Proposal Ring - Part 3

ThiamWan

Just made a visit to JP last Saturday. Was shown SIC for .3 - .4 range. Was wondering if I intend to get a carat that is less than .5, will a poor clarity and Color be obvious? Coz I was keen on getting the .41, D, VVS2. Will it be an overkill for a small diamond.

Just curious, is the jump from G to F very obvious? Dun get to see any G. Was only shown F and above with my given Budget.

I can’t see the diff in the G and F, but my gf could tell from the side view. Too view will be harder. VVS2 might be abit overkill. I think you can consider to drop the clarity to VS1. Though in the .4 range, I think the price difference between the grades is like $50-100? You pay abit more for that shiok factor. Haha

Desaturated

Slightly off topic but still a bit relevant.

Anyone know what is the best credit card to use at JP? particularly for big purchases, like 10k above.

Miltah

I do notice that the color is a bit more dull and more yellowish for F as compared with D side by side.

As for the F stone I was shown 0.42ct, F and VS1.

If you can see the color difference from F already then it’s probably more obvious with G for u.
You could drop the clarity but it would only be small jumps in caret as hitting above 0.5c is a price jump.

BuaySaiHippo

Hi guys, what are your take about buying loose diamond from online retailers i.e, James Allen? Are they reliable and will there be a potential problem in shipping to SG?

It seems the prices of their stones are very competitive.

Miltah

Hi guys, what are your take about buying loose diamond from online retailers i.e, James Allen? Are they reliable and will there be a potential problem in shipping to SG?

It seems the prices of their stones are very competitive.

I wouldn’t go with James Allen because I cannot fully evaluate the diamond I’m buying (no scope images)
If you are really after the online route, try Whiteflash, Brian Gavin Diamonds or HP diamond.

I have shipped stones to SG, no issue. It’s tracked with DHL or Fed ex but rem if u deliver to home, anyone can sign for it. The insurance coverage stops so long as it’s delivered and signed for. If it’s a large purchase I would pick up at their office as they need to check your IC before releasing the package.

Also rem to factor in gst, fedex will pay first n forward u a bill for gst later

BuaySaiHippo

I wouldn’t go with James Allen because I cannot fully evaluate the diamond I’m buying (no scope images)
If you are really after the online route, try Whiteflash, Brian Gavin Diamonds or HP diamond.

I have shipped stones to SG, no issue. It’s tracked with DHL or Fed ex but rem if u deliver to home, anyone can sign for it. The insurance coverage stops so long as it’s delivered and signed for. If it’s a large purchase I would pick up at their office as they need to check your IC before releasing the package.

Also rem to factor in gst, fedex will pay first n forward u a bill for gst later
Hey, thanks for your reply and insights.

I am just surprised how much cheaper their price match up against jewellers here in SG.
But this is also the factor that is holding me back, not sure how legit it is.

Also, i read a few mentions of an 'HOH' company that can do ring setting when you bring them loose diamond. What exactly is HOH?

Sorry, noob here. :o

sgcelineng

What was the dmg? And gia cert for research?

That’s a JP Super Ideal right? Already top of the top, can’t get any better Liao, scopes no need to ask for review haha

It is a super ideal cut from JP. I saw other SIC from others before and the scope pics was very different. So wanted to be sure. Dmg is in the 6k figure. We visited several jewellers but still ended up back to the 1st shop JP. Their cut really stands out.

sgcelineng

Anyone know what is the best credit card to use at JP? particularly for big purchases, like 10k above.

I used the UOB one card. Its better for cash rebate if you can split the charges over the months. or it will be the miles cards if you want to collect mile points.

Miltah

I am just surprised how much cheaper their price match up against jewellers here in SG.

Also, i read a few mentions of an 'HOH' company that can do ring setting when you bring them loose diamond. What exactly is HOH?
o

They are legit, I haven’t used them but others have and had their stone set at House of Hung (HOH)
They are cheap for a reason, even with online vendors, the more information they provide u such as scope images, the higher the prices go...

KingKenny

Hey, thanks for your reply and insights.

Sorry, noob here. :o

They are cheap for a reason. They are safe in a sense that you won't get an empty box when your box arrives. Whether you will be ok with the actual diamond is another thing. You can check with JP on the diamond's GIA number you picked out to get a price reference check from. It might even be cheaper with them.

Miltah

Possible to hoot fairly good 0.7ct + setting within 5k budget?

Unless you can find it at HOH.
If not, your only option is the online route with G, H, I color with clarity VS2 and SI1. And ring setting done locally. I can find u cheaper but u will sacrifice cut

0.71 I VS2 $4100 (gst added, delivered)
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-4081336.htm

0.72 H SI1 $4280 (gst added, delivered)
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-4089751.htm

0.7 G SI1 $4500 (gst added, delivered)
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-4063417.htm

pepsitwist

Amex true cashback card got sign up promotion of 3% rebate for 5k cap. Sign up as many as you can then tell them to split the bill into different cards..

Uob one even though is 5% it’s not very good for one shot big purchases cos it’s capped at 2k/mth. That card best for wedding banquets where you can slowly pay in advance first

Just made a visit to JP last Saturday. Was shown SIC for .3 - .4 range. Was wondering if I intend to get a carat that is less than .5, will a poor clarity and Color be obvious? Coz I was keen on getting the .41, D, VVS2. Will it be an overkill for a small diamond.

Just curious, is the jump from G to F very obvious? Dun get to see any G. Was only shown F and above with my given Budget.

Imo, D colour for 0.41 is overkill.. might as well drop the colour and get a bigger carat. Girls don’t usually care about colour as long as not too yellowish. Size matters more

KinoChoco

Amex true cashback card got sign up promotion of 3% rebate for 5k cap. Sign up as many as you can then tell them to split the bill into different cards..

Uob one even though is 5% it’s not very good for one shot big purchases cos it’s capped at 2k/mth. That card best for wedding banquets where you can slowly pay in advance first

Imo, D colour for 0.41 is overkill.. might as well drop the colour and get a bigger carat. Girls don’t usually care about colour as long as not too yellowish. Size matters more

UOB One will be best if you work near JP and not in an hurry for the ring.

20k can split to 10 swipes and get 5% full rebate :s13:

KinoChoco

Unless you can find it at HOH.
If not, your only option is the online route with G, H, I color with clarity VS2 and SI1. And ring setting done locally. I can find u cheaper but u will sacrifice cut

0.71 I VS2 $4100 (gst added, delivered)
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-4081336.htm

0.72 H SI1 $4280 (gst added, delivered)
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-4089751.htm

0.7 G SI1 $4500 (gst added, delivered)
https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut-loose-diamond-4063417.htm

I find that the typical 'comfortable' range for chinese are D-F, i think having 'G' somehow makes themselves feel inferior liao, just my 2 cents haha....hell, some even only wants D :s13:

Miltah

I find that the typical 'comfortable' range for chinese are D-F, i think having 'G' somehow makes themselves feel inferior liao, just my 2 cents haha....hell, some even only wants D :s13:

Some pple want chio, ‘Pi’ and ‘Tua lup Neh’ then of course I can’t help

BuaySaiHippo

@Miltah

I am very inclined about getting the stone from an online retailer i.e, whiteflash.com as you recommended.

My budget is about S$3-3.5 for the diamond. I believe in size(carat) and sparkle(cut) matters more than anything else. So colour and clarity will be my least concern.

There are just too many in that range when i did a search on the website and I am not sure which one will be the best choice.

Perhaps you can share your suggestion for my requirement?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.