it is acting like a see through glass.

Yes I know this, and there is light leakage for my stone although not very huge. As I've walked into local jewelers and did apples to apples comparison (because I was doubtful), under the same lighting I was actually surprised that mine looked better as a lowly 60/60 stone.

Anyway guys, i'm simply stating my experience and POV. I definitely respect your opinions and varying points of view. Take any advice or experience with a grain of salt.

bb_100

Wow... ok bro... looks like i needed more info on the diamond already... the sales exec dint actually recomend and talk alot on the diamond... on emphasize that they carry ideal cut diamond..

Anyway since it will be custome made.. means i'll pay and inwont know what diamond rating i will get?

You definitely need more info man, especially those pertaining to its cut and light performance. More so cuz of the relatively small carat size. A well cut 0.3-carat stone will look much bigger than a poorly cut one.

Salespersons at jewellery shops usually don't tell you much about the diamond itself one. Most likely cuz they have limited knowledge on diamonds and their main aim is to close the deal and earn your commission. So they will stress and stress that their diamonds are all ideal/brilliant cuts, which is a lie to a certain extent.

If you wanna know how your diamond scored on light performance by solely basing on its proportions, a straightforward way is to use the online HCA calculator. All you need is your stone's table, depth and culet percentages, and its crown and pavillion angles. You can get those figures from its GIA report. But do take note that the HCA calculator is only for you to weed out bad performing diamonds and not a selection tool. ASET and Idealscope images are required to determine the actual performance of your diamond.

Sorry for this long ass reply bro. Try and digest the stuffs above and feel free to ask the pros here for clarifications on things you don't understand.

xwen90

You definitely need more info man, especially those pertaining to its cut and light performance. More so cuz of the relatively small carat size. A well cut 0.3-carat stone will look much bigger than a poorly cut one.

Salespersons at jewellery shops usually don't tell you much about the diamond itself one. Most likely cuz they have limited knowledge on diamonds and their main aim is to close the deal and earn your commission. So they will stress and stress that their diamonds are all ideal/brilliant cuts, which is a lie to a certain extent.

If you wanna know how your diamond scored on light performance by solely basing on its proportions, a straightforward way is to use the online HCA calculator. All you need is your stone's table, depth and culet percentages, and its crown and pavillion angles. You can get those figures from its GIA report. But do take note that the HCA calculator is only for you to weed out bad performing diamonds and not a selection tool. ASET and Idealscope images are required to determine the actual performance of your diamond.

Sorry for this long ass reply bro. Try and digest the stuffs above and feel free to ask the pros here for clarifications on things you don't understand.

Its ok bro... i really appreciate your reply here... it gives me a better insight and knowledge on diamond.

Anyway... another noob question.. how does light leakage affect the whole feel of the diamond?

KinoChoco

Bros and sifus...

The ring IGI number i saw is 234655452

Any comments?

Is that their 'love mark' series proposal ring? Their so called ideal hearts and arrow range? I suspect you could get a better deal at Jann Paul for ideal vs ideal, you can opt for Super ideal from JP too if you wish, however I'll recommend you ideal based on your Budget, you might be able to get a 0.4+ for the same price you're paying for 0.3 at love & co

xwen90

Is that their 'love mark' series proposal ring? Their so called ideal hearts and arrow range? I suspect you could get a better deal at Jann Paul for ideal vs ideal, you can opt for Super ideal from JP too if you wish, however I'll recommend you ideal based on your Budget, you might be able to get a 0.4+ for the same price you're paying for 0.3 at love & co

The diamond itself cost about 1.7k..

KingKenny

Diamonds are very hard, that is a fact. Look it up.
&
I've never said diamonds "cannot break", thats absurd...

Yes I know this, and there is light leakage for my stone although not very huge. As I've walked into local jewelers and did apples to apples comparison (because I was doubtful), under the same lighting I was actually surprised that mine looked better as a lowly 60/60 stone.

Anyway guys, i'm simply stating my experience and POV. I definitely respect your opinions and varying points of view. Take any advice or experience with a grain of salt.

Light leakage is seen from white light not in store light dude.

Like I said, Im not dissing your buy. I'm dissing on your advice on other people by ignoring facts and making sh*t up like minor angles wont make visual differences and "doubt diamonds can chip/break so easily" etc. When you give skewed advice when your basic facts and knowledge is wrong, you're sabotaging people.

KingKenny

Bros and sifus...

The ring IGI number i saw is 234655452

Any comments?

IGI grading isn't as strict as GIA. The depth is 62.5% which is considered too deep. Deep cut diamonds will make the diamond look smaller and also have light leakages. You can confirm this with the ASET scope. I would also aim for a 0.3++ and not a flat 0.30ct.

ironmanstark88

A very detailed 101 guide to us rookies in picking the right stones. I have learned something new from here.
Thank you!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.