Question about Malacca

babyrobo

Hatten's location is great for those who wants to shop and watch movie as it is right smack btn two shopping complexes.. I didnt stay at Hatten's though.. Walk from Hatten's to Jonker is pretty near.. Enjoyed my trip albeit a little too short due to massive jams at both customs and slow coach.. Thanks all for helping me with my questions! Definitely going to do a longer trip soon.. 3D 2N would be just nice.. my 2D (reached abt 5pm, departed at 7pm) 1N too short!

seabiscuit

Went to Melaka on Monday, wanted to eat mee sua and laksa at two different kopitiam but they both closed after 3pm. Hence, weekdays better go early to eat. :(

Soule

The Mille crepe at datawan has shifted to mahkota parade.
Take note because I could not find it when I was there yesterday and walked all the way to the original branch.

temasekcity

I went to Melaka last weekend.

Stayed in Hangout @ Jonker. The room is consider satisfactory. But at night, you will hear a lot of noises as the hotel is near to the road.

I noticed that the people there like the song "Gangnam style". I heard this song whenever i go, and most of the trishaws playing this song too.

It is not they like. It is because you and the tourists like. :s12:

They hate it so much after playing this lousy stupid song over 1 month.

temasekcity

Stayed there in august. Check in at 2pm, long queue during check in. After queueing for 1 hour they say room not ready until 5. At 5 we go back hotel check in still need queue for 45mins.

Lots of those property agents inside the hotel lobby pestering you.

The lighting in the hotel is awful, looks more like an office building than a hotel.

Check out took 45minutes.

Swore never to stay there again.

Will stay at holiday inn next time or back to the usual equatorial.

They have a renovation for a year after opening. everything fails QA on opening day so more work to be done. better for economy because 105% employment.

tiowher

The only reason why i would stay at HI over equatorial is because i am an intercontinental priority club member can claim points.

Corporate rate for equatorial is 300myr a night, i like the club facilities.

I understand... used to be Priority club member also... the club floors, free tea break, beer.... check in service ... shiok..
Now no more.. :(

testwater2

for those who prefer bottled drinking water,its cheaper to get it at giant store at mahkota parade Basement 1).(Other places selling RM2~2.5 for 1.5L)

shadowplay

Just to share my experience at Hatten. Drove into Malacca last week, and checked into Hatten Hotel on Friday around 1+ pm. Took me a little over 30 mins and all counters can do both check-in or checkout. Was told rooms not ready until after 3pm, but they register me first and told me to come back after 3pm to collect key. Since i read about this problem of theirs and was prepared, i had left my bags in my car. Headed straight to shopping at Palawan, and returned around 4+, no Q and key collection was swift. I checked out on Sat morning around 11, again less than 30mins. Guess i was lucky. Left the bags in the car and did last min shopping again. Came back around 5pm to validate the parking pass. (If you stay here, free parking at Hatten Square, but do not tap Touch & Go, just press for ticket which can be validated by hotel everytime u drive out.) Overall Hotel stay was good, bed is firm and comfy but pillow is too soft. Also no free wifi in room, and had to ignore the real estate salesman at the lobby (who were selling a condo project by Hatten group, and they are everywhere at hatten square and palawan).

One other thing, those going to Portuguese Village for Seafood should note that Stall No.1 is closed for holiday until end of the year. I took my chance at stall 7 since they had most the patrons :) Food taste not bad especially the Garlic Crab [must try, diff from singapore]. Price dunnoe reasonable or not since this is my first time in malaaca, but cheap compared to Singapore. Ordered 2 large crabs, scallops, fried veggies, marmite chicken and a large portion BBQ stingray (sambal chilli also slightly diff S'pore - quite nice), total price including rice and drinks was RM170. But do go early as it got really crowded after 7pm.

d3n

Just to share my experience at Hatten. Drove into Malacca last week, and checked into Hatten Hotel on Friday around 1+ pm. Took me a little over 30 mins and all counters can do both check-in or checkout. Was told rooms not ready until after 3pm, but they register me first and told me to come back after 3pm to collect key. Since i read about this problem of theirs and was prepared, i had left my bags in my car. Headed straight to shopping at Palawan, and returned around 4+, no Q and key collection was swift. I checked out on Sat morning around 11, again less than 30mins. Guess i was lucky. Left the bags in the car and did last min shopping again. Came back around 5pm to validate the parking pass. (If you stay here, free parking at Hatten Square, but do not tap Touch & Go, just press for ticket which can be validated by hotel everytime u drive out.) Overall Hotel stay was good, bed is firm and comfy but pillow is too soft. Also no free wifi in room, and had to ignore the real estate salesman at the lobby (who were selling a condo project by Hatten group, and they are everywhere at hatten square and palawan).

One other thing, those going to Portuguese Village for Seafood should note that Stall No.1 is closed for holiday until end of the year. I took my chance at stall 7 since they had most the patrons :) Food taste not bad especially the Garlic Crab [must try, diff from singapore]. Price dunnoe reasonable or not since this is my first time in malaaca, but cheap compared to Singapore. Ordered 2 large crabs, scallops, fried veggies, marmite chicken and a large portion BBQ stingray (sambal chilli also slightly diff S'pore - quite nice), total price including rice and drinks was RM170. But do go early as it got really crowded after 7pm.

thanks for the tips!

buswhiz

to those visiting Malacca this week, do expect very crowded and heavy traffic jam.. Merry Christmas to all

purplebanana

will be going to malacca on next fri to sat. 4-5 jan. with colleagues as bonding retreat... any recommendations for food places? preferably seafood dinner or halal as we have malay colleagues joining us. and any other must-eat? thanks in advance!

buswhiz

try portugese village which is located at Ujong Pasir, the seafood there is nice, as most of them visited there has good comment

apex84

Hi guys,am planning to go to Malacca next wkend with my gf. Was wondering do u guys book Hatten/Equatorial through their website or through portals like agoda/asiarooms? And lastly any coach companies to recommend?

Thanks!!!

Hi guys,am planning to go to Malacca next wkend with my gf. Was wondering do u guys book Hatten/Equatorial through their website or through portals like agoda/asiarooms? And lastly any coach companies to recommend?

Thanks!!!

Booked thru Agoda with special rate during the period of booking.

d3n

Thanks!!!

got special price for deluxe suite for Hatten through agoda :o

d3n

I booked through hotel.com it seems that its cheaper with all taxes included about 182 for 2 nights versus 203 at agoda after all taxes included. Thanks for the reply guys!

dats good deal!

but make sure no hidden clause... cos i dun have to pay anything extra (unless I broke something) when i check out so far when i book via agoda.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.