Question about Malacca

mummynew

I'm a fan of Dr Specs. First got a pair from KSL JB and I think 3 or 4 pairs from there since, then also got a pair when one opened in Komtar JBCC. Staff are on the whole very friendly too.

Will definitely drop by their MP branch next time I'm in Melaka. (y)

I am just very pleased with the optician Raymond coz for just RM55 regular glasses + Rm155 with anti-blue light glasses, he was very 'serious' in his eye measurements (he told me he used to work in Spore optical shop but back to Msia due to covid). I don't actually remember receiving such 'unhurried' service in Singapore.

*first time I went to Malacca after my last visit during childhood time. Really like the place (met many good people such as good optician, good masseur, good dentist, good general public who gave way to me to pay for a few pens even when they were queuing before me with a basket of grocery, etc). It brought back fond memories of my childhood time when Singapore WAS still a 'warmer' place.

Nemesis Alien

I would like to give advise, but please be aware that a lot of shops toh already, so things surly are not the same as 2 years ago.

beanstalk6

*first time I went to Malacca after my last visit during childhood time. Really like the place (met many good people such as good optician, good masseur, good dentist, good general public who gave way to me to pay for a few pens even when they were queuing before me with a basket of grocery, etc). It brought back fond memories of my childhood time when Singapore WAS still a 'warmer' place.
Glad that you have such pleasant impressions of Malacca. Malacca is akin to my second home due to familial ties. Away from the touristic shopping malls and the major cities, much of Malaysia still retains the vibes you identified. People take their time and are easy-going. Which is why I visit new places and re-visit familiar places, from the small towns along the trunk roads to the less-trodden getaways.

Habrosus

Glad to see there are others here who appreciate Melaka as it is too.

I feel rather comfortable there, whether it's just walking around or lazing somewhere. Visiting and revisiting places and people I've got to know over the years. Many a times I found myself extending my trips just to stay a few days longer.

Can't wait to go back. :)

chameleon20

Hi I booked 707 bus from Queen Street terminal to Malacca this Sunday. Does the bus go via Woodland or Boon Lay custom?

matrix05

Malacca needs a post covid update. Is it still same or many shops/attractions/hotel no more?

matrix05

Likely no more liao.
Hopefully new retailers come in to fill the holes. W/o tourists for 2yr, must be devastating as Maleka is dependant on tourists money. China was building Maleka mega ports back then, reclaiming lands , is the project dead or completed?

staythisday

Hopefully new retailers come in to fill the holes. W/o tourists for 2yr, must be devastating as Maleka is dependant on tourists money. China was building Maleka mega ports back then, reclaiming lands , is the project dead or completed?
Just came back form Melaka...didn't do much..Jonker street is still crowded on a friday night..but the atmosphere seems a lot muted. Quite a few shop shuttered unfortunately. I went to the new malls like the shore, sorry it felt like a dead town... and even the regular malls like hatten, dataran pahlawan..also felt muted...

I guess they still need to recover fully and there's no check on vaccination status anywhere. Just make sure you wear your masks..

Nemesis Alien

Just came back form Melaka...didn't do much..Jonker street is still crowded on a friday night..but the atmosphere seems a lot muted. Quite a few shop shuttered unfortunately. I went to the new malls like the shore, sorry it felt like a dead town... and even the regular malls like hatten, dataran pahlawan..also felt muted...

I guess they still need to recover fully and there's no check on vaccination status anywhere. Just make sure you wear your masks..
Outdoors also must wear?

really_noob

Just got back from Melaka. Some shops have closed but most of my usual ones are still around. Quite easy to get Grab on Sunday morning. Most of the foreigners there are Singaporeans, since China borders are still shut. Many local Malaysians are there too. Not as many people as pre-pandemic but the beauty of the place is still there.

For Tong Sheng fans, their standard dropped very badly, very different from pre-COVID. If you're planning to visit, I suggest you spend your money elsewhere. We were disappointed. Perhaps that explains the relatively short queue on a Saturday night.
Nadeje crepe is still nice, the Mahkota Parade outlet closed down, nearest one is a short walk away at Plaza Mahkota, the customer service is really poor. Saw a local Malaysian auntie making noise with the staff. Quite unusual of Malaysian hospitality industry - laid back and bochap we are used to it, but rarely see staff behaving like customers owe them a living.

Nemesis Alien

I don't know if there's a law for it.. most people do have their masks on, unless they are eating.. but otherwise very chill, no one checks your vaccination records anywhere.. :D
Wait hungry mata come ask chu for kopi marnee just because you not wearing ar...

staythisday

Just got back from Melaka. Some shops have closed but most of my usual ones are still around. Quite easy to get Grab on Sunday morning. Most of the foreigners there are Singaporeans, since China borders are still shut. Many local Malaysians are there too. Not as many people as pre-pandemic but the beauty of the place is still there.

For Tong Sheng fans, their standard dropped very badly, very different from pre-COVID. If you're planning to visit, I suggest you spend your money elsewhere. We were disappointed. Perhaps that explains the relatively short queue on a Saturday night.
Nadeje crepe is still nice, the Mahkota Parade outlet closed down, nearest one is a short walk away at Plaza Mahkota, the customer service is really poor. Saw a local Malaysian auntie making noise with the staff. Quite unusual of Malaysian hospitality industry - laid back and bochap we are used to it, but rarely see staff behaving like customers owe them a living.

Yeah, no china groups :D but alot of non Melaka local tourists and SG folks like us. Foodwise, my wife commented that some of those biscuits/traditional types standard all drop..

On friday night, we tried to Geographer's cafe for a drink, they were closed at 10pm sharp, no music ...it was a pale shadow of the good times passed.

On a side note, we discovered a new cafe along Jonker walk called the stolen cup, the croissants and coffee is really nice! We like it so much that we had to tapao back to SG.

really_noob

Yeah, no china groups :D but alot of non Melaka local tourists and SG folks like us. Foodwise, my wife commented that some of those biscuits/traditional types standard all drop..

On friday night, we tried to Geographer's cafe for a drink, they were closed at 10pm sharp, no music ...it was a pale shadow of the good times passed.

On a side note, we discovered a new cafe along Jonker walk called the stolen cup, the croissants and coffee is really nice! We like it so much that we had to tapao back to SG.
Yeah we walked past The Stolen Cup and bought some croissants back to SG too. Will have to try dining in on our next trip.
Another new shop that we found at Jonker is Ren Yi Men. A bit expensive but high quality stuff.

beanstalk6

I was already looking forward to lepak at the Geographer's this weekend. Many happy memories of the place. So now it is made to close at 10pm. What a shock! No doubt the local residents now have the upper hand.

really_noob

I was already looking forward to lepak at the Geographer's this weekend. Many happy memories of the place. So now it is made to close at 10pm. What a shock! No doubt the local residents now have the upper hand.
Bought beer go back to my hotel room and slowly drink. I think shortage of manpower also. Cannot find people to work and cannot afford to pay more to attract people to join. I saw the advert, full time service staff at restaurant RM1500/mth. My nasi lemak costs RM10. Stagnant wages but cost of living going up, jialat.

In SG, at least wages in the service sector have gone up, minimum also have S$2k a month.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.