Question on aircon servicing

Whizdom

Hi, I’m a first-time homeowner and have installed four FCU air-conditioning units in my 5-room BTO. Could you advise on the recommended servicing frequency for all four units? Should servicing be done every three or four months, or at a different interval?

paperplane1943

usually peepur call for service (clean) once every 3 months or you can stretch a bit if you dont use often.

the easiest thing you can do is just DIY clean the air filter (open the flap and take out the filter and wash with some soap/water, wait dry then put back) = do so once a month?

u can see how the technician clean. if you think u can DIY what they do, then you actually could!

i have been DIY-ing for a few years now, there are many online youtube videos and an EDMW thread here also on DIY aircon cleaning

btw gas top up scam i kena before. no need to top up one. if u need to top up means got leakage, top up also useless, gotta top up again and again each time 100+ no use coz root of leakage not solved

charliebrown

i m high usage user. every nite confirm aircon for sleep.
if wanna save inconvenience that cause aircon down due to water leaking... call for aircon servicing every time it cross 6 mth just for FCU in your bedroom...

impressionimage

Side track abit, my aircon guy not bad but his charges quite high, around 70 a time. Was wondering if urban company is better or is there any better lobang?

deepblue_82

servicing frequency is highly depended on the frequency of use.
gen servicing should be around 6 months or more.
chem servicing should be around 2 years.
you also can maintain your own self basic, filter u must clean
some times the installation skill or the quality of the installation can make it break it.
if the installation is abit off then u need to servicing more
the discharge pipe leak... or the blower is weaker blowing less air.

RSKeisuke

usually peepur call for service (clean) once every 3 months or you can stretch a bit if you dont use often.

the easiest thing you can do is just DIY clean the air filter (open the flap and take out the filter and wash with some soap/water, wait dry then put back) = do so once a month?

u can see how the technician clean. if you think u can DIY what they do, then you actually could!

i have been DIY-ing for a few years now, there are many online youtube videos and an EDMW thread here also on DIY aircon cleaning

btw gas top up scam i kena before. no need to top up one. if u need to top up means got leakage, top up also useless, gotta top up again and again each time 100+ no use coz root of leakage not solved
Yeah.. don't fall for the gas leak scam.. if it really leak, you should go after the original installer who likely may have caused it.

I got conned once at my previous home. AC was working fine just needed a cleaning service, guy came and claimed gas low. I went ahead with the top-up and within 3 months my AC system stop blowing cold air. Ironically, the top up actually caused the leak in my refrigerant.

deepblue_82

Yeah.. don't fall for the gas leak scam.. if it really leak, you should go after the original installer who likely may have caused it.

I got conned once at my previous home. AC was working fine just needed a cleaning service, guy came and claimed gas low. I went ahead with the top-up and within 3 months my AC system stop blowing cold air. Ironically, the top up actually caused the leak in my refrigerant.
likely over top up of gas... high pressure..
along the years u will need to top up gas but not as often as u think it is.

charliebrown

all these dishonest contractor....
they tell me my aircon more than 10 years old must change the entire system.... nb...
i look for another one, just did a chemical clean on the FCU, problem resolve.

Atilas

Moi will arrange for servicing between 5 - 6 months intervals. Moi will clean the filter weekly.

covidneg

First year service interval can be longer like 6 months and you will know the interval when it needs servicing again once not cool.

My aircon diy cleaning for 10 years already, never once asked external contractor to come.

ceestudent

If you want to save money, just buy wet and dry vacuum cleaner from karcher then diy.

The frequency depend on your place and usage, can be 3 months or 6 months. Just try 6 months first.

Cheap one better be careful, confirm many pattern will ask you do chemical cleaning or top up gas non sense. Anything less than 40$ per fcu, better take extra caution. They will try earn from you from other thing. It is like that one, the cheap price is to lure you first.

Mecisteus

Look into the fins and blower of the FCU.

You can see if they are dirty and need to clean.

deepblue_82

Sometimes better to flush and inject than top up constantly
coz sometime low pressure.... then not good... just top up gas.. cold again haha
very very few will flush and inject... but this is the correct way

deepblue_82

all these dishonest contractor....
they tell me my aircon more than 10 years old must change the entire system.... nb...
i look for another one, just did a chemical clean on the FCU, problem resolve.
my aircon system used about 20 years to 25 years b4 changing... mine always leak... but as long as pour vinegar down discharge drain pan/line... once 2-3 month its works and fine... but its my bro room aircon kept leaked till he angry so change all

charliebrown

my aircon system used about 20 years to 25 years b4 changing... mine always leak... but as long as pour vinegar down discharge drain pan/line... once 2-3 month its works and fine... but its my bro room aircon kept leaked till he angry so change all
sometime also due to how the down stream water pipe r run.
if it is long and go at angle, they will get clog more frequently.

Mecisteus

Kept leaking could be the FCU has hidden dirt.

Recommended to do a chemical overhaul with full dismantling.

You can see hidden dirt which can impact the discharge of condensation.

yeenfei

Hi, I’m a first-time homeowner and have installed four FCU air-conditioning units in my 5-room BTO. Could you advise on the recommended servicing frequency for all four units? Should servicing be done every three or four months, or at a different interval?
the units that you using daily, service every 3months. other units, once every 6months lor.

deepblue_82

Kept leaking could be the FCU has hidden dirt.

Recommended to do a chemical overhaul with full dismantling.

You can see hidden dirt which can impact the discharge of condensation.
already chemical cleaning... but within 2 weeks leak again...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.