Question about Malacca

desmond007

Driving the highway is fine.

But it's the jam as both the customs that is making me think twice about going up north again. o_O
Very true indeed...
Reached woodlands custom at 5am last fri, took slightly more than an hr to cross jb.
Highway smooth traffic reached melaka at 9am.

Coming back encounter twice 20-30min crawling traffic along highway.
Thought should be good.
Then just after Southkey flyover encounter my real nightmare.. standstill traffic all the way to JB immigration almost 3hr. See many walking towards immigration to pee.😂
Plus another hour to clear Singapore.
Total 4hrs plus just to clear JB immigration.

Eviltrap

Very true indeed...
Reached woodlands custom at 5am last fri, took slightly more than an hr to cross jb.
Highway smooth traffic reached melaka at 9am.

Coming back encounter twice 20-30min crawling traffic along highway.
Thought should be good.
Then just after Southkey flyover encounter my real nightmare.. standstill traffic all the way to JB immigration almost 3hr. See many walking towards immigration to pee.😂
Plus another hour to clear Singapore.
Total 4hrs plus just to clear JB immigration.
Cannot plan anymore non school holiday trips as both my girls are now in primary school.

And my girls said that they still wanna go back to Melaka to go back to The Huskitory.

The entire school holiday both customs are like perpetually jam leh. o_O

Anyway, hope you enjoyed the trip in Melaka! Share what you did and ate there. :o

desmond007

Brought my family of 4.
Wife & 2 teenage kids, we stayed for 3 nights at The Sterling.

Went to the usual tourists spots like jonker street night market, Christ church & river cruise.

The sun was too scorching hot during the day so end up in the malls most of the days. 😂
We did lots of shopping for my children.

Tried the famous Tong sheng seafood & really waited 2hrs in queue.
Find it overpriced & food was so so only.

We had the best food at Dragon i in mahkota parade. Very reasonable prices.

Surprisingly they don't sell the kueys openly like JB.
Only at the few peranakan eatery... mostly around jonker.

Saw many empty shops along most of the streets.
Hatten square is totally closed.
While The Shore is half dead.

Grab is cheap & convenient between $5-10.

Overall don't expect much in melaka.

beanstalk6

Had a great 4 days in Malacca. Enjoyed my annual trip as usual.
Surprised to find that the coaches do not make stops at Yong Peng or anywhere. As a result, Larkin-Melaka Sentral only took 3.5 hours. Melaka Sentral to Woodlands as well.
Encountered this hotel operation that operated out of the Pines. The rooms are marketed as Greystone 99 Suites and the rooms share the same premises as the Pines Hotel. However, check-in is done in a minimart in the next building and there is no complimentary parking. Front desk services are only available between 9 and 9, so you will have to Whatsapp a number outside of these times. I reckon that the operation is like a reseller that enables the Pines to fill rooms at a cheaper rate with none of the usual frills. There is no room service and although you get to use the swimming pool, towels are not provided on request at the pool.

SongManKranji

More than 5yrs ago pic. In malacca. Her wanton mee buay pai.
VdpOWgO.jpg

coldfreeze

Any recommended bus service to go Malacca? Seems like Transstar and Billion Stars have terrible reviews.

beanstalk6

Any recommended bus service to go Malacca? Seems like Transstar and Billion Stars have terrible reviews.
I have no problems with my recent choices of KKKL (from Larkin) and Delima (returning). Buses were fairly well-maintained and ticket prices were acceptable. No-fuss , non-stop service.

beanstalk6

My brother and family just went melaka last month and ate there too. Says food still as good as ever. Seems photo of ah ma cooking is well known and people auto will know where the place is:)
Superb branding exercise, isn't it? The original stall was across the road from the present place.

zuppeur

long time didnt go meleka
how many days is recommended for relax pace?
can intro some hotels for me to look at?

beanstalk6

long time didnt go meleka
how many days is recommended for relax pace?
can intro some hotels for me to look at?
Don't know what you expect from "long time didn't go TO Melaka" and "relaxED pace".
Do you plan to visit all the sights like a first-timer?

It can be 4D3N for me as a first-timer.

Hotels: Casa Del Rio, Pines, DoubleTree, Courtyard by Marriott (newest)

sunsetbay

if got extra day, can stay one night at port dickson, lexis hibiscus~ got private pool & steam room, shiok~ not far from malacca~ :s22:

Habrosus

@Andrew833 Wanting to explore touristic spots apart (which I personally rather not), exploring Melaka to me is more to going into where the locals live and eat, and I walk more than Grab. Thus needing more travel, etc. And I've a friend who loves the bathtubs, pools (both hotels have pool-with-view), and massages, so I don't really get to leave the hotel as much as I'd like to. I'm an outdoor explorer. :grin:

if got extra day, can stay one night at port dickson, lexis hibiscus~ got private pool & steam room, shiok~ not far from malacca~ :s22:
IMO, Port Dickson's Lexis Hibiscus need at least 2 nights to relax, especially at the cost of room alone. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.