Question about Malacca

Eviltrap

Hello all,

may i ask if Hatten is really THAT bad?

Other than that i would like to stay in the shophouse kind of guesthouse (ie: Puri) but how do i go there if i am taking the coach from Grassland?

Thank you!

What's wrong with Hatten?

I've stayed there for my past 3-4 trips in Melaka. Nothing wrong with the place. Love the place and location too. :s12:

buswhiz

what i heard is hatten check in time sometime will be up to 2 hours during peak period

Eviltrap

what i heard is hatten check in time sometime will be up to 2 hours during peak period

Not too sure about the check in though.

I always reach early and check-in early, then collect the room keys later. Only had problems when the hotel just opened when they didn't even have proper counters. Now they have plenty of counters. Even better if you take their Premier rooms.

But one thing I don't like about Hatten, is that if you want to take the lifts from car park levels other than Level 3, it can be a hell of a wait during peak hours. There is only 2 lifts serving all the car park levels, and guests from Room levels can take the lift up and down, and vice versa. So they jam up the lifts for those who really need to take the lifts from the car park levels. That can get quite frustrating , especially when you know the lifts that serve only the room levels are mostly empty (6 of them). :mad:

Nothing to complain about the rooms, Spacious and comfortable. Just that bad luck always get the room nearest to the lifts. :(

HougangKid

Going Malacca tomorrow, any recommendations for venues to watch live soccer? Wanna catch Champions League, but it's a 3am game, so not sure where to go, or even if they have places that open that late. Singapore already not easy to find, unless it's 24-hr kopi shop.

Probably staying at Equatorial. I know they have a 24 hr outdoor Bistro outside, but I can't remember if they show soccer.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Eviltrap

Going Malacca tomorrow, any recommendations for venues to watch live soccer? Wanna catch Champions League, but it's a 3am game, so not sure where to go, or even if they have places that open that late. Singapore already not easy to find, unless it's 24-hr kopi shop.

Probably staying at Equatorial. I know they have a 24 hr outdoor Bistro outside, but I can't remember if they show soccer.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Maybe the TV channels in Equatorial might have?

Or maybe you can try Epicureo in Hatten Square Level 2, I think. It's a bar/pub/dining restaurant. Not sure whether they have matches shown though. But seems like a nice place to chill out. Food looks good, but yet to try though.

HougangKid

Maybe the TV channels in Equatorial might have?

Or maybe you can try Epicureo in Hatten Square Level 2, I think. It's a bar/pub/dining restaurant. Not sure whether they have matches shown though. But seems like a nice place to chill out. Food looks good, but yet to try though.

I stayed Equatorial b4 2 years ago. Dun seem to remember them showing it on TV, tho. Will check out Hatten Sq. It was still new the last time I went. Thanks for the tip.

Eviltrap

I stayed Equatorial b4 2 years ago. Dun seem to remember them showing it on TV, tho. Will check out Hatten Sq. It was still new the last time I went. Thanks for the tip.

If you don't mind going a bit further, I seem to remember Holiday Inn has a cafe at the Atrium. They do show live matches. Even the channels in the rooms showed live matches. That was about 1-2 years back. Haven't stayed in Holiday Inn since Hatten opened. :D

If they didn't make any changes, you can catch matches there too.

HougangKid

Cool bro. Will try that too. I stayed there b4 as well, but also can't remember abt their cable channels.

dleodleo

I thought soccer matches is free viewing in Malaysia? I went all hotel even smaller one also have leh.

If you cannot find you can ask the hotel to tune it for you. We stayed at one avenue hotel in Petaling Jaya, the receptionist tune for us.

I heard from many people that Holiday Inn & Makohta hotel have to cross the heavy traffic expressway in order to go to Palawan mall.

I recommend to stay at Equatorial or Hatten if you have budget. If no budget, can stay at Fenix inn which is opp Palawan mall and safe guarded parking.

buswhiz

yup, holiday inn and mahkota hotel you have to cross over the busy 6 lanes street..
Hatten is good as well

SBS2716G

is ramada hotel melaka ok? cant find much room available for good friday. kinda last minute trip...

what about mimosa hotel? is the room small?

Bak_Chor_Mee

is ramada hotel melaka ok? cant find much room available for good friday. kinda last minute trip...

Mimosa hotel is good. Rooms are quite spacious too. Also just 5-10min walk to the famous Jalan Bunga Raya oyster omelette

beanstalk6

Both are fine. The Ramada is an institution, the earliest 5 star hotel in Malacca. Higher priced, though not as well-located as the Mimosa.

SBS2716G

Both are fine. The Ramada is an institution, the earliest 5 star hotel in Malacca. Higher priced, though not as well-located as the Mimosa.

The pricing wise have some different as mimosa is cheaper.
I tot both are quite near to each other ?

Btw when u guys do booking for hotels do u indicate your kids as well cos it seem like some hotel will ask u to pay extra for bed.

beanstalk6

The pricing wise have some different as mimosa is cheaper.
I tot both are quite near to each other ?

Btw when u guys do booking for hotels do u indicate your kids as well cos it seem like some hotel will ask u to pay extra for bed.

Yes. Near. 10 min' walk apart. The Mimosa is near to the Jonker Street.
The Ramada has ample parking and facilities, unlike the Mimosa.

serenelm

I just booked Hatten Hotel for early June weekday. Nvr been to Malacca b4. What's good to sightsee, shop, eat or buy there? Thanks :)

I am planning to go to Malacca with my family. All together 3(My self, My hubby and My daughter 16 years)

The whole purpose is stay in Malacca for 3 or 4 days, Eat, do some small shopping (Cloths only), Sleep and return back.

We don't drive and don't speak Malay. Also prefer food with in walking distance.

Budget Approx < S$100 per night, walking distance to near by places for food.

Can you suggest hotel and best way to reach?

Is Malacca better or any other suggestion?

Thanks

Cath.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.