PSU in HDB flat

Hikikomori

i would like to ask forum members if its possible to run 10 identical PCs in a HDB flat?

will there be enough power to do so?

can a single wall power socket achieve this task?

assume each PC runs a 500W PSU, no VGA card.

No more than 5 for a single socket. Draw too much current may cause blackout. :s12:

Felfirez

The wall socket that you tapped on is able to give you 13amps of power. To take as reference, my PC uses about 1.2amp, including monitor, of current since it's drawing about 270w (270w/240v ~ 1.2amp). A HTPC should give much less, about 0.2amp. So yes you can connect 10 of those on a single power point. If you're worried then get a multi socket extension with a 18AWG cord. Do not use a multi plug.

Kiwi8

Should be ok, but avoid using multiplug. Instead, use a quality socket extension.

MoneyFace =p

That room with all 10 PCs only got 1 wall point meh? You just need to run 3 quality power surge extension power plugs from 3 different wall sockets to power all the 10 PCs to solve.

IIRC (from my sec school electricity knowledge), each wall socket has a limitation to power draw...

Felfirez

i dont understand from a technical point of view, differences between a multiplug and multi socket extension. if the wall socket support max 13 amps, how can i go over it?

i assume i still can have air con running when the 10 PCs are running? 13 amps is for one socket and not the whole house?

For the multiplug and multi socket extension is that multi plugs are generally not designed to handle high load applications and they don't really come with any surge protection like quality multi socket extensions. Your aircon takes power from a 15/20A isolator.

IIRC, a typical HDB flat has a 30A limit, exec flats have 40A.

ry0suk1

never overload your single socket.. might cause overheat and caught fire... or maybe black.. will be better for you to split at least 5 by 5...

BryanWu

no vga card would most likely mean each system draws less than 100watts.

10 systems, and you'll still draw less than a 1500w oven.

you can also use more efficient psus to lower the overall power consumption.

the systems won't need a 500w psu either. a good quality 300w well be more than sufficient.

Arrow32

I wouldnt wanna try using 10pc in a socket.. the thought of it doesnt seems safe...

wacko

Funny why nobody asked why TS needs 10 identical computers in a HDB apartment... :D

hanlsnx

i dont understand from a technical point of view, differences between a multiplug and multi socket extension. if the wall socket support max 13 amps, how can i go over it?

i assume i still can have air con running when the 10 PCs are running? 13 amps is for one socket and not the whole house?
Aircon uses a 15AMP independent wall socket

ry0suk1

Ya aircon cannot be share.. 5 by 5 should be ok.. So each pc u will need like 3plug total 15plugs but some good multi plug if not the lousy one over heat oso die.. Try beklin one somemore got warranty..

Felfirez

Ya aircon cannot be share.. 5 by 5 should be ok.. So each pc u will need like 3plug total 15plugs but some good multi plug if not the lousy one over heat oso die.. Try beklin one somemore got warranty..

All into one wall point using extensions is also fine. Just avoid using multi plugs if possible.

super365

The wall socket that you tapped on is able to give you 13amps of power. To take as reference, my PC uses about 1.2amp, including monitor, of current since it's drawing about 270w (270w/240v ~ 1.2amp). A HTPC should give much less, about 0.2amp. So yes you can connect 10 of those on a single power point. If you're worried then get a multi socket extension with a 18AWG cord. Do not use a multi plug.

Is it that just see each electrical item draw how many amp. As long as the all electrical items plug in a multi socket extension total amp does not exceed 13A, can plug all the electrical item to the multi socket extension? (the multi socket extension is plugged into the single power point on wall)

No need to care about Watts and Volts correct?

What happens if all electrical item plugged into that single power point exceed 13A?

idjekyll

wahlao enquiry settled then erase post. stingy leh don't let other people learn also..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.