Question about Malacca

Habrosus

When I was staying at Casa del Rio (near Jonker Street), I've walked to St Peter's Church, then to The Shore, before going back to drop my shopping bags. Then walked to Dataran Pahlawan then to Mahkota Parade, and back. The first part has a mall for aircon break (The Shore), and the rest were from mall to mall.

If walking from Melaka Sentral, it'll be like my walk from Jonker to St Peter's, no mall along the way, walking along shophouses by the roads, under the hot sun is no joke.

The furthest I've walked non-stop (yes, under the hot sun of Melaka streets) was from Church of St Theresa area in Jalan Gajah Berang back to Jonker. I wanted to venture after observing the Grab journey there, and one shop I asked showed me the direction and said it's about 20mins. It's like the longest walk coz all the way was mainly along the roadside, not even along shophouses back then. :s13:

My last long walk back then was from DoubleTree@Hilton to Hatten Hotel. Had to Grab back coz my friend surrendered. :grin:

I like being in Melaka because many places can be explored on foot. But the sun is no joke at all. :crazy:

craze_ho

Are you willing to walk at least 45mins?
im ok to walk.. i just did a 1 hr plus from southkey to KSL. haha. most impt is safe and walkable or not. if is ok can just sightseeing lo.. In case rain n not walkable, how to go to jonker? the bus terminal there will have bus go jonker right? also im planning to go melaka tmr and sat go KL. from jonker go malaka to catch bus to kl... what time ticket is safe? (safe as in wont miss bus)

craze_ho

When I was staying at Casa del Rio (near Jonker Street), I've walked to St Peter's Church, then to The Shore, before going back to drop my shopping bags. Then walked to Dataran Pahlawan then to Mahkota Parade, and back. The first part has a mall for aircon break (The Shore), and the rest were from mall to mall.

If walking from Melaka Sentral, it'll be like my walk from Jonker to St Peter's, no mall along the way, walking along shophouses by the roads, under the hot sun is no joke.

The furthest I've walked non-stop (yes, under the hot sun of Melaka streets) was from Church of St Theresa area in Jalan Gajah Berang back to Jonker. I wanted to venture after observing the Grab journey there, and one shop I asked showed me the direction and said it's about 20mins. It's like the longest walk coz all the way was mainly along the roadside, not even along shophouses back then. :s13:

My last long walk back then was from DoubleTree@Hilton to Hatten Hotel. Had to Grab back coz my friend surrendered. :grin:

I like being in Melaka because many places can be explored on foot. But the sun is no joke at all. :crazy:
hmmm if no shop along... then i guess is not "safe" later faint jialat. ha the walking journey from southkey to ksl at least got some shophouses in between. i went to the supermarket blow air con awhile b4 continue my journey..

Habrosus

im ok to walk.. i just did a 1 hr plus from southkey to KSL. haha. most impt is safe and walkable or not. if is ok can just sightseeing lo.. In case rain n not walkable, how to go to jonker? the bus terminal there will have bus go jonker right? also im planning to go melaka tmr and sat go KL. from jonker go malaka to catch bus to kl... what time ticket is safe? (safe as in wont miss bus)
I won't walk to/fro Melaka Sentral, especially with luggage. Grab is the way for me. :s13:

What I did was to buy the KL tix once I get into Melaka. Up to you, but I timed myself after breakfast then Grab to Melaka Sentral.

so is abt southkey to KSL distance. tat day i lost my way and walked 75 minutes...
Southkey to KSL is actually quite straightforward but I guess you ventured into the "Sentosa maze". I normally gauge my direction towards KSL and just head forward. But I've never walked from Southkey, only Grab. Walked from Plaza Pelangi to Sentosa, then to KSL. :grin:

hmmm if no shop along... then i guess is not "safe" later faint jialat. ha the walking journey from southkey to ksl at least got some shophouses in between. i went to the supermarket blow air con awhile b4 continue my journey..
Ya, if it's open area all the way, definitely need to have an umbrella and bottle of water. But Melaka hot weather is quite siong, I'd want to Grab if it's non-shophouses/mall all the way.

craze_ho

I won't walk to/fro Melaka Sentral, especially with luggage. Grab is the way for me. :s13:

What I did was to buy the KL tix once I get into Melaka. Up to you, but I timed myself after breakfast then Grab to Melaka Sentral.

Southkey to KSL is actually quite straightforward but I guess you ventured into the "Sentosa maze". I normally gauge my direction towards KSL and just head forward. But I've never walked from Southkey, only Grab. Walked from Plaza Pelangi to Sentosa, then to KSL. :grin:

Ya, if it's open area all the way, definitely need to have an umbrella and bottle of water. But Melaka hot weather is quite siong, I'd want to Grab if it's non-shophouses/mall all the way.
No bus ar, have to grab? I hope grab won't deduct my sg wallet... Feel very stress to use grab now cos my wallet got money

Habrosus

No bus ar, have to grab? I hope grab won't deduct my sg wallet... Feel very stress to use grab now cos my wallet got money
There might/should be a bus service, but I've never tried.

Can choose to pay cash? I've been paying cash for Grab Car so far, be it in JB, MLK, or KL...

beanstalk6

Don't walk between Melaka Sentral and town. The best route is to walk to the AEON and follow the river thereon. There is no shade along the way. Take bus 17.

Habrosus

Don't walk between Melaka Sentral and town. The best route is to walk to the AEON and follow the river thereon. There is no shade along the way. Take bus 17.
@craze_ho Above for your info too (y)

You mentioned about the jam this morning. Were you trying to get to Larkin for the JB>MLK bus? If really have to go on a Friday, then try to brave it bah... Otherwise go on Thursday since you want to be there for the pasar malam.

What I did when I reached there on a Thursday was to head for the Sun May Hiong satay, when there's no weekend crowd to deal with. Then I'd head on to continue eating while doing a little shopping. I buy my toiletries there (hardly use hotels'), and also bring lesser baju so I could buy new ones there too. :s13:

Explore here and there, Friday evening will arrive before you know it, pasar malam time! :grin:

craze_ho

Orh.. I see how later
There might/should be a bus service, but I've never tried.

Can choose to pay cash? I've been paying cash for Grab Car so far, be it in JB, MLK, or KL...
Cos I try to avoid cash... Need to take out wallet, dig out money... Mafan ma..... 😅

craze_ho

@craze_ho Above for your info too (y)

You mentioned about the jam this morning. Were you trying to get to Larkin for the JB>MLK bus? If really have to go on a Friday, then try to brave it bah... Otherwise go on Thursday since you want to be there for the pasar malam.

What I did when I reached there on a Thursday was to head for the Sun May Hiong satay, when there's no weekend crowd to deal with. Then I'd head on to continue eating while doing a little shopping. I buy my toiletries there (hardly use hotels'), and also bring lesser baju so I could buy new ones there too. :s13:

Explore here and there, Friday evening will arrive before you know it, pasar malam time! :grin:
Ok thanks. Cos I also planning to head on to KL for genting n take plane back. I naively tot early morning can cross without jam ha. No bian lo.. wait then

Eviltrap

Today took slightly more than 4 hours just to reach Gelang Patah R&R.

Left home at 6.15am, and finally reached Melaka (Hatten) close to 1.30pm.

Sianz.

Corrected to the actual time.

Eviltrap

wa 19 hours to reach melaka, the jam is bad?
PS, PS!

6.15am. Corrected to the actual time liao. :ROFLMAO:

So took 5 hour plus to reach Hatten. So many heavy vehicles and coaches on the Lane 2, so end up pushing others and being pushed by others on Lane 1. Luckily added a DPF cleaner yesterday before pumping full tank. Should have regenerated my DPF filter, hopefully. :o

Aaagogo

greetings y'all, will be on this thread for a day or two reading 155 pages as i will be making a 3D2N mid week trip up to Melaka... i'm usually on the JB thread

Been a while, about 20 years since i last visited part of the Straits Settlements, looking forward to some memories from pri and sec school class excursion trips :LOL:

barely read 3 pages backwards and i see the same 2.5 jokers here from JB thread... wah lau eh :ROFLMAO:

Aaagogo

hotel picked, decided to go with a full fledge hotel, with car parking, as we will be driving (2 couples) up. Once again, you don't need a car, you just need friends with cars.

i wanted to rent a car in JB to drive up anyway, but TGF1 told me her friend's bf will be driving, so my problem solved...

https://www.google.com/maps/place/T...2727!4d102.2484509!16s/g/11fhlx9t72?entry=ttu
i wanted a location in town and needed (safe) parking, so not many choices, oh and relatively not expensive. since most of the time will be spent outside hotel...

difficult to make travel plans with "strangers" TGF1's friend and bf

but TGF1 and my travel style should be some somewhat similiar, our 1st trip together, and she has been to TomorrowLand (and i have not, so jealous of her) based on that, i think we should travel well together

SongManKranji

I just came back from short stay at Malacca. Booked courtyard by Marriort. Very new place around 2mths. Staff & security were v helpful and friendly.
Can walk to jonker and u will pass little India. Went to durian plantation Kebun Durians
IwtKCMc.jpg

5yv6mzs.jpg

Boss pride 50yr old black thorn tree
UcrcROw.jpg

VX9w76B.jpg

Bought a durian knife
Rr6jOiN.jpg

Was at Sekinchan
Nj2iCPB.jpg

S0xxlTS.jpg

Orr Jian stall is v gd. "near The Lorong bar"
I was driving and can explore more.

westtraveller

Did malacca this weekend.. my learnings - pls register MDAC at least 3 days before the trip. This supposedly lets Singaporeans scan passport and use the auto gantry arc customs. Otherwise prepare for 1.5-2 hour wait to get passport manually chopped. Saturday traffic just fyi.
Took kkkl. Smooth and bus driver was responsible. Waited for everyone.
Stayed at Hatten and did very starterpark tourist things (museum, shop, walk jonker). Hatten very walkable to Jonker area. The hotel itself is a little dated but no major complaints from me as chose for location. The linkway to mall opposite is a bit quiet cos some shops closed. Apart from that found it convenient that can walk within the two Palawan malls in a straight line on level 1 to the west exit that puts you near Jonker/museums etc. about 15 min walk from hatten to Jonker.
weather is indeed very hot and sunny. Surrendered to get cold drinks at cafes and stall etc. evening weather much more conducive for walking which is why night market is an attraction.
I wouldn’t recommend for elderly and toddlers due to weather and uneven road/pathway surfaces plus some places no lift or escalators, have to climb stairs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.