R/C Hobbyist thread

poring24

oo this is a pretty old thread

wonder if can get any 2nd hand drifting sets for $100~?

killachicken

for 2nd hand kits try rc-tech.net Singapore forums..

100 hard to get for a full set maybe up it a little more and u can get a decent used set..then if u decide u like this hobby then plonk all your money on a full proper kit

RC isnt a cheap hobby..nowadays i see RC drifting also so high tech.. In the past when i tried RC drifting humpty dumpty years back i used insulation tape so that there is no traction..now they got specialized kits this and that..so expensive....And one nice looking drifting shell can cost $80 bucks ?!?!ridiculous..haha.. I cannot afford all that

Anyway,be prepared to fork out almost $2k or more for a proper setup (No need to upgrade already)

Rather spend once pain pain then buy a cheap set and realise thats not what u need and then keep upgrading..

l0ngb0w

for 2nd hand kits try rc-tech.net Singapore forums..

100 hard to get for a full set maybe up it a little more and u can get a decent used set..then if u decide u like this hobby then plonk all your money on a full proper kit

RC isnt a cheap hobby..nowadays i see RC drifting also so high tech.. In the past when i tried RC drifting humpty dumpty years back i used insulation tape so that there is no traction..now they got specialized kits this and that..so expensive....And one nice looking drifting shell can cost $80 bucks ?!?!ridiculous..haha.. I cannot afford all that

Anyway,be prepared to fork out almost $2k or more for a proper setup (No need to upgrade already)

Rather spend once pain pain then buy a cheap set and realise thats not what u need and then keep upgrading..

I totally agree with you, my friends bought me an IFS and now I totally regret buying the TT01. Actually its more of the Shiok factor and gian-ness =:p

killachicken

What is the recommended type of r/c to try out as a beginner?

Nitro? Electric?

Off road? On road?

Nitro onroad touring
Maintainence level - mid(need to know engine break in and tuning)
Maintainence costs - mid(parts break easily if you suck at driving like me)
Start up costs - high
Fun factor - high

Electric on road touring
Maintainence - low (charge and go!!!)
Maintainence costs - mid(parts break easily if you suck at driving like me)
Start up costs - high
Fun factor - very high(Becos Maintainence is easy.. Haha)

Nitro off road
Maintainence - very high( Alot of cleaning up to do. Also need to know engine break in and tuning)
Maintainence costs - low. Cars are Virtually indestructible...
Start up costs - high
Fun factor - mid (super high to see the buggies jump far far high high.. But clean up makes it a chore..)

Electric off road - never try before.. Haha

One thing to note if buying a CONTROLLER.. Buy the top of range one

Etc dx3r pro, Helios ex10 eurus, 4pks, m11x

As this is one item that u use the most..and even if u change car u can keep the controller... And they can last for donkey years.. so u do not need to think about upgrading if you are not those who always want to just keep up with the trend..

-----
This message is sent from HWZ forums iPhone app

l0ngb0w

Poor man like myself using 2.4g MX3 gau liao, but it does have its cons. I always have binding problems when standing near those M11s and DX3s, car dun want to follow my remote lol

killachicken

Poor man like myself using 2.4g MX3 gau liao, but it does have its cons. I always have binding problems when standing near those M11s and DX3s, car dun want to follow my remote lol

Dx3s is quite a crappy radio..my spoilt within 2 weeks of usage..had to send to repair..end up i topped up for a dx3r and it was much better though it doesn't feel as solid as the high end KO, futaba or sanwa.

IMO, buying the high end radio is worth because firstly they definately work well, they have lots of functions which are pretty usable if you know how to use them (Well I dont..haha) They feel shiok to hold (looks pro), radios will stay even if you change from buggy to on road to boats or tanks or trucks...and they last forever! even if you sell it, it fetches a decent price

I used to have a M8 that lasted me 6 years before i Sold it.. and it was still working perfect

my brother used his m8 for 10 years and only recently upgraded

another brother took a 4 year old 3pk from a friend and added another 4 years of usage to it and he only recently upgraded too..

these radios can really last..and they probably cost only 200 bucks more from the mid range radios.. just dont eat for 2 weeks lor..haha

l0ngb0w

wah M8, wack people will die remote. M8 not 2.4g right, use to see alot at Hobby Bug when I was still playing my VoneS

killachicken

ya its built like a brick also..wont spoil..haha..

used to play at hobby bug too..but as a student, had no transport..damn mafan to go there last time..

Pigster777

Hi guys, I am seeking some advice on what electric on road models should I get with a budget of $200.

I am looking for a RTR model, preferably from Tamiya, with low maintenance, as I am a beginner in RC cars..

I would greatly appreciate your advice!

l0ngb0w

Yea Tamiya is a good start, parts are cheaper and easily available. I thought I could maintain a cheap RC hobby lol, ended up modding here and there then...... now I have 3 cars :o

Pigster777

Yea Tamiya is a good start, parts are cheaper and easily available. I thought I could maintain a cheap RC hobby lol, ended up modding here and there then...... now I have 3 cars :o

Haha.. the poison is endless. Hope you would find the cure soon.. lol.

Pigster777

Guys, if my nitro rc car, upon start up, idles at quite a high rpm, and tuning my throttle control on my controller does not bring it down, the only option to tune it properly would be the servo arm controlling the valve right?

My car is a hpi rs4 3 evo..

Would greatly appreciate all help!

Cheers.

l0ngb0w

is there like 1 small screw near the air filter? My engine idling can be adjusted by turning that screw to change the air ratio

acefighter

hello guys i need some advice hope you all can give me some.

i have a TT-01D and a TA-05MS.
im keen on selling one but i have no idea which to keep. its been very long since i last drifted. stopped because i was unable to upkeep. however recently im keen on getting back into the drifting. my TA-05MS have been giving me lots of problems (rounded screws, broken parts, lots of wear and tear/bashing, etc) and ive come to realise its very expensive to replace those broken parts. my TT-01D is almos as good as new, 9/10. besides the slightly worn spur and pinion everything is tip top. however its an entry level chassis and its potential isnt quite as far i presume. i know the TA-05MS is a superior chassis to the TT-01D, but considering its condition would it be viable to keep it?

Please advise! Your advice is greatly appreciated!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.