Question about Malacca

applelim

Is Malacca bus terminal safe? Cos only me n one gf going to Malacca , we can't decide to take coach to the bus terminal or go direct to our hotel.

Any adv ?

buswhiz

yup, the bus terminal is safe, once you reach the bus terminal, you can take the panaroma bus and stop at your hotel..

buswhiz

You can see the map posted by stonefish35, it actually states the route for panaroma bus..

jusco is just opposite of melaka sentral, yes, you can enjoy your shopping or go for a movie there

BLobster

hi people. i'm going malaysia on wednesday; 3D2N.

Staying equatorial hotel.

Any must place to go around the area? Must walk or take cab? If cab should go by meter or nego first?

Been reading the thread, some place called jonker street? Near from equatorial?

Thanks Thanks !

Tristessee

i've just gotten back from Malacca after 3 days 2 nights. We stayed at Roof Top Guest House. A really cosy and clean guest house for RM55 per night for a standard double room with shared toilets.
I am starting to miss the Nyonya Laksa now~

dleodleo

hi people. i'm going malaysia on wednesday; 3D2N.

Staying equatorial hotel.

Any must place to go around the area? Must walk or take cab? If cab should go by meter or nego first?

Been reading the thread, some place called jonker street? Near from equatorial?

Thanks Thanks !

I walked from Equatorial to Jonker Street daily during my 3D2N stay there. Around 15 to 20 minutes walk depending on your speed. Jonker Street always jam due to single lane and hard to find parking space and need to put coupon, try not to drive there. Walk if you don't mind.

To get to Jonker Street froom Equatorial -You cross the road and go Palawan mall, you enter the Mall and walk straight until you reach the end, exit near Guardian pharmacy or Padini then you walk towards the Stadthuys/Church, then you cross the road towards the river and cross the bridge and that is jonker street.

Must eat at Jonker: chicken rice (you will see people queuing at the coffeeshop beside the bridge). Chendol, Penang Laska, Dimsum breakfast and etc.

I saw Brian Wong introducing a very nice wanton mee in jonker street on channel 8 show but i do not know the actual location. Perhaps you can ask around.

Must go: Jonker Street pasar malam (although nothing much but worth to go lor). Only available during weekend. If you got small kids, don't bring stroller cos very crowded.

buswhiz

the best wan tan mee in my opinion is at Bunga raya, where the noodle is in white in color..
or near bukit china, where the wan tan mee they put roasted pork instead of the usual char siew pork..

Tristessee

This is a better chicken rice balls as compared to the one at Kedai Kopi Chung Wah.

P4082479.jpg

P4082477.jpg

P4082485.jpg

Snowworld

Hello, me too going in June with kids! Wow nice food ... yummy ..
Didn't know that has this thread about Malacca, glad to discover it on time.
Appreciate Bros & Sis advice, for Just 1 day Malacca trip (weekday), what would you
recommend the best interesting place and makan place and shopping, so that we can
zoom in without wasting our time finding or miss it.
I heard about Jonker Walk parsa maram, but we will miss it as our trip is not fall on weekend. What other things we can see at Jonker Walk on weekday?

Thank you very much!

pacetone

This dim sum shop is so so only, to me. Most of the dim sum taste almost the same as those stalls selling at Jonker Street. Only the luo mai kai is good, rice is soft and tender.

buswhiz

you can try the dim sum shop at Peringgit jaya, Peringgit jaya is just opposite the melaka bus station, enter from Petronas..
The 大包 is nice, dim sum so so only..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.