Raising Rental

meekiatah

Hi folks

I have a pair of tenants renting my master bedroom for the past 3 years. Good tenants, seldom cook and never late in payment.

With the high COL now, I'm intending to raise their rental by couple of hundreds.

How best to bring up to them, can anyone advise...

Kaylin

how does the landlord bring it up to those restaurants? :(

coyote

Hi folks

I have a pair of tenants renting my master bedroom for the past 3 years. Good tenants, seldom cook and never late in payment.

With the high COL now, I'm intending to raise their rental by couple of hundreds.

Rental is usually depending on market rate. Not suka suka you said high col then you can raise.

We do not know your current rental is high or low, so cannot comment whether your raise is "market rate".

As to how, you just tell them. The worse is, they will move to rent from your neighbors.

Good to be landlord right? No need to do anything(like forumners here said), just shake legs and raise rental.

Joe Mahmood

Most of the Office Buildings in CBD areas are not fully occupied and many vacant offices too :ROFLMAO:

BBClone

With times like this, you might end up not having tenants at all.

Decide if that’s what you want to risk.

Ronaldo88

Moi rather rent at reasonable rate than lose nice tenants..greedy owners..up 200..usually is 50

meekiatah

Rental is usually depending on market rate. Not suka suka you said high col then you can raise.
We do not know your current rental is high or low, so cannot comment whether your raise is "market rate".
As to how, you just tell them. The worse is, they will move to rent from your neighbors.
Good to be landlord right? No need to do anything(like forumners here said), just shake legs and raise rental.

People I've spoke to says my rental is below market rate ($1k with ac & wifi). In fact, I've been reluctant to raise their rental cos they have been good tenants.

qhong61

Hi folks

Be prepared to lose them

powerrr

People I've spoke to says my rental is below market rate ($1k with ac & wifi). In fact, I've been reluctant to raise their rental cos they have been good tenants.
Master for couple with ac and wifi chao chao $1400. But if you suddenly raise a few hundreds they might chua tio and run. Better to raise incrementally - $150 first.

coyote

$1k is good. Some areas can be lower. Every landlords will think their rentals are below market rates like post #13 until they started renting the place out... The market will adjust itself.

beano

Just raise it to market rate if it's already not, if it's at market rate, you can just increase 10%, i think it's reasonable.

mikezuper

Hi folks

Tenant. Renew. Up or Out.

khratit

"That's how your tenants become my tenants"

One lao unker said

"I just offer them in between old price and new price"

meekiatah

Master for couple with ac and wifi chao chao $1400. But if you suddenly raise a few hundreds they might chua tio and run. Better to raise incrementally - $150 first.

Master for couple with ac and wifi, plus electricity/water inclusive at $1k.

At times, when we change furniture in the house, we will included theirs as well. Actually, I'm reluctant to raise their rental, but my SO is kpkb how my rental is below market rate lah, blah blah.. for the past year..

I'm only thinking about raising $200 only. $200 after 3 years, I think it's not too much that they will chuah tio..

kendrick272

ok 1k for masterbed with wifi and a/c is abit lower than market rate.

Where is the address? Near mrt/shopping malls? Give more inputs first.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.