Questions for PAP Skorlars: Why CDC Vouchers Need Two Categories?

Orphan

i'm no skolar, just a peasant farmer so i dun have any inside info.....

i recall initially, it was just 1 category, for hawkers and small shops including provision shops.
the next year, they introduced a 2nd category, for selected large supermarket chains (but not small chains with a few outlets).

pure guess only. probably the large supermarkets (guess their owners!) wanted a share of the voucher business. afterall, if the voucher holders shop at neighbourhood mom&pop provision shops, that means less business for the supermarkets.

Yes, the initial CDC vouchers issued in 2021 cannot be spent on Supermarkets. Nor was there a separate set of vouchers for supermarkets then.

Idea was to help hawkers and small shops tide over the impact of Covid.

I remember having a hard time finishing the vouchers because due to Covid, I ate out a lot less and most of my normal stalls did not participate in this CDC program. Had to go to the CDC website to see which shops around my area I can spend the vouchers at.

The new category for supermarket was only introduced later, I think only last year.

If the vouchers were combined, I dare say in general, the supermarkets will get most of it. Hurting the hawkers and small merchants.

It's a lot easier to spend more at supermarts because they have so many different products at any 1 outlet. Mostly consumables that people will have to buy again after a week. Things like tidbits, soft drinks, rice, cooking ingredients, veggie, meat, toilet paper!, electronics. Shop 1 time, easily $20 for a lot of people.

For hawker centers, eat one meal average $5. Have to eat 4 times to spend $20.

Yes, someone is going to mention got people buying things like iphone from heartland shops, can one shot finish. However, some supermarts also sell TVs and fridges etc. Also can 1 shot finish.

eggie011

A lot of places to spend hawker vouchers, it's not just for food. Never understand why people got so much problem spending vouchers.

JustForFun

Worse is businesses see vouchers coming, up prices for greed and stoke more price increases and inflation and higher COL after vouchers all spent ?

Anyone facing such issues with cai png stalls ? My side price steep ?

Really distort and turbocharge prices and greed business gain most ?

ramlee

Some people hardly eat out and some people hardly cook. Those hardly eat out quickly finish their supermarket vouchers and left with many Hawker Centre vouchers. Similarly it’s the opposite for those who hardly cook.

Why can’t have all CDC vouchers useable at both supermarkets and hawker centres? And do away with the dumb $10 denomination. Just $5, $2 and $1 or, better still, $5 and $1 only will do.
best ish can use in jaybee :(

ramlee

My pet peeve with CDC voucher is that need to tell the store personnel to scan my QR code, then I have to pay the remaining difference

Like the scholars who develop this, don't eat hawker or sibei extrovert. I just want to quietly pay for my meal via sgqr, paywave or just cash. Ask the staff to scan my CDC vouchers then still have to pay more. Sibei turnoff.

Somemore I bbfa, so hard to use the $10 hawker one.. I buy caifan or whatever, don't really hit $10 one lei.

Then again, beggars can't be choosers. So I just llst, continue to use the vouchers and thank garment for the meals.
add a steamed fish and you will :(

eAtNeAt

Coz pappies want to make sure $$$ gets diverted to ntuc FairPrice

pattanispirit

有一个农夫进城去卖驴和山羊,山羊的脖子上系着一个小铃铛。

三个小偷看见了,一个小偷就说:“我去偷羊,叫农夫发现不了。”

另一个小偷说:“我要从农夫的手里把驴偷走。”

第三个小偷说:“哼,你们两个偷的都不难,我要把农夫身上的衣服全部偷来。”

第一个小偷悄悄地走近山羊,把铃铛解了下来,拴到了驴尾巴上,然后把羊牵走了。

农夫四周看了一下,发现山羊不见了,就开始寻找。

第二个小偷走到了农夫面前,问他:“哎呀老乡,你在找什么?”

农夫说:“我丢了一头山羊。”

小偷说:“哦,我看到你的山羊了,刚才有一个人牵着一头山羊向这个树林子走去了,现在你走过去还能抓住他。”

农夫恳求小偷帮他牵着驴,自己去追山羊了,第二个小偷趁机把驴给偷走了。

农夫从树林里回来一看,驴也不见了,羊也不见了,就在路上一边哭一边走。

走着走着,农夫看见池塘边坐着一个人也在哭,就问他:“老乡,你发生什么事情了?”

那个人说:“人家让我把一口袋的金子送到城里去,我实在太累了,在池塘边坐着休息,我睡着了,睡梦中,我把那口袋金子推到水里去了。”

农夫问他:“那你为什么不到水里去把它捞上来啊?”

那人说:“我怕水,因为我不会游泳。谁要是把这一口袋金子捞上来,我就送他20锭金子。”

农夫大喜,心想:正因为别人偷走了我的山羊和驴子,上帝才赐给我幸福。

于是,他脱下了衣服,潜到了水里,可是他无论如何也找不到那一口袋的金子。

当他从水里爬上来的时候,发现他的衣服又不见了。

原来第三个小偷把他的衣服又偷走了。

这个故事告诉我们,我们人生的三大陷阱就是大意、轻信和贪婪。

布里斯本法会开示20190609

https://citta.link/page/75575?t=cell7g

eb55c086964c77ad530f130f1d40016b.jpg

506435913_122163021884575716_9171503981187265192_n.jpg

lowveld

So that the outcomes will be controlled and as intended.

Dun later most people spend in supermarkets and end up Sheng Siong pay another 15 month bonus while hawkers/ heartland merchants jiak sai, or hawkers/ heartland merchants huat until they keep increasing prices.
Free market yo!

RinoaX

Must as well ask why is it not cash or lifesg credits?

They just wanna control how you spend. If you don't spend cause those aren't your needs then....its your fault for wasting govt money (they get to save it anyway)

xdivider

point is give le u dun use not their biz. its mmo currency. they can print as much as they like. they oni report I give u CDC. so end of yr going to expire, go buy a smartphone.......

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.