Question about Malacca

Lippyt

Review on coach: WTS Travel, return trip 1st august. ($50 round trip)

I had booked this coach trip much earlier and was told by WTS that a standard sized tour bus would pick us up at the Hotel.

Instead they sent a small van with a rude and cocky driver (non-uniformed). The van was dirty and old. The driver's first words were "you all must wait in the front there, not in the lobby" despite earlier instructions to wait in the hotel lobby and his volume and tone was rude. He was clearly very aggressive, inpatient when we were loading our luggage and ungentle despite me traveling with my elderly mom.

During the journey, he was shouting in the van and was really unprofessional, his driving was reckless* and he said that he would bring us to the "border" (which he finally revealed to be the melakan border).

*due to his unexplained agitation and aggression and he kept swerving.

Eventually we transferred to a Malaysian registered coach at a side road near the expressway. It too was old, dirty, rickety and had flies all over.

I would suggest that people reading this review consider twice before choosing WTS as your coach service as the quality of your ride back may vary greatly from what was promised.

wildkev

Review on coach: WTS Travel, return trip 1st august. ($50 round trip)

I had booked this coach trip much earlier and was told by WTS that a standard sized tour bus would pick us up at the Hotel.

Instead they sent a small van with a rude and cocky driver (non-uniformed). The van was dirty and old. The driver's first words were "you all must wait in the front there, not in the lobby" despite earlier instructions to wait in the hotel lobby and his volume and tone was rude. He was clearly very aggressive, inpatient when we were loading our luggage and ungentle despite me traveling with my elderly mom.

During the journey, he was shouting in the van and was really unprofessional, his driving was reckless* and he said that he would bring us to the "border" (which he finally revealed to be the melakan border).

*due to his unexplained agitation and aggression and he kept swerving.

Eventually we transferred to a Malaysian registered coach at a side road near the expressway. It too was old, dirty, rickety and had flies all over.

I would suggest that people reading this review consider twice before choosing WTS as your coach service as the quality of your ride back may vary greatly from what was promised.

OMG, i will be taking WTS next week to Malacca. :eek:

Lippyt

OMG, i will be taking WTS next week to Malacca. :eek:

Hope you got a tour package or are traveling with a big group. Should be, since its the long weekend. And my wishes too that you won't be put through the same bad experience :(:sad::sad:

wildkev

Hope you got a tour package or are traveling with a big group. Should be, since its the long weekend. And my wishes too that you won't be put through the same bad experience :(:sad::sad:

I booked from Esibook and select Mahkota Hotel for my drop off and boarding since I am staying nearby and WTS is the one bus that goes there when I booked. :(

buswhiz

normally long weekend do expect some hiccup or delay along the way.. traffic will be very bad

s7460597

Hari Raya weekend a lot of people balek kampung so highways will have very heavy traffic. There's usually more accidents than normal.

Need to Be patient.

Lippyt

I booked from Esibook and select Mahkota Hotel for my drop off and boarding since I am staying nearby and WTS is the one bus that goes there when I booked. :(

I booked at their office so I could select hotels aside from what's provided on easibook/busonline.

Staying at the holiday inn? The trip there should be fine if you have a singapore registered coach, its the journey back where I encountered the problems.

LobsterX

Are you using any GPS to direct the road to Malacca? What did u key the road name to Malacca?

We will be driving up to Malacca during 8/8 & this is our 1st time to drive up. Any advise?

Thks!

I normally key "Mahkota Parade" in the gps as that's the area were the car will be parked..... but for the comming 8-9th trip, most prob park in or near hotel lo.... :)

tiowher

I normally key "Mahkota Parade" in the gps as that's the area were the car will be parked..... but for the comming 8-9th trip, most prob park in or near hotel lo.... :)

I use Sygic SG/MY....
Very good and fast... they have for Iphone and Android also...
I key in the hotel directly and they will bring me straight...
From SG to Melaka it's easy.. NSHW direct all the way exit Ayer Keroh lor

tiowher

search by road name: jalan XXX

Malacca is quite simple, i'm also going there on the 8th.
you can tag along if you want to but i travel fast.

Do Beware ... the Kopi drinkers come out and play also.. don't play play ...:s13:

Yin2008

Hi guys, am going to Malacca via star Virgo, can anyone advice/recommend on road map on place of interest from the jetty if I want f&e? Is taking transport necessary?

Cheers...

holidayforever

Hi guys, am going to Malacca via star Virgo, can anyone advice/recommend on road map on place of interest from the jetty if I want f&e? Is taking transport necessary?

Cheers...

Malacca is quite walkable if u plan to see attractions in the city...

E.g. Jonker Street, Maritime museum, some of the old churches, Stradyhus and shopping centres like Mahkota Parade...

live2snap

Cheers...

To me, Jonker Street is a must. The food there are nice too especially the chicken rice balls. Another area to visit would be Dutch Square where the buildings are painted red.

beanstalk6

Cheers...

From the jetty, head for the Mahkota Parade shopping centre, then follow the river bank upstream so you will see the Maritime Museum (it looks like a galleon), Stadhuy's, St Paul's Hill and Jonker Street.

Yin2008

Thkz for the info, so u went thr via the same mode of transport, ie; cruise... So it's possible to travel by foot from jetty huh & places of interest mention above are within vincinity ya....

From the jetty, head for the Mahkota Parade shopping centre, then follow the river bank upstream so you will see the Maritime Museum (it looks like a galleon), Stadhuy's, St Paul's Hill and Jonker Street.

beanstalk6

I did not take the cruise. The jetty is very near those places.
It is also evident from Google Maps.

tiowher

To me, Jonker Street is a must. The food there are nice too especially the chicken rice balls. Another area to visit would be Dutch Square where the buildings are painted red.

There are a few Fake ones ... go to the original one

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.