Proposal Ring - Part 3

chennychenn

I might need to go down and review the choices again seemed like the Octagon is not that popular! Even so it's still my number 1 choice for now until I'm convinced that there's other better choices to my liking. Haha maybe I'll up the size of octagon a little but the price sure gonna be high. I'll go and have a look at other different choice and I'll decide. Thinking if 0.442 is consider small as I have seen multiple in this thread is 0.7-1.6ct. Since this is once in a lifetime, I guess I'll need to choose wisely!

Actually hor I did view the octagon and Super Ideal side by side, if the diamond is small and when the setting is in place, you can't actually notice any difference on whether it's octagon or round. Unless you are into the marketing strategy of 8-sided arrow that have 88 facets with 8arrow and 8heart lol

chennychenn

Yes! JannPaul at Far East shopping center.

hi all. was googling about proposal rings and this thread came up to me. understand this is a huge thread and was seeing JP appear throughout the thread so would like to understand JP is JannPaul at far east shopping center?

chennychenn

This was the two super ideal diamonds I had seen back in Nov 16. The price for the o.4+ is similar to the octagon however the 0.5+ is cheaper by quite a significant amount! Sorry about the broken links. Still wanted to share the images for everyone's reference in this thread however I am unable to post any direct links for now. Any opinions on this? I'm wondering if the price range for the specs is it alright. Currently in a dilemma. Can't decide what should I get.

0.53 E VS1 $4,150 Super Ideal
i.imgur.com/4KlQ1dj.jpg
i.imgur.com/PnytlSr.jpg
i.imgur.com/WKvwd4K.jpg
i.imgur.com/ovIAplL.jpg
i.imgur.com/05Zxr6g.jpg
i.imgur.com/AxvpwZ9.jpg

0.45 E VS1 $3,200 Super Ideal
i.imgur.com/SvxnEOE.jpg
i.imgur.com/3WEYv2n.jpg
i.imgur.com/o8otAcE.jpg
i.imgur.com/YtflUfy.jpg
i.imgur.com/mYbv7di.jpg
i.imgur.com/u3eaQql.jpg

Emolisher

All the Super ideals are the same standard, you will never find one that's better than the other with naked eyes

I received the pictures today but no actual ring photos, don't worry bro our image scope is most likely the same.

Well that's true haha, ya when I'm there the diamond super blink sia just by looking at it with naked eyes.. well bro that's only the setting I chose not the actual diamond with setting photos lol

KinoChoco

Just wanted to share my opinion regarding purchasing your diamonds at JannPaul.

For the same specs and cut quality (i.e. Ideal to Ideal), you are definitely paying a premium over at JannPaul. I didn't want to be a sucker, so I ended up doing abit more work.

As most of you guys would already know, JannPaul emphasize that even among the GIA triple excellent diamonds, there are the "good ones" and "less good ones - in terms of Cut. So during the presentation, I asked the salesperson if there was any way to determine which are the "Grade 1" triple excellent and which are the lower grade triple excellent diamonds, based on the written specs/information from paper certificates. He said "No". This was after we did all the visual inspection through the normal scope and Ideal Scope and the Hearts and Arrows scope.

But through my own research and testing, I found this to be untrue. You can definitely determine if "a diamond" will pass all of JannPaul's visual/scope inspection from the specs of a diamond written in the certificate.

The criteria range for Ideal Cuts, as some of you all may have already known, are more stringent than the GIA triple excellent grading. The range for the cut depth, Table width, Crown, crown angle etc, have a smaller tolerance for the ideal cuts. For example, in an Ideal cut, your Depth must be between 58.5 - 62.5.

I asked the above question to the JannPaul salesperson because I wanted to know if the only way to obtain their standard of an excellent diamond was to carry the Ideal Scope set around different shops and inspect them myself. But apparently, that is not the only way. You can first filter the good ones out based on the specs listed on the GIA certs.

I was also told JannPaul cut most of their diamonds themselves. On average, their mark up on Ideal cut diamonds are about 20% - 25% more than another diamond of an identical cut (which will also pass ALL the visual tests of JannPaul).

So I would conclude by saying, yes, their services are pretty good, but be expected to pay a price premium for a diamond with an identical performance.

For me, I went with the option of looking elsewhere for an "Ideal Cut" diamond, first filtering by looking at the GIA certificates, and visually checking through the Ideal scope those diamonds which pass the paper specs . I saved myself slightly over $1k.

I think you misunderstood ideal vs Super ideal.
You can never find a Super ideal based on paper specs, ideal, yes.

Super ideal are generally 10-20% higher than ideal if comparing Jann Paul vs Jann Paul, you can hardly get a better priced Super ideal anywhere else even online, it's quite rare.

Ideal's are under house of hung inventory and not JannPaul's so I think you're getting confused between the term of ideal and Super ideal, most online education blog etc only give a rough guide for ideal cut and not Super ideal, because you will need scopes to identify Super ideal and not just specs.

KinoChoco

Maybe you can provide us the specs of your diamond, the cert, scope images and from where you get it from? I think many of us will really be interested if there's any dealer out there that allow a true Super ideal diamond to be sold this cheap at a 20%+ discount as compared to Jann Paul Super ideal.

PS: I suppose the 'ideal scope set' includes the ASET scope and not simply H&A scope yeah? There's not many shops out there providing customer with aset scope etc.

Emolisher

Maybe you can provide us the specs of your diamond, the cert, scope images and from where you get it from? I think many of us will really be interested if there's any dealer out there that allow a true Super ideal diamond to be sold this cheap at a 20%+ discount as compared to Jann Paul Super ideal.

PS: I suppose the 'ideal scope set' includes the ASET scope and not simply H&A scope yeah? There's not many shops out there providing customer with aset scope etc.

Yes bro! Please provide the images your saw! You can take pics with your cam through the Scope, we will also like to save 10-20%! Why not share shop that you mentioned so we can go down and take a look ourself? Good thing must share ma! Right Throwaway?

bb_100

I do not agree. The few private retailers I went to had the scope set. Even Soo Kee at Orchard had it (although I had to insist for it).

Bro, you sure arr? I think you are referring to the H&A scope.

heart_scope.jpg

This is the ASET scope.

asetscope.jpg

This is the Idealscope.

beginnerscope.jpg

All 3 are different bro.

Emolisher

I m more than happy to share the details of my diamond when I get home, and if someone asks me privately for it. But I don't think I am going to publicly advertise for any shop.

Huh why not? We share good deal and lobang here. If not please pm me the shop name so I can go down and take a look and compare! Mayb I can also save myself a few hundred dollars^^

KinoChoco

I do not agree. The few private retailers I went to had the scope set. Even Soo Kee at Orchard had it (although I had to insist for it).

I did not buy without paying more, but it was only a couple hundred more; the premium was much less than what I had to pay at JP. Of course the diamond was not the SAME one, but the specs were great.

I m more than happy to share the details of my diamond when I get home, and if someone asks me privately for it. But I don't think I am going to publicly advertise for any shop.

I also do not agree that these "gems" can't be determined from paper. The Holloway Cut Adviser you guys mentioned is a pretty good place to start. After narrowing down to that, inspecting it yourself through the Ideal Scope should pretty much nail it down already.

To summarize, you only used HCA, Cert and ideal scope and found something that appear to be nice. TBH, you can't call that Super ideal, an ideal can pass these test too. Since you've got no actual images to show for your diamond, nobody can comment further. You happy can liao 😂

KinoChoco

Well, pretty sure the HCA, follow by visuals through the Aset scope and Ideal scope is all you need to determine if something is Super Ideal caliber - consistent with what JP claims.

If you have something new to share with us, of course we are most willing to learn.

Yea, I was pretty happy I didn't have to pay $1k more, though it took time and some sweating.

I also want to emphasize that the "Ideal" ranges by JP were also considerably more expensive.

No offence but seems like you totally created this new account on HWZ just to put Jann Paul down. After all, you can't provide any single image or credit to whatever diamond you purchased, lol

LL1986

Well, pretty sure the HCA, follow by visuals through the Aset scope and Ideal scope is all you need to determine if something is Super Ideal caliber - consistent with what JP claims.

If you have something new to share with us, of course we are most willing to learn.

Yea, I was pretty happy I didn't have to pay $1k more, though it took time and some sweating.

I also want to emphasize that the "Ideal" ranges by JP were also considerably more expensive.

I don't think their Super Ideal cuts is just about the HCA and scope filtration. The HCA and all those scopes are helpful, but its more than that. They got filter the color and clarity too. Color grades can still have a range which they will only take in the upper range. Like there is a upper F and lower F color grade on the scale. Some diamonds can be brownish too and it's not on the certificate. Likewise for clarity, they use the higher end VS1/VS2, take in the better clarity characteristics, girdle-free inclusions, etc. There's a few more stuff but I can't remember it all.

They also check for girdle painting/digging and Sarine analysis to check all the facets symmetry and standard deviations. I asked them for the full steps before but they only revealed this much to me. So that's why I know so far. I tried getting more info from Jann but he only told me this much as the rest was their company secret to their cuts.

You will definitely see the visual difference if you compare the diamonds outside the shop. They will be more than happy to bring the diamonds outside to compare for you.

KinoChoco

(1) you are being overly defensive, or you seem to be very sensitive (like as if you work for them, but I don't think u do). I gain nothing by putting anyone down, and JP definitely did not own me any money. So I think this is a very stupid accusation.
(2) I actually said JP has very good service, don't auto filter my comments please.
(3) I am not asking people to trust me entirely. I am offering another point of view for people to consider. I am sure (I m sure you are as well) people are not stupid. They don't jump just because I say so. They can do their own shopping and research around.
I do have the images, but do not feel the need to waste 2 hours of my time digging them (especially in the middle of a workweek) just so I can win a petty argument over you. But one weekend when I have the time I will return here and share the images from my mailbox.

There is nothing wrong with JP. Their diamonds are excellent. I was more price sensitive which was why I spend so much time searching and waiting for the ideal diamond so that I can save that little $1k which may mean nothing to you.
1 more plus point for JP. I brought my diamond for their 2nd opinion (I was pretty confident with my own analysis already, but no harm getting the reassurance), and they gave their honest review of it. I did not tell them the price and where I got it of course, but I didn't expect them to graciously do the review for me.

So I would say (to those who are looking for a diamond) definitely give JP a visit, but take your time to visit others as well. - is that putting JP down? I don't think so.

Nobody knows who are you, nor will you gain anything from putting anyone down nor did you bought any diamond.

You made all the effort to create a new account here, a long first post specially targeted at how JP is charging a lot premium over other places but can't provide any other information to back whatever you've said.

This is not the first time some random new user starting their first post against JP. In fact, recently someone just got banned for saying JP is overcharging and started to promote some random jeweler and kena owned by most of the bros here after checking the scope images of the particular jeweler.

Maybe someone learnt a new lesson of not sharing the jeweler and images out in the thread now and resort to PM to trick newbies? 😂.

Just share the jeweler that sold you the diamond if you've indeed bought one, many of us here will do our own assessment and thank you if you provide us a good lobang :)

bb_100

Just share the jeweler that sold you the diamond if you've indeed bought one, many of us here will do our own assessment and thank you if you provide us a good lobang :)

Ya lor. I don't know why he is so secretive and only wanna reveal further info thru PM. If he got himself a good deal, for sure he can't wait to share it with others right?

I suspect this fella is last time that Lazare or Luzure dude.

bb_100

I am offering another point of view for people to consider.

Got meh bro? But you didn't tell us which jeweller is it wor bro. No tell how we consider leh bro? Here:

You: Wah bro! I got a diamond from a jeweller hor, very cheap and the cut very good leh! Some more cheaper than JannPaul Super Ideal by $1,000 bro!

Us: Really arr??!! See see your diamond how bro! Where you got it bro?

You: Ehh you JannPaul supporter right? Haha not telling you.

KinoChoco

Ya lor. I don't know why he is so secretive and only wanna reveal further info thru PM. If he got himself a good deal, for sure he can't wait to share it with others right?

I suspect this fella is last time that Lazare or Luzure dude.

That's why I think this guy is not stupid like the previous ones, either same person or someone who knew what happened after getting caught lol, hence better do promoting in PM now.

He doesn't make sense, can so openly talk negatively about various jeweler names but when it comes to the jeweler where he gotten the good deal, he became sensitive of giving out names publicly...lol.

KinoChoco

Got meh bro? But you didn't tell us which jeweller is it wor bro. No tell how we consider leh bro? Here:

You: Wah bro! I got a diamond from a jeweller hor, very cheap and the cut very good leh! Some more cheaper than JannPaul Super Ideal by $1,000 bro!

Us: Really arr??!! See see your diamond how bro! Where you got it bro?

You: Ehh you JannPaul supporter right? Haha not telling you.

Exactly. To be honest, most of us here are into top quality diamond at a cheaper rate, we are smart enough to do our own due diligence as Long we know from which jeweller yet this fellow here keep on saying how he's just sharing and wants to help everyone to get a better deal, but wants us to PM him for more details lol. Macham doing sales or roadshow, lure you with free gift to their personal space before the sales talk ������

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.