Proposal Ring - Part 3

Miltah

Hi Guys!

Need an advice.
Currently I have gotten a Diamond Ring, I would like to remove the diamond and then set it in another customised ring of the design I like, where can i do so!
I went to Jaan Paul, hoping they would do it, but they don't set loose diamonds.

It’s not they dun set, they just dun set diamonds they didn’t sell.
There’s a lot of other jewellers who do:
- more than diamonds in Tudor court
- Choo Yilin in mandarin gallery
- Benny’s Gems n canary diamond at delfi orchard ground floor
All these are not far from JP
Then you have Yuen Tung at lower delta

throwawaygrad

Hi Guys!

Need an advice.
Currently I have gotten a Diamond Ring, I would like to remove the diamond and then set it in another customised ring of the design I like, where can i do so!
I went to Jaan Paul, hoping they would do it, but they don't set loose diamonds.

You need to contact House of Hung instead of Jannpaul. I got my diamond set there!

FreshGradDays

See many guys here focus so much on the tech and specs.. Posting so many charts from JP where they uses magnifying scope to see the difference.

No doubt, I been there too, its addictive. I tried booking JP but to no avail as its last min, so end up being at eClarity which is just 15 mins walk away. I learnt a very important aspect when choosing a ring, dont stick to the technical sheets, goes with what your eyes tell you.

What do you think girls will ask her first when they saw her ring, the H&A chart? Definitely No. Carat being the 1st and then maybe the color, but next is most probably the 3Exs as it determine the sparkles.

I think its very interesting to see what kind of girl you are with, when you go with her to choose diamond ring. And good luck to you LOL
Agree with you here.

Many of JP supporters are actually paying for their top notch service standard and super ideal cuts, which should be a premium btw. As many have said JP price is not the most competitive but it is value for money (shopping experience, scopes, 3D modeling, diamond education).

Sent from WTS Qoo10 On Carousell using GAGT

Mooxie

The service I had was professional, maybe not as details with so much tech specs like what I read so far. We did not speak of any other store. She only remind me what you(aka ur wife) see is what matter the most. My budget is low as compared to most bros here.

I bring my gf there to pick ring and it's a good experience to me. Just sharing.
0.45ct, VS1, E, 3EXs at 2.4K with ring inclusive.

Nice! Won't go wrong when you bring your gf there to try, especially the size part. Mine was a little small and I had to forced it in during the proposal :eek: Luckily she liked the ring I designed so I just had to resize it.

Mooxie

Hi Guys!

Need an advice.

You can check out some of the jewellery shops at the far east plaza, some of them have their own workshop and craftsman. But just need to be careful and remember to verify your diamond after setting to ensure it's still the same diamond.

I'm a private jeweller lah, if you really can't find and need help let me know.

Mooxie

Thanks for the tips guys. Collected my ring from JP today and they gave me a plastic ziploc to hold the ring. :D The tricky bit now is to transfer without her knowing.

Transfer in the toilet after you touch down cause you have all your barang barang. Good luck! So excited :s12:

lance88

I think you misread it.. That's not what I meant at all. I mean getting something that has the most worth.

For example,
Diamond A: 0.51 F VS1 $3,000
Diamond B: 0.51 F VS1 $2,000
Diamond C: 0.51 F VS1 $1,000
(these prices are just examples only)

All 3 diamonds on the GIA certificate is the same. GIA certified and all EXC, etc. To you, how do you know the diamond that you're getting is worth which price? This would depend on the technical data, likes the scopes, light performance etc. To each our own, some will find Diamond C to have the best worth since its the cheapest. Or some might find Diamond A to be worth it if it has better light performance. Everyone has their own opinion and priority.

But what if you're buying diamond C, but paying the price of $2,000 which can actually get you a better diamond (B)? From your eyes or certificate, you would not know. You will need the technical data for this.

So without the technical data, it is very difficult to tell whether diamond is ''worth'' it or not. Which is why I'm trying to say that is why all the bros here are into the technical data, to check whether the diamond they are buying it worth it :)

Yes but some people may overspent just for the technical or by going too in-depth into it. I am not saying GIA or those performance certs are total non-necessity, we just need to be moderate about it. Aiming for the "best" but not what is necessary.

KinoChoco

Yes but some people may overspent just for the technical or by going too in-depth into it. I am not saying GIA or those performance certs are total non-necessity, we just need to be moderate about it. Aiming for the "best" but not what is necessary.

Not really, if you really have a budget and wants the best bang for the buck will be going in-depth into the technical.

You doesn't need to spend more, you just need to know what's your budget and the basic Size/Color/Clarity you're aiming for and proceed to find the best cut that fit into your expected size/color/clarity while within the budget. - I believe this is what CaptainFantastic was trying to say too. The only way you're going to overspend/scammed/ripped off is by not going into technical.

Emeraldstarz

Agree with you here.

Many of JP supporters are actually paying for their top notch service standard and super ideal cuts, which should be a premium btw. As many have said JP price is not the most competitive but it is value for money (shopping experience, scopes, 3D modeling, diamond education).

Sent from WTS Qoo10 On Carousell using GAGT
On that note, has anyone here tried to find out what's the best combination for the diamond value retention?

In general, we know that the value will drop a lot, but there's still a difference between a 70% depreciation and a 50% depreciation.

For the same budget, there has to be some tradeoffs right? Bigger carat vs higher specs.
E.g. For the same budget, let's say similar colour and clarity (+/- 1 grade):
Choice A: triple excellent cut, largest carat
Choice B: super ideal cut, smaller carat
Choice C: solafera, smallest carat

Which of these do u think will retain value best, for e.g. 2 years down the road?

lance88

Nice! Won't go wrong when you bring your gf there to try, especially the size part. Mine was a little small and I had to forced it in during the proposal :eek: Luckily she liked the ring I designed so I just had to resize it.

haha yea, really need to bring her current normal rings to get the decent size, at the least not too tight till cant wear or not too loose till it drop during proposal. If not damn paiseh sia!

My gf dont wear ring, I dont think there are other choices other than to bring her down.

Miltah

If u use bluenile one of the well known online diamond as an example.
For the same caret weight, punch in triple excellent and you will still see quite a huge variation in price.
Now, if you add to the triple excellent filter with the super ideal specs such as table size, crown n pavilion angles, and you will get the higher range of prices.
Meaning, those technical specs u talked off clearly cost more as there is a difference. Whether u decide if those differences are worth it is entirely up to you.

lance88

Not really, if you really have a budget and wants the best bang for the buck will be going in-depth into the technical.

You doesn't need to spend more, you just need to know what's your budget and the basic Size/Color/Clarity you're aiming for and proceed to find the best cut that fit into your expected size/color/clarity while within the budget. - I believe this is what CaptainFantastic was trying to say too. The only way you're going to overspend/scammed/ripped off is by not going into technical.

Sure to each own views. Just saying be moderate about it and not 0 technical. Being too technical, allow the seller to push to sell over the budget like those special cuts or other non-necessary area. Its important to visit a shop with a honest seller that sticks to your targeted budget.

JP price is not the best in the town but you get it in other areas

CaptainFantastic

I'm not saying you should aim for the best or spend more.. Its just about not over paying for something than what it's worth.

Ok. We use your 0.45 E VS1 as example. For what you paid for, if the diamond has Ideal proportions and looks great under the scope images, I think its really worth it and a great buy!
But, lets say if the diamond has fluorescence, then its not worth it, as diamonds with fluorescence are priced (or worth) much less.
Or if the diamond does not have good proportions, then it should be priced cheaper too. Etc. Etc. There are many other technical factors that can make the diamond cheaper. Which is why, in order to check that you are not overpaying for the diamond, you need these technical data.

I'm not saying that you should aim for the best either. Technical data is useful for price checks. That's all.

P.S. I'm just using these as purely examples. I'm not saying you should spend more or that you over payed. All I'm saying is that you need technical data to determine the value of it :)

CaptainFantastic

Just saw your post! Yes!!! This is exactly what I'm trying to say! lol

Miltah

Sure to each own views. Just saying be moderate about it and not 0 technical. Being too technical, allow the seller to push to sell over the budget like those special cuts or other non-necessary area. Its important to visit a shop with a honest seller that sticks to your targeted budget.

JP price is not the best in the town but you get it in other areas

I guess what Lance88 is trying to say also is not paying for what you can’t see. And frankly that’s where I wished JP would loosen up.

I recently bought 2 diamonds, one is an SI1, the other is an SI2. They are both super ideal cuts, and without a 10x magnifying glass, you can’t see those inclusions.

Even gold heart and Lee Hwa are selling SI clarity diamonds. Do u think they will really sell those if u can see the inclusions? No doubt, these are priced considerably lower

Mooxie

On that note, has anyone here tried to find out what's the best combination for the diamond value retention?

In general, we know that the value will drop a lot, but there's still a difference between a 70% depreciation and a 50% depreciation.

For the same budget, there has to be some tradeoffs right? Bigger carat vs higher specs.
E.g. For the same budget, let's say similar colour and clarity (+/- 1 grade):
Choice A: triple excellent cut, largest carat
Choice B: super ideal cut, smaller carat
Choice C: solafera, smallest carat

Which of these do u think will retain value best, for e.g. 2 years down the road?

Personally, I think unless you are getting an investment piece (eg. 2ct, D, Flawless), otherwise, there will not be much resale value as there are too many diamonds in the market already.

Having said that, with the rise of Carousell, perhaps there's a chance you can find a buyer who wants to buy it.

Miltah

Personally, I think unless you are getting an investment piece (eg. 2ct, D, Flawless), otherwise, there will not be much resale value as there are too many diamonds in the market already.

Having said that, with the rise of Carousell, perhaps there's a chance you can find a buyer who wants to buy it.

HP diamonds which sell Crafted by Infinity diamonds will pay back 80% of your purchase, lifetime guarantee

Not even JP will buy back their own diamonds

havcove

Thanks for the tips guys. Collected my ring from JP today and they gave me a plastic ziploc to hold the ring. :D The tricky bit now is to transfer without her knowing.

hmm wore my gold wedding band through thailand and singapore customs, my wife wore her diamond ring and wedding band.. the alarm did not go off...all 3 rings from jp..

hear from wife that it will only go off if it is a magnetic metal or something.. :s22: ignorant me was like orh...

KinoChoco

HP diamonds which sell Crafted by Infinity diamonds will pay back 80% of your purchase, lifetime guarantee

Not even JP will buy back their own diamonds

i remember JP buys back their own diamond 100% value, if over 2 years, u just need to pay 100-200 additional for a re-certification cost by GIA.

But this is only for actual JP's diamond, which are those Super Ideal and other premium cuts.

For ideal cuts and below, it's under HOH...and for that i dunno what's the policy for that, definitely not same as JP's policy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.