Question About Divorce

Char_Kuey

If a man discovers that the children are not his biological offspring and files for divorce, the responsibility for child maintenance will still apply if he has accepted them as part of his family (e.g., raised them during the marriage) or if a legal relationship is established (such as adoption). Under the Women’s Charter, Section 70 states that a person who has accepted a child as a member of their family must maintain them, regardless of whether they are biologically related .

As for alimony, it depends on various factors. The court assesses the wife’s financial needs and the husband’s ability to pay. Under Section 69 of the Women’s Charter, the court can order maintenance for the wife based on her contributions to the family and her needs after the divorce . The discovery of non-biological children does not automatically waive the husband’s duty to maintain the wife.

Regarding legal fees, the court typically has discretion in how they are settled. In some cases, the court may order each party to bear their own legal costs, or in contested cases, costs may be awarded to one party based on factors like conduct during litigation or the complexity of the case . There is no strict rule of 50-50; the division of legal fees can vary depending on circumstances.
duped by that woman still have to pay for someone else's offspring ah?

then what if that woman cheat and collect enough $ already, file for divorce to reunite with the child's biological father and they go happy family thereafter, the cuckold male shoot himself to death after paying the last alimony?

MegatonNev

this 1 very grey area leh. "if" accepted the child as member of the family is because u thought it's urs what. but when the truth was hidden from you intentionally it's a totally different story liao. so does it still apply?

I remember if name of the person is on birth certificate, its considered as accepting the child as part of the family... despite not knowing the child is not biologically his.

gwbasic

then what if that woman cheat and collect enough $ already, file for divorce to reunite with the child's biological father and they go happy family thereafter, the cuckold male shoot himself to death after paying the last alimony?

He never got 11 steps very happy oredi lah. Of course if do rike 武松 is best result, but nowsadays cannot.

Char_Kuey

I remember if name of the person is on birth certificate, its considered as accepting the child as part of the family... despite not knowing the child is not biologically his.
contestable I believe, the judge would determine on the balance of probabilities if the duped 'father' had the opportunity to determine if the kid was biological his based on numerous factors, blood type of child, duped 'father's mental and financial capability and whether that woman ever insisted that the child belongs to the duped 'father'

treeskull

It’s called woman charter and not man charter for a reason

elimmel

what last alimony... the ex wife can don't remarry and he continues to pay alimony...

MegatonNev

contestable I believe, the judge would determine on the balance of probabilities if the duped 'father' had the opportunity to determine if the kid was biological his based on numerous factors, blood type of child, duped 'father's mental and financial capability and whether that woman ever insisted that the child belongs to the duped 'father'
also got factors like did he already played a part in taking responsibility of child's upbringing, did he enjoy benefits through the child i.e.: parentality leave, childcare leave etc.,

ChuppaChups

If kid proven not yours can just annul marriage. No need go through divorce. Speak to a good lawyer. Don’t need to be taken back by WC. The law is on men’s side too.

SpicyBird

damn this isn't fair at all. knowing the facts and without knowing the facts, might affect the decision.

Char_Kuey

also got factors like did he already played a part in taking responsibility of child's upbringing, did he enjoy benefits through the child i.e.: parentality leave, childcare leave etc.,
My opinion would be such that those factors mentioned is attributable towards custody of the child, rather than renouncing further liabilities such as caregiving or alimony for the child if the duped 'father' wants to contest that he is oblivious to the fact the child is not biological his and that there is no circumstance or condition for him to know that the child was not his at the onset

the upbringing part is more of an aftermath from the point where the child is born and has more of a part to play in challenging custody

MegatonNev

damn this isn't fair at all.
it also depends on the judge but I remembered that as long as the person preformed fatherly duties and treated the child as his own, he is still liable for child maintenance but I'm not sure if having child maintenance means he has restricted access to the child...

ChuppaChups

Oh.. TS is the mum? Then I think just file for annulment but don’t contest la.. strike a deal with ur soon to be ex fake father of your children.

MegatonNev

My opinion would be such that those factors mentioned is attributable towards custody of the child, rather than renouncing further liabilities such as caregiving or alimony for the child if the duped 'father' wants to contest that he is oblivious to the fact the child is not biological his and that there is no circumstance or condition for him to know that the child was not his at the onset
the upbringing part is more of an aftermath from the point where the child is born and has more of a part to play in challenging custody

ah... I finally found where I read it from before...

seems like the firm advised that still need to pay....

https://www.gjclaw.com.sg/articles/can-forced-maintain-child-even-though-not-parent/
edit: additional source that said almost same thing.

11. I got married to my wife as she claimed that the baby is mine. One year later, she met her ex-boyfriend and finally admitted that the baby is not mine. I have grown to love the baby. However, she has forbidden me from seeing the baby. Is there anything I can do about this injustice? Can I fight for the baby? Can I press any charges against her?
As the child remains that of your wife and her ex-boyfriend, you have no rights or duties to this child, although you can choose to treat the child as the child of the family and maintain the child. Although you may wish to have access to the child, there is no legal requirement for this and it requires consent of the biological parents in these circumstances.

https://singaporelegaladvice.com/single-and-unwed-mothers-in-singapore-frequently-asked-questions/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.